KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ramsey Solutions

Engaged Employer

Ramsey Solutions

Add a Review

Ramsey Solutions Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Sep 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 195 reviews

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Ramsey Solutions CEO David L. Ramsey
David L. Ramsey
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Christmas party: The most epic event I've ever been to, and it happens every year(in 24 reviews)

  • "Experienced team members are eager to teach(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains as the company gets bigger, no remote work options(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits are horrible, especially the health insurance(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "team members"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      People & Principles

      Sep 1, 2020 - Associate Director of Sales in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leaders are people-oriented. Their is a level of care I’ve not seen in other companies. There is also an expectation of excellence which challenges team members in appropriate and healthy ways.

      Cons

      Lack of work remote options.

      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Proceed with caution...

      Sep 18, 2020 - Software Developer in Franklin, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Big Christmas party is over the top. * A lot of nice people (excluding some in leadership) work there.

      Cons

      One thing I learned from my time at RS is that the ideal team member is hungry, humble, and smart, and that someone who is only hungry and smart but not humble is a dangerous person. He will destroy anyone who gets in his way on his path to personal success. He will use and manipulate people for his own gain, and he will lie and blame to cover up his mistakes. You can identify such a person because there is a trail of dead bodies behind him. He may try to hide them in a closet, but eventually they start to stink. Everything I experienced at RS indicated that the CEO, Dave Ramsey, is hungry and smart, but that he is not humble. When I first read the reviews here, I initially decided not to apply. Later, a friend who worked there already convinced me that the negative reviews were all from disgruntled ex-employees with an axe to grind. I have since learned from RS leadership and personal experience that many of the surprising things written here were actually true. RS brags about how they only hire the best — “thoroughbreds” — yet when their top-notch employees leave and share the truth about their experiences, these people are discredited by the fact that they no longer work there. I wish I had not believed this characterization and had really considered the negative reviews. I have my own story to tell, but I will only say this: before applying to RS, take ALL of the reviews to heart. Cons: * When RS told employees to return to the office in early May 2020 during the pandemic, an employee anonymously reported them to OSHA. I heard Dave Ramsey, the CEO, angrily yell during a staff meeting that he would personally fire that person if he found out who it was. This was followed by cheers from much of the team. I felt bad for the person who was probably at that meeting when the CEO and many of his/her team members were shouting for his/her termination because s/he reached out for help. * In the past, employees have lost their jobs because they didn’t agree with Dave — even on issues that were not finance-related. * A red flag I noticed early on is that the CEO is defensive about being a cult, saying that if they were a cult he wouldn’t ask people to leave if they disagreed with him. Hearing him say this made me think that everyone who had told me there was a cult-like atmosphere there was actually right. I heard him say in multiple staff meetings, “if you don’t agree, get out!” and, speaking to team leaders with a smile on his face, he would say, “we need to help these people leave.” * I have heard talk in staff meetings and on LinkedIn about RS being the “best place to work in the nation”, but when I was there, we were told by leadership to only put positive responses on the survey that gave them this title (FYI: they are currently only on one national list, and they are not #1). Leadership would use the phrase “act like adults, which felt to me like they were trying to shame us into doing things they wanted, as in this case. I remember feeling like I couldn’t speak openly to leadership about any real concerns for fear of losing my job, but I was also strongly discouraged from speaking out about concerns anonymously in a survey. * Good people I know have been fired over the vague code of conduct which only references to “Judeo-Christian values” without explaining what those values actually are. * I have discovered from multiple sources that leadership have lied about me to current employees after my departure. * The pay is sub-par for technology. I got a significant salary increase as well as cheaper and better benefits when I changed jobs with the same ranking I had at RS.

      Continue reading
      65 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Culture, Talented Workforce, Unified Mission

      Jan 20, 2019 - Front End Developer in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team is remarkably unified in purpose and vision. Everyone treats everyone else with respect, kindness, and trust. We don't hire slackers -- I trust all of my teammates to do the job right, and vice versa. There is a stupid amount of talent at the company. I honestly believe we have the most talented engineering/development team in the region. Given our size, it's remarkable how much work we get done. Our development standards are uncommonly high. It's genuinely refreshing to see this level of developer excellence at a company that isn't Google/Microsoft/Facebook. Leaders care deeply for their teammates at a personal level. They do everything in their power to serve and fight for their teams. There is little bureaucracy -- leadership is accessible all the way up. We're given a ton of autonomy to innovate and pursue the right solutions. Experienced team members are eager to teach. We're given ample space to train and develop new skills. We have great tools/equipment/services. Leadership development is a core value regardless of your position. Work life balance! It's a real thing, and you are better off for it. You work 40 solid hours and that's it. Compensation is competitive. Team events are over the top and a ton of fun. It often feels like a family. The people are the best. I never dread going to work. Dave is a world class leader and speaks to the whole company almost every week. Leadership at the top is super transparent.

      Cons

      We're currently spread out amongst a bunch of different buildings, which makes it difficult to get familiar with certain teams. That'll change soon with our new campus this summer. The org structure can be confusing. Some teams work pretty siloed, which is exacerbated by how spread out we are. Health insurance can be expensive.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      This Place Changes You

      May 25, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are doing work that is actually making a difference and you get to see positive life change every day, which is not something you see in many other work places. The leadership invests a lot in their team members both professionally and personally. I know I'm a much better person inside and outside of work because of this company. Leadership is also very generous: team lunches, events like battle of the bands, field day, Christmas party with a shopping spree to various places, a lot of PTO, profit sharing...

      Cons

      If you don't like the idea of working for a company with Christian values, this is not the place for you. I personally love that we pray in meetings and have devotionals, but this is not for everyone. If you aren't on board with what Ramsey teaches and the mission, or are just looking for a job, this is not the place for you. We are experiencing some growing pains and with so many moving parts, it can be difficult to get things done on time. Just like most places, you will find the occasional control freak who wants to have their hands on every project, which can delay things. No opportunities to work remote.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to be

      Nov 6, 2017 - Person Currently Employed in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't pretend I don't get frustrated, but honestly, overall- this place is really great. I have a Leader who values my professional insights, as well as, values me as a person. We have flexible working schedule, we have great team members, lots of company perks, and a mission I personally believe in.

      Cons

      If our principles of personal finance aren't something you feel passionate about, this is not going to be your "dream job". You may see other reviewers saying if you aren't all in on the financial principles, you can't get promoted. While in general, I think that's incorrect, I also can see some truth to that. Purely because if you are heavily invested in what we do, you are more likely to come up with great ideas to move the company forward and are passionate enough to be excellent. No, this place isn't perfect, but what company is?! Any time people are involved, things are bound to get messy, but this company tries harder to do the right thing than any other company I've been part of.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work!

      Feb 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been a team member for almost 6 years. I am thankful for Ramsey Solutions and value the leadership and vision of this company. I also value how our leadership respects and cares for the individual and their families. I've seen this happen over and over. It's wonderful to work for a company that has a clear purpose - bringing hope to others. It IS what we do and all that we do feeds into this desire. Not only do we have a team who cares, a mission of bringing hope to others but we also have fun here. I enjoy the people I work with and look forward to coming to work. There is opportunity to grow at Ramsey Solutions. After 1 year I moved into a more senior position and since then have taken on more reponsibility. As a female looking to advance in my career, my leader has been a great encourager in my professional growth, as has Ramsey Solutions.

      Cons

      A lot of people on Glassdoor mention that we move fast and there can be a lot of change. It's true, we work hard and there is change. When it comes to change, it's always good change, and change with a purpose. We are spread among 4 different buildings and that can make meetings tricky but it's doable and not long term. (We are building a new location and look forward to it!)

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place I have EVER worked.

      Apr 23, 2014 - Sales in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love the mission and vision of this company. I love what we do, and how we help others. Everyone here is constantly encouraged by Dave and the leadership team. What we do is important, and we see it every day -whether that is going to the lobby to cheer for a debt-free scream, or Dave reading us letters sent to the company from people that appreciate FPU, EntreLeadership, Live Events, our team members, etc. I also like that there are so many facets to the company, so many different initiatives that we can be part of. Very bright future! The benefits/perks are also very good. There is always a BIG Christmas party, We get all the big holidays off, We get let out early on most Fridays of a holiday weekend, We have "Lampo lunch" once a month where the whole company has a meal together, extra week of time off per year to do volunteer work if you choose to do so, there is profit sharing (bonus). Everyone here genuinely cares for their co-workers, and are very helpful.

      Cons

      I honestly have not had a negative experience in my years at Lampo. I would say the company is growing so fast the office space is becoming limited, and conference rooms are hard to come by.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      The best company on earth!

      Apr 12, 2017 - Executive Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can’t imagine a better company on earth, led by better people. The leaders of Ramsey Solutions are the most godly, loving, generous men and women of integrity I have ever met. The culture is amazing and, more importantly, it's intentional. The team and leaders take it seriously and always look for ways to make it better. There is no gossip, every team member is on the same page, and there is a definite crusade mentality that permeates the place. And, oh yeah, they're doing world-class work that is changing the world!

      Cons

      If you aren't on board with the mission of Ramsey Solutions, look elsewhere. It's impossible to be happy and comfortable there if you're just looking for a J-O-B. If they sense that in the interview, you wouldn't get the job anyway. Also, the place has a pesky way of turning people into entrepreneurs, so you may be surprised a few years later when you want to go off and start your own business. That's the only reason I left.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      The Hardest Job You'll Ever Love!

      Sep 18, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You really can't understate the importance of doing work that makes a positive impact on people's lives. It is so emotionally touching and invigorating to walk through the lobby and see families that have traveled from all over the country to talk to Dave on the radio and explain how their life has been changed or their marriage saved due to the principles we teach. Lampo is in no way perfect, but the leadership genuinely cares about their team as well as the customers. I have seen leadership go above-and-beyond to take care of team members in times of need so many times. As far as growth opportunities, you get out of it what you put into it. If you're willing to work hard, communicate well, and push yourself to grow, advancement opportunities are definitely there. Promotions aren't just given, they're earned.

      Cons

      Growth has happened really fast over the past few years, so the small-family feel has definitely changed. It is increasingly difficult to get to know people you work with past a surface, or working on a project together, level.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      AMAZING company, mission, opportunities, and leaders! But don't bother if you don't want to work hard.

      Oct 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have worked at Lampo for almost 8.5 years now. In my time at Lampo, I've had unbelievable opportunities for advancement and have interacted regularly with leaders at every level in the organization—up to and including regular meetings with Dave. I simply cannot say enough good things about this place, but I'll try to break it down to some key highlights in random order: 1. ADVANCEMENT: Within nine months of being here, I was asked to help lead one of the company's biggest initiatives to date. At the conclusion of that project, I was asked to change roles and create a brand-new team within the company. A year later, that position expanded to even greater responsibilities, and it has continued to grow since then. I've never seen a company go to such lengths and spend so much time investing in their young leaders. If you work hard and have a great attitude, the leadership notices. 2. INCOME: The leadership has proactively changed my entire comp plan for the better four times so far, and my personal income continues to grow every year. Today, in fact, I received the biggest single paycheck of my career. I LOVE the way Dave and the leadership share profit! It helps all of us experience the ups and downs of doing business. We rise or fall together! 3. INTEGRITY: I've been in countless "behind closed doors" meetings with leaders at every level, including regular meetings with Dave. I've seen and heard firsthand how this place deals with business, product, and personnel problems, and I'm always blown away with the incredible integrity they demonstrate every time. Even when it comes to the painful experience of letting a team member go, Lampo errs on the side of radical generosity. 4. CULTURE: I can't imagine a harder-working, more encouraging, more hysterical, more supportive group of people. We are all champions of our culture, and we'll all defend it with everything we've got. 5. MISSION: The work we do matters. We never lose sight of that. Leadership constantly connects our work and our success to the individual lives on the other end. We're not here for ourselves; we exist to serve other people. That's a great way to start the day.

      Cons

      One of the biggest cons that people may not expect in coming here is learning what it's like to work for a nationally known figure. Dave is definitely in the public spotlight, and believe it or not, a whole bunch of people out there don't like him. Of course, those are mostly people who have never met him, never sat in a meeting with him, and never really heard his heart on anything. They make assumptions based on nothing but rumor and speculation, and they throw it at him. If you work here, you take some of the brunt of that hate, too. We all have to have thick skin around here, because people always love to take shots at Dave and, therefore, at those of us who work with him. As others have said, the growth of the company has put us in a bit of a squeeze space-wise. It stinks that we all can't fit in a single building anymore. And parking can be an issue if you come in a little late. This isn't a con to me, but it is to some: We don't shy away from conflict. We deal with problems around here. We don't suffer laziness, poor performance, or gossip. If someone has a problem in those areas, they're sometimes shocked to learn that we actually address those things head-on, whether it's "comfortable" or not. Watch your expectations. We have a blast, but we're serious about the work we do. Don't come here if you're scared to work hard, if you're just looking for a J-O-B, or if you don't believe in what we teach. If that's you, you won't be happy here. Last, if you're checking out the cons because you've seen a few of the horrible reviews, I'd encourage you to check the dates on those one-star reviews. There was a concerted, intentional, rather public smear campaign against Lampo in the spring of 2014. A handful of former and, sadly, current team members got caught up in that. Use your own judgement, but at least be aware of the fact that a lot of those bad reviews are clustered within a month or two of each other.

      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ramsey Solutions Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ramsey Solutions? Share Your Experiences

    Ramsey Solutions logo
    or