Randox Laboratories "no sick pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Randox Laboratories Employee Reviews about "no sick pay"

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
29%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Randox Laboratories Founder and Managing Director Dr. Peter FitzGerald
Dr. Peter FitzGerald
122 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No sick pay and maternity pay was a bit of a joke,(in 26 reviews)

  • "They do not tell you that there is no sick pay paid until your in the job(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no sick pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Growing diagnostics startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Randox Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing startup with a steady supply of customers and customers. Opportunity to travel the country and visit the UK every few months. Remote work. Great coworkers.

    Cons

    Minimal benefits - No 401k/403b, no sick days Travel - Extensive travel required, often on your own time, and often with connecting flights. Compensation - Minimal bonus/commission structure. Almost no incentive pay. Back-orders - Hard to maintain relationships when products are routinely back-ordered for months at a time. Turnover - Constant turnover. US office is a warehouse, and the UK office is in remote NI and requires quarterly trips (on your own time) form the US.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2018-04-20
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Randox Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to meet well-known industry partners and pitch an extensive list of assays. Remote work when not traveling.

    Cons

    No sick days (even though it's a healthcare company). All travel is on personal time (with no compensation). Management is aloof and the products are continuously back-ordered. What little vacation is given does not carry over to the following year. Turnover is massive, many people do not stay the year. Internal software is difficult to use.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2018-11-04

    Randox Laboratories Response

    December 12, 2018We Are Randox Team Member

    Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the opportunity to work with like-minded innovators across the globe during the time that you worked with us. Thank you also for raising some of your concerns with us. As a forward-thinking company we always endeavour to improve and as such we value every comment we get. We would like to point out though that you certainly can carry your holidays from one year to the next - as we approach the festive season and the end of 2018, many of our staff are carrying the holidays they didn't use into next year! We're always happy to accomodate when we can. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review, and we wish you all the best in your future career.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great learning experience for new grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Applications Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Randox Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Extensive opportunity to travel the US and attend trade shows. Great entry level training. Growing product line with established customers. Frequent trips to the UK (northern Ireland). 2 week holiday in the summer during which little business is conducted. Coworkers are friendly.

    Cons

    No sick days. Travel is done after-hours and on weekends (on your own time) with connecting flights. Limited benefits and bonuses. Product is often back-ordered. Internal support is lacking, only have a single certified med tech to cover the US. Extensive turnover of new employees.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2018-09-23

    Randox Laboratories Response

    October 15, 2018We Are Randox Team Member

    Many thanks for taking the time to submit this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed having the opportunity to travel while working at Randox. We are proud of the fact that the members of Team Randox have the chance to see the world. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed attending a number of exhibitions while working with us, and have recognised the high quality of our innovative diagnostic products. Thank you also for voicing some of your concerns. We are a forward-thinking company and as such, are always striving to improve. We value every comment we get. Thanks again for your review, and we wish you all the best in your future career.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Not a good career move"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Crumlin, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Randox Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always hiring, so it is possibly good for getting a years experience in the industry, to then move to another job. I met a lot of nice people

    Cons

    CLOCKING IN AND OUT one of the single biggest demotivating factors especially when overtime is a regular occurrence , no compensation for fuel used to get between company sites WHICH WAS NEEDED TO COMPLETE WORK!!, No sick pay and maternity pay was a bit of a joke, THE JOBS ARE ADVERTISED AS BEING IN BELFAST!!CRUMLIN IS NOT BELFAST!! there is no public transport to the diamond road from Belfast, You only get to choose 7 of you holidays every year!!! the rest are set!, The company software is Dead slow especially the software used for "training", used Unrealistic goals are set, though they were pleasant to me HR were apparently very rude and invasive when "interrogating" employees after they were sick i saw more than one person leave those meetings crying, poor management of time and resources( they had people with PhDs and Masters doing the work of technicians which is a waste of money), they operate using "sigma-lean" which really seemed like an excuse to cut corners at multiple points throughout the year there would be weeks at a time where essential resources were out of stock so no work occurred, if a machine or assay is not working as expected then it is seen as your fault, training stops before it really starts it consists of the bare minimum to cover insurance, no opportunities to pick up any extra skills and very little extra training offered in case you leave, the "training "they did offer was a joke it consumed days at a time encouraged you to not actually read documentation and was often done after you had been required to do the tasks, not allowed to talk about pay meaning, the pay isnt great for anyone even the managers were only getting like 60k i believe, day in day out the work is the exact same the only thing that changes are the bodies doing it, advertised travel opportunities but didnt see anyone travelling, lunch facilities consisted of small rooms with a microwave and boiling water taps, they have a strict policy on talking about the work performed in their labs but what was and what was not confidential was NEVER MADE CLEAR i wont talk about what was done, in many of the labs scientists with biomedical degrees where expected to maintain analysers with little to no training, maintenance work was also largely performed by the scientists such as emptying bins maintaining DI water pumps and many many other required tasks that cut in to the work day all these tasks had to be done on top of whatever tests needed performed, Core hours are not good its a 40 hr week rather than 37.5 (8.40-5.20), flexi time isnt very flexible and requires forms everytime even if you are only leaving half an hour earlier.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-11-18
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Outdated policies, non existent benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Crumlin, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Randox Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many. Free hot water? Some people are really nice.

    Cons

    Management styles and policies are so outdated. Incredibly strict with no flexibility. Travel policy is among the worst I've seen... You HAVE to travel on weekends and receive no flextime for during so. Bonus scheme? No. Work from home? No. Good salaries? No. Sick pay? No. Standard annual leave? No. Decent pension? No... You get the point. Honestly, it's just terrible.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-11-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Could be a lot better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Randox Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary, good colleagues, some opportunity to travel, some interesting projects from time to time

    Cons

    No sick pay or healthcare benefit (despite having a division dedicated to health and wellbeing) Pension is just the legal requirement, nothing more No other benefits of any note Most staff are forced to take 2 weeks of their mediocre leave in August No canteen facilities apart from tables/chairs and a few vending machines Clocking in/out for all staff, even if salaried/support Flexitime needs manager approval every time Cramped noisy office environments, mostly in old farm buildings in rural Crumlin All sites plagued with midges/flies during most of the year Culture of blame and suspicion throughout Management training solely focussed on protecting Randox, nothing to do with developing and supporting your staff New staff told they would recieve a free Randox Health test after 1 year of service then later told they had to pay for it Science Park: Still very much an old army barracks and feels like working in one You drive in every morning past wreaths and memorials to soldiers gunned down by terrorists No attempt to integrate or promote the company into Antrim town - still has full MoD security fence and gates. You wouldnt know it was there. No consideration given to car parking as part of refurb works. Staff end up parking in rough/muddy ground just to get a space No central canteen/gym or any attempt to improve staff socialisation/morale Staff are scattered over various old buildings which have been cheaply refurbished rather than creating something new and modern Owners son uses the park as his playground and roams the place with airsoft guns (park littered with bb pellets) and actual attack dogs.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-07-31

    Randox Laboratories Response

    September 4, 2019We Are Randox Team Member

    Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the opportunity to travel and recognised the value of working on such interesting projects while with us. Thank you also for taking the time to raise some of your concerns. As an innovative company we are always aiming to improve and your comments help us do that. Thanks again, and all the best with your future career.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Diabolical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Randox Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    Some nice coworkers, but not many. Good to get experience after university but as other reviews say if you can get experience go elsewhere.

    Cons

    Pretty much what every other review says on here. "training" is shocking, they blatantly do not care that you learn anything but yet throw tantrums when mistakes are made due to said poor training. It very much feels like a burden to them to give any new employee any form of training or support. The management is also a disgrace, when simple mistakes are made it is a blame game because people are scared of the managers reaction, which 9 times out of 10 involves storming out into the lab and yelling at you in front of your other colleagues. This discourages people from helping and supporting one another because they do not want to be at the receiving end of this abuse. Simple things like ordering new stock are made into over complicated tasks where mistakes can be very easily made. The holidays aren't great, you have clock in and out of your shifts and breaks and there is no sick pay (seriously did not expect this from a health care company). You only get 40 mins overall throughout the day to take for your break, which for the amount of stress you have to put with throughout the day is not enough! I read the reviews before and thought I would be able to handle it, yet here I am writing this. Know your own worth and do not do it for the sake of your own mental health.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-07-21
  9. Helpful (12)

    "A ten stretch in the Maze would be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Crumlin, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Randox Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has electricity...and running water. Looking forward to getting 3G reception...due 2025. Can’t wait to move to the science park- management have told us that there will be 3G and maybe even WiFi. I enjoy the perks of flying at 6am. I’m an insomniac so getting up at 4am is fine. Also, getting home after midnight most evenings is good because you miss the traffic :) The expenses policy is good when travelling, I can claim back my £3 meal deal everyday when I’m travelling which is a bonus. It’s a good thing I only eat one meal a day otherwise the £5 budget would be difficult to work with.

    Cons

    Not many, and I don’t want to bore anyone- but off the top of my head... Worst paid job ever No sick pay Clocking in and out of the toilet Laptops which don’t work The cheapest travel imaginable No windows No canteen Toxic atmosphere Under qualified managers Being told to lie to clients Being forced to work in the factory because factory staff are sick No work from home days Terrible forced holiday dates Managers with zero experience

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-07-13
  10. Helpful (10)

    "AVOID at all costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Randox Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    - There's a free car park

    Cons

    - Staff overturn in IT department is appalling (revolving door of graduates) - Senior management in IT are completely out of sync with how the department should be run. Do not know how to communicate with their staff and so behind the times! - Blame culture; always someone else's fault - management not willing to stand up for their staff. - Lack of trust in staff. They are constantly monitoring your pc (check your search history and Skype conversations) - Low salaries compared to other IT companies - No bonuses or incentives - No sick pay - Poor work culture & continuous office politics - A broken flexi system (frowned upon to ask for it) - No working from home - HR are Incompetent, rude and unhelpful *** Do not believe what any recruitment agency tells you. They will feed you lies to get you in and then several months down the line they are very happy to help you get out. The company will advertise its state of the art premises, but beneath the surface the place is crumbling.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-06-14

    Randox Laboratories Response

    June 21, 2019We Are Randox Team Member

    Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and also the opportunity to address some inaccuracies in your review - for example the reference to our flexi system. You may be interested to know that we have recently updated our flexi time policy. Members of staff are now able to take 3 hours of flexi time out of work at any time of the day. Our staff appreciate this flexibility and the ability to work around their personal commitments. We would also like to address your reference to low salaries, which is misguided. We are confident that we offer competitive salaries within our IT team, as we have them benchmarked using the ‘UK Salary and recruitment trends 2019.’ We also offer an incentive / bonus scheme, core hours of 10am-3pm, and shift working, if desirable. IT staff can choose to have an early start and early finish or late start and late finish, with shifts operating between 7am and 6pm. If you need any additional reasons to work with us, you need look no further than our truly state-of-the-art facilities, which yes, we love to advertise. Our IT facilities really are world-class, with our very own data centres, which many companies do not have. In fact we have plenty of other companies asking if they can make use of them! Coupled with the opportunity to travel to the likes of the USA, India, China, Australia, Russia, South Africa and Vietnam, our IT staff carve out for themselves a very unique career here at Randox. We have staff who joined Randox as part of their placement year from university, have returned following graduation and have progressed through various roles and into senior positions. Some staff have been working within the IT team for over 14 years! They thoroughly enjoy their roles here within the IT team, and in particular the opportunity to take part in social events. Coming up very soon is our annual staff fun day - Randox FEST - in which our staff take part in sports day style games and enjoy a BBQ together, and towards Christmas we have an event where families can bring their children in to meet Santa. The IT team additionally have department-specific team days out and of course their popular “Big Breakfast” which takes place each month as a thank you from management. We’re confident this will explain the wonderful benefits of working in the IT team at Randox, but we appreciate your feedback in any case. Every comment we get is valued and we thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Here's hoping you found a career that is better suited to your needs.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (9)

    "Terrible treatment of employees. Staff turnover speaks for itself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Randox Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked with a great group of people Good career experience for CV

    Cons

    No pay rise after a "promotion" You're just a number on the system Won't pay for any extra training material or courses HR department would remind you of a certain German National Socialist party from the early 1900s 0840 start time and 17:20 finish time so they don't have to pay you for your 40 minute lunch No sick pay Holidays are chosen for you Expected to "Give back to the company" when the company does absolutely nothing for its employees.

    Continue reading
    Randox Laboratories2019-05-01

    Randox Laboratories Response

    May 27, 2019We Are Randox Team Member

    Many thanks for your feedback. We value every comment we get, and are certainly more than happy to respond when we feel there are issues that need to be addressed, such as in this review. It is factually inaccurate to say that we do not include a payrise with a promotion, just as it is to say that we don't pay for any extra training courses. Each request of this nature is reviewed on a case by case basis, and certainly many of our staff enjoy attending additional training courses should their Manager see the benefit. Many thanks for offering us the opportunity to address these inaccuracies, and for taking the time to write your review. Every comment helps us to improve for the future, and we wish you all the best.

    Continue reading
Found 26 reviews