Rapid7 Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Rapid7 President and Chief Executive Officer Corey E. Thomas
Corey E. Thomas
186 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great culture, great support(in 15 reviews)

  • "Work life balance sucks so royally you have no idea until you land there to work(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is somewhat difficult to manage, but that's mostly because the product feels personal(in 24 reviews)

  • "fast paced sometimes comes at lack of coordination(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture of Excellence, great group of people and a company that feels like it's making a difference. Great benefits as long as you take advantage of them.

    Cons

    Some challenges retaining talent as rapid growth and culture changes have impacted upward mobility.

    Rapid72020-02-18
  2. "Awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, great culture, great support.

    Cons

    Can't think of any that would be a con.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72020-05-11
  3. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great environment, supportive team, excellent culture.

    Cons

    Can't think of any that would be a con

    Rapid72020-05-21
  4. "Rapid7 is the best company I ever worked !"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Systems Administrator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well defined and established corporate culture: employee first; inclusive, motivated team, creative, fun, friendly, open talk, transparent information sharing, no shortage of learning, music band if anyone loves music.

    Cons

    I couldn't think of any at this point.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72020-04-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company but..."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of fantastic people, the company has great transparency. So far C-suite leadership has been impressive.

    Cons

    Promotions seem to occur based on longevity vs merit in some areas. Some teams seem political when it comes to making sure you are best friends with the boss - creating toxic environments of management teams made up of the bosses bffs. Once after a work event I saw 3 people lament at how they had to SIT beside their boss in order to make sure they were involved in high level decisions made over drinks - worried that if they didn’t they would get left behind. Meeting culture is abysmal - unstructured chit chat kills progression and often it’s people in positions of management who show up without an agenda. There are a lot of people who seem a little left behind experience wise for the future we’re moving into. Career progression is feels very non existent - new employees will have to do a lot more teaching than expected to the longer term employees and likely to their bosses - which is sure to cause employee churn.

    Continue reading
    Rapid72020-05-06

    Rapid7 Response

    May 7, 2020

    I'm really sorry to hear this feedback about your experience. We take good care to ensure promotions are based on both impact created AND an embodiment of our core values.; longevity and tenure should not play a role. As with every company, sometimes we get it wrong - but we'd like to think that doesn't happen often. We are about to launch a new management effectiveness program which will allow our people - anonymously - to share how effective their managers actually are, so we can then take appropriate steps to help them become as strong as possible. In the meantime, I invite you to connect with me directly; I'd love to hear who you are struggling with so I can help fix the situation and change your experience. I'd much rather work with you to help, then read anonymous feedback that leaves me with no clue as to who or what team you are having this experience with. In the meantime, stay healthy!! Christina Luconi, Chief People Officer.

  6. "Amazing company culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture. Great employees. Fun projects. Friendly and communicative leadership team.

    Cons

    Pay seems slightly less than average depending on role

    Rapid72020-04-20
  7. "great"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time

    Pros

    love the building, great people

    Cons

    parking is perspective and they do not provide parking.

    Rapid72020-03-11
  8. "great company, good products"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Researcher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, incredible office spaces all recently redesigned. Clear mission focus on security delivered across several products.

    Cons

    Many products and siloed teams, but that may be improving

    Rapid72020-01-16
  9. "would recommend"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rapid7 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun team, great management, great solutions

    Cons

    not enough bathrooms and old place

    Rapid72020-01-30
  10. "Good place to start"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Purchasing 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rapid7 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * A lot of free swag from the company * Work remotely once in a while

    Cons

    * Lots of red-tape to get things done

    Rapid72020-01-15
Found 278 reviews