KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Rapid7

Engaged Employer

Rapid7

Add a Review

Rapid7 Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 of over 423 reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Rapid7 President and Chief Executive Officer Corey E. Thomas
Corey E. Thomas
286 Ratings
Pros
  • "Realistic expectations meaning amazing work-life balance and low stress; if you so choose it (there's always more work to be done)(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great culture, excellent products, opportunity to really grow as a mid-early career sales professional(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perhaps the trade off is increased work/life balance, which is nice(in 26 reviews)

  • "fast paced sometimes comes at lack of coordination(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Rapid7 and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to grow

      Jan 14, 2021 - Support Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Rapid7 invests a lot of money to keep their teams morale high. - They encourage you to network outside of your comfort zone/chat with people that you normally would never speak to within the company. - Unlimited PTO is a really great benefit. - They give nice swag. - I really like the CEO. He gives crystal clarity into the company's efforts, position in the market and company performance.

      Cons

      - Some of their investments that they use to keep team morale high include cameo's where they pay like $750 for a 1 minute clip of a celebrity reading a script. Would be nice to see that either be reinvested somehow or help out an employee in need, especially during a pandemic. This is just my personal opinion. - Career growth. Rapid7 is not a small company, but is also not a large company. Internal availability for growth is not as frequent as a larger company. - Pay: From the research I've gathered, they pay below average compared to the market. Perhaps the trade off is increased work/life balance, which is nice.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Product, Good Vision, Stay Away from CSM Team

      Jan 15, 2021 - Customer Success Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits, location, some awesome people

      Cons

      work life balance, politics, pay gap

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      366

      158 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      So So

      Nov 10, 2020 - Customer Success 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive Pay when hired externally, and generous benefits - Great executive leadership team - Good work/life balance - Strong and steady organization, and reliable products - Really smart and great people who work hard across all organizations within Rapid7 - Heavy focus on diversity and inclusion

      Cons

      - The support team and engineering teams who support customers for enablement are extremely understaffed. While it's been approved to hire some more people next year, realistically the teams need extreme growth rather than just a few heads. This leads to long wait times for technical help and support case resolutions, and angry customers. In short, Rapid7 has not scaled the technical support to help customers. If you are 100% internally facing I'd imagine you wouldn't run into this issue, but if you are considering a customer facing role at Rapid7, it's an important con to weigh out. - Customer Success Managers are not properly enabled to learn the products especially when the technical resources are so limited. - Managers can be very hit or miss department to department - Lack of clear internal processes making it very challenging to problem solve especially if you are new to Rapid7, and/or working remote during COVID - Compensation discrepancies with people who have grown through Rapid7 vs. hired externally (in favor of people who have been hired externally)

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Rapid7 is doing all the right things!

      Nov 14, 2019 - Account Executive in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Good Pay -Good Work/Life Balance -Ability to be creative -Ability to be apart of fast growing team -Culture is what YOU make of it. -Flexibility & treated like an Adult -Career growth when you prove yourself SHOCKS me to some of the previous reviews. Rapid7 is a great place to work. I understand Manager to Manager may be different here (in terms of culture) but I've never felt like I didn't have a voice or that wasn't something I could help influence or control for my future development here. I have a very strong outlook on R7 future growth and I know we will continue to grow our brand & within the CyberSec Market.

      Cons

      -We need more people who are committed to working hard to receive high commission/rewards for their effort -We need focused / AE high caliber talent to assist other AEs become elite AEs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      LOVED working here

      Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wow, this was a fantastic company to work for. I was on the UX team and it just made my life heaven while I worked there. Really fostered learning opportunities, encouraged people to solve problems a little outside of their job boundaries, great work life balance, and (my team specifically) group support and interest in each other's lives. I have friends from R7 that will be my friends for life.

      Cons

      I left because of a prolonged communication issue. That seemed to be a general issue at R7, communication within teams and across companies / depts / layers. I know I was not the only person to leave over this. Also, I wanted to be promoted up the seniority ladder in my role but was, for the most part, not given a lot of instruction on how to do so. Also sometimes I felt like during all hands / town halls / big meetings, our exec board would give us the run around on the questions that were selected to be answered. Almost like they wanted to say, hey look we answered your question, but actually, we didn't.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      No regret leaving this company, In-fact it was a sigh of relief!

      Mar 21, 2019 - Sr. Account Executive in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was close to the south station other than that I cannot think of anything good about this place. It was a nightmare to work in this company. I have seen a manager who was so inappropriate he use to floss at his desk yuck (Gagging as I am writing this review) Scratch his private parts not thinking that there are girls/women around. He was inappropriate about making jokes about his pregnant wife, also a racist to the core (no kidding, made so many jokes about Indian/Asian/black people in team meetings). To make things worse, he hired a guy who was an accused rapist(huge story on insta #metoo by that girl), anyways the director was good enough to ask the guy to leave. I am writing this review as I was asked by few people at R7 and it was important for people to know how bad the work culture is at this company. Work life balance sucks so royally you have no idea until you land there to work. I am super happy (can't emphasize enough) that I made a right decision by leaving this company.

      Cons

      Mgmt forces employees to write good reviews about the company, people considering to work for this company please talk to former employees. I wish glassdoor has an option. Pretty immature leadership, more focused on trying to look cool than living by their principals. Seriously very disrespectful to women. This is very accurate - Management can't get themselves together. They change their minds weekly and get upset when you can't understand what they want. Senior management will ignore you even if they see you daily. It's like you're always a stranger unless they need something. There is "unlimited vacation time" but you will be reprimanded if you take it. Managers and senior management gossip about other employees in front of everyone. Each manager does reporting a different way so you will never get it right. Be ready to be "thrown under the bus" even if you did what was asked.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Rapid7 Response

      Wow, I'm incredibly horrified to read this review, and to learn of the experience you had here. I wish that you had raised this to our senior leadership who could have taken action to address while you were here, telling us anonymously allows us to only guess at what and who you are referring to, which doesn't give us the best opportunity to investigate or make appropriate changes if necessary. Interestingly, we've been doing some work with women on the sales floor (who now make up 26% of our AE team) , and have heard very little of this sentiment, so we'll keep digging. I'm so sorry this was your experience, but I invite you to give me a call so we can discuss in more depth; we seek to build the best possible environment for our people, and your comments are clearly not representative of that. My cell is 617.233.9629. Christina Luconi Chief People Officer

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome place to work

      Dec 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility Perfect work life balance Fun/parties/town hall Good compensation

      Cons

      Too many new projects

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to work

      Aug 20, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Their commitment to employees is second to none!

      Cons

      Work / life balance can be challenging

      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Average "People Grinder", posing as trendy start-up.

      May 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, forward looking company, plenty of capital to spend (for better or worse).

      Cons

      Work life balance is nearly non-existant in engineering. They have many very smart, dedicated (obsessive) engineers, who don't need sleep and don't understand why you do. With so many smart people, it often feels like everyone is moving somewhere but nobody knows where or really has the bigger picture. Long story short, they make impressive products, but I can't recommend this job to anyone who wants a separation between work/home... or anyone that wants to feel valued even they pull extra hours. There is plenty of talks about making things better, but truthfully they don't seem to have the dedicated focus to actually implement much of it. There is extensive "training" but it's obviously very rarely considered day-to-day.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great People, Grueling Environment

      Oct 2, 2017 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The culture fosters great teamwork, and theres opportunity for career advancement. Strong leadership team

      Cons

      Most people are spread thin, internal projects tend to take a long time, difficult work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Rapid7 Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Rapid7? Share Your Experiences

    or