KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ramsey Solutions

Engaged Employer

Ramsey Solutions

Add a Review

Ramsey Solutions Employee Reviews about "growing pains"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 195 reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Ramsey Solutions CEO David L. Ramsey
David L. Ramsey
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Christmas party: The most epic event I've ever been to, and it happens every year(in 24 reviews)

  • "Experienced team members are eager to teach(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains as the company gets bigger, no remote work options(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits are horrible, especially the health insurance(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "growing pains"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Worth it in every way

      Oct 15, 2020 - Software Engineer in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time at Ramsey Solutions very much. My leaders were top notch in every way. If there was one thing I never worried about there it was the level of trust around me. My leaders trusted me and I trusted their leadership. This extended outside of the workplace also. Some of my best friends are my former co-workers and absolutely expect them to be lifelong friends. They led us through the trials of 2020 very well. The truth stands on its own. They protected our team as best they knew how in a time when many employers were furloughing or laying people off. In fact, they stood as a beacon of HOPE to many other people all over the country. We made it through all while continuing to serve our fans with first class experiences and new software products. Who does that during a pandemic?!? We did!! They follow a Kanban process. They never weaponized developer metrics. We were encouraged to pair up and work through engineering problems together. Our product team did great jobs talking to our fans to determine what they wanted. Then we developed a first class experience to meet folks where they are. I loved the slow movement over time towards concurrent development. It makes you feel good to know that the time you spent individually is being magnified by all the different disciplines on our team. Seriously good teamwork. The cafeteria had Benton’s bacon and the best darn grits and potatoes I have eaten. Kudos to the chefs that made that possible! Food is subsidized so a hearty breakfast cost just $4-5. Lunch options are great as well. I used my ministry time every year to do mission work or other work in conjunction with my church. My church and the people our mission team helped were immensely grateful. Also there are options around Thanksgiving for targeted volunteer efforts in our community. What an awesome benefit. Of course there are other benefits like the Christmas Party or other get togethers. Those were always epic and exceeded expectations yearly. Perhaps the biggest pro of working there was the opportunity I had to develop life changing software. Was it perfect software? Nope. Did it always deliver value? Yes! It really brought it home when we watched several debt free screams where the software our team developed was directly referenced as key drivers for positive life change. I loved working there!!

      Cons

      They didn’t have a pile of snack bacon available in the cafeteria outside of breakfast hours. Please consider adding this option!! :) Seriously, about the only thing that cones to mind are growing pains that accompany success. Good news is there are dedicated engineers and leaders working hard to scale things up. Huge progress has been made and continues to be iterated on.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Jan 6, 2021 - Account Executive in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Invested in personal development of their people

      Cons

      Growing pains in the company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture is Everything

      Mar 19, 2020 - Systems Administrator in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Motivating and empowering work environment, great salary and benefits, employee cafeteria, up-to-date technology, open communication

      Cons

      Growing pains as the company gets bigger, no remote work options

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Ramsey Solutions Response

      HR Team

      Thanks leaving a review! We appreciate you being a part of our great culture, and we will continue to hold our leaders to an exceptional standard. -Armando Lopez Executive Director of HR

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      This Place Changes You

      May 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are doing work that is actually making a difference and you get to see positive life change every day, which is not something you see in many other work places. The leadership invests a lot in their team members both professionally and personally. I know I'm a much better person inside and outside of work because of this company. Leadership is also very generous: team lunches, events like battle of the bands, field day, Christmas party with a shopping spree to various places, a lot of PTO, profit sharing...

      Cons

      If you don't like the idea of working for a company with Christian values, this is not the place for you. I personally love that we pray in meetings and have devotionals, but this is not for everyone. If you aren't on board with what Ramsey teaches and the mission, or are just looking for a job, this is not the place for you. We are experiencing some growing pains and with so many moving parts, it can be difficult to get things done on time. Just like most places, you will find the occasional control freak who wants to have their hands on every project, which can delay things. No opportunities to work remote.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Exceeded My Expectations!

      Oct 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are 3 major pros to this company. 1. This is a company that truly cares for people. I see this in the organizational structure, decision making, and investment in employees. There is value placed on the individual. 2. I have also been blown away with culture. I've never worked for an organization that is so naturally positive (not manufactured) and unified in its mission. This doesn't mean there aren't heated discussions and disagreements from time to time, but. It's refreshing to be a part of this kind of environment. 3. The caliber of employee is impressive. The building is full of sharp people who know their stuff. They challenge me to my fullest potential.

      Cons

      There has been a lot of growth, so sometime systems there is evidence of growing pains, i.e. systems can be clunky, turnaround time can be slow. That being said, the company is very self aware and willing to work through issues to improve anything that holds us back.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lampo OVER-PROMISED…and has OVER-DELIVERED on those promises.

      Oct 7, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been incredibly impressed with leadership's ability to lead at an extremely high level while still maintaining a relational camaraderie even with over 400 staff. Leadership is extremely transparent in their very frequent company-wide communication and they have been very upfront with their compensation philosophy. Their philosophy is fair because it is thoroughly explained BEFORE anyone takes a position. It is advantageous for driven people…not so much for those who are not. I have noticed there is very high levels of integrity that go into big and small decisions…even the most difficult decisions.

      Cons

      With over 400 staff people and so many departments, it is hard to get to know everyone but I really think Lampo leadership shows a lot of intentional effort to overcome that reality that would face any org of 400 staff people. Parking spots are limited but staff seem to learn the times when available spots are the most scarce. Leadership has addressed this minor issue and a great plan is in motion. Growing pains but very minor.

      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Place to Work for a reason!

      Jul 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked for other organizations for many years and I can say without reservation that this is *the best place* I've ever worked. The whole team truly cares about each other, the mission of the company and the customer. I feel valued for my unique abilities and am never made to feel like just another employee ID number.

      Cons

      The team is growing quickly and, as would be expected, is experiencing some minor growing pains. However, leadership is actively looking to adjust and pivot where need be as the business continues to grow. Other places I've worked that experienced rapid growth refused to work differently until everything was broken, so it's a breath of fresh air to be in a place that is willing to solve problems as they arise.

      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      If you're looking for perfection, don't look here...

      May 29, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people here really believe what they are doing will change the world. Maybe you agree, maybe you don't, but they work every day to make a difference. They care about people and they care about families. They are genuinely thrilled to cheer on every single debt free scream.

      Cons

      The truth is if you are looking for a group of perfect people, go look somewhere else. There are lots of growing pains, a few dysfunctional managers, and mistakes made. If you want to put your head down, do your best, while cheering your heart out for debt free screams- you'll probably be just fine.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company, Great Team

      May 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture here is fantastic, and it's more than just words. This is a team that actually practices what it preaches! Leadership is very intentional about pouring into their teams, and everyone is bought in to see the team be as successful as possible.

      Cons

      Good news - we have been growing like crazy over the past few years... Bad news - there have been some growing pains associated with that growth... Obviously, no company is perfect, but what makes the challenges this organization faces better is leadership's transparency and their approach to solving the issues.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I am NEVER leaving!

      Jun 13, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ramsey Solutions is the best place I have ever worked. Period. I am not surprised that we have been named one of the best places to work in Nashville for ten years. The people who work here are world-class and care deeply about the products that we push into the marketplace. Very rarely do I work more than 40 hours a week. When they say that Ramsey Solutions has "work/life balance" - they really mean it.

      Cons

      -There has been substantial growth over the past few years and that comes with some growing pains, but we will get there. -No remote work

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ramsey Solutions Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ramsey Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    Ramsey Solutions logo
    or