Ramsey County Reviews | Glassdoor

Ramsey County Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
Cons
  • "Toxic work environment, systemic racism despite having "diverse" management staff (racial, ethnic, gender)(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beach Life Guard in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Ramsey County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training. Flexible Scheduled. Lots of fun people in the beach lifeguard department

    Cons

    none to speak of really

    Advice to Management

    keep hiring good lifeguards.

    Ramsey County2018-12-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Each year it is harder to get work done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Analyst in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Dedicated, interested, and creative peers Serving the needs of our citizens Good pay and health insurance

    Cons

    Spending so much energy getting resources to do the job that there is no energy left to actually do the work. People in other departments and in agency management stifle creativity, keep us from learning our tools, and from serving the citizens of Ramsey County. People arrive enthusiastic to get things done and within 5 years they are beaten down.

    Advice to Management

    Is it that superiors don't care, can't be bothered to learn, are ignorant, or a combination of all of the above? Help us to do our work. If you don't understand what we do, get out of our way so that we can get the work done. Don't feel threatened by us, feel encouraged that we can work together to make improvements, Don't let other departments be a bottleneck.

    Ramsey County2019-06-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Keep Your Head Down and Plan Your Next Move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social and Financial Services 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ramsey County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good entry-level job/salary for person looking to get feet wet for young employee (post high school/college) or re-entering job market, but have a two year plan to move up and/or on to other opportunities in Ramsey County/State/City government.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment, systemic racism despite having "diverse" management staff (racial, ethnic, gender). Jr high status quo work environment filled with long-term vultures who spend more time gossiping, backstabbing and undermining any person who does not fit their very narrow "clique" mentality. If they spent as much time and energy focusing on the needs of the clients, it would be a very smooth running organization....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house starting at the Directors, Managers and Supervisor levels, then encourage employees with 20+ years experience (and some with 10-15) to retire or move on to other jobs (or get with the current program of diversity and work processes).

    Ramsey County2019-04-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Social Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Services in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping clients in need, helpful & respectful coworkers, some supportive immediate supervisors, fair pay & benefits

    Cons

    Highly toxic work environment that stems from upper management/ directors level. They focus purely on punitive actions with no positive nor supportive action for staff working with high stress/ crises clients. Direct staff and middle management turnover is now extreme. Dumping all the work on existing burned out staff. New hiring takes 6-12 months & they refuse to hire temporary staff to help. The worst is clients suffer...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop having endless meetings for years to analyze the issues and take real action at the top. Give directors/ assistant directors immediate notice that they need to improve employee morale or they are gone. Provide mandatory training to them on this area. Stop recent policies that assume distrust of staff. Provide training to staff.

    Ramsey County2019-04-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Management Are Bullies, Workplace Intimidation, Stress, Fear!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mostly secure income. Lots of good co-workers. Pretty good vacation, sick time, holidays.

    Cons

    The Human Services department has adopted a bullying and punitive style. Management at the very top perpetuates and encourages an environment of intimidation, andl fear. I love diversity, but am sick of all of the mandatory "trainings" that demonize white people. All Human Services staff now have to attend a two-hour diversity training every three months. There are thousands of staff and this is costing taxpayers a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Since the bad vibe starts at the top, it is pointless to give advice until these so-called "leaders" are gone. That ain't gonna happen!

    Ramsey County2019-02-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Worker in Ramsey, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - my supervisor is awesome, knowledge and willing to help whenever I need help (most supervisors in FAS lack leadership skills and arent that great of a supervisor) - coworkers - sick/vacation and flex time - flexible scheduling and work at home option

    Cons

    -we have the worse IT department...no one in IT is willing to help at all... always blaming us for problem when it actually them that cause the problem( hello, you guy work in IT, not me) - pays is very low, no negotiation at all - family insurance is extremely EXPENSIVE - most departments are toxic - there are so many workers who are lazy and they get away with it - there is literally no training available, well actually...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting and hiring lazy workers. Stop increasing the caseload so that we can concentrate on customer serives instead of quantity. Seriously, were underpaid and overwork with the amount of caseload that is given to us.

    Ramsey County2019-01-20
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Practitioner in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and schedule and pay

    Cons

    I don’t like the one year probation period

    Ramsey County2019-01-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Bully atmosphere, ghetto, unprofessional."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caseworker in Saint Paul, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to help low income, disabled, crisis groups.

    Cons

    Terrible work environment. Staff swearing, trainers train using scare, threat tactics to induce fear, humiliation, embarrassment.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the toxic people. Get on the floors more often so staff can act more professional. Have a zero tolerance policy for bullying and toxic behaviors.

    Ramsey County2019-02-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule. holidays off. decent health package. decent training. decent coworkers.

    Cons

    no room for growth. favoritism. lack of direction. high turnover. low pay.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Ramsey County2018-11-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Clerk Typist 3 in Social Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ramsey County full-time

    Pros

    Great Manager, flexibility, friendly environment, and OK benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of properly training.

    Advice to Management

    Should construct a standard training guideline for new hired employees. Select trainers that wants to train and willingly to teach with patience and guidence.

    Ramsey County2018-11-06
Found 51 reviews