Rappi Software Engineer, Backend Reviews | Glassdoor

Rappi Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
70%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Rappi CEO Simón Borrero (no image)
Simón Borrero
61 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "iOS Technical Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good Salary - Growing Company - Good Environment - Remote work - Benefits

    Cons

    - The work is not organized

    Rappi2019-10-28
  2. "Growing startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Lead in Buenos Aires
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to focus on technology and changing contexts. Time matters

    Cons

    Slow career path, hostile environment

    Continue reading
    Rappi2020-03-17
  3. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Software Engineer in Guadalajara, Jalisco
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time

    Pros

    Work in a big and successful project.

    Cons

    Bad benefits, just those mandatory by the law.

    Rappi2020-03-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "This is not a Tech Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some interesting problems and high impact (if lucky)

    Cons

    - This is not a tech company. Software Engineers are third class citizens. They aren't listened, the salary is low and they don't receive benefits. - Human Resources is nonexistent, only head hunters looking for tier-1 university ex-alumni, no matter if they have no the experience or attitude for the job - No time for yourself, you must be available 24/7, specially on holidays - Crowded noisy offices and dirty smelly restrooms. No booth rooms in offices, people have 1h calls in an open office and few private offices are stolen/kept by leaders - No office material, markers, pens, notebooks or anything related - Perks are nonexistent, no coffee, no meals and no snacks - Additional benefits are nonexistent, no transport, no gym and no insurance - Abuse and mistreatment. If you're lucky leaders will treat you as a slave but normally you will be treated as a beast - You're expected to travel a lot, long trips in tourist class are the rule and don't expect to have the money spent in meals and transportation reimbursed - Low salaries, raises are only obtained if you attempt to leave and somehow your leaders think that you do something important - Hunger games every time the headcount has to be reduced, you can be fired or retained without motives. At the same time layoffs occur new people are hired - No communication, different teams work to solve the same problem, so work can be repeated across the company - Rampant micromanagement, each leader wants to know every aspect of your project and wants to tell you how to do your work. If something doesn't occur as the leader want, you'll be blamed (even if you do exactly what he/she wanted) - Extremely high rotation of people, even for a startup - Tech teams are very small and overwhelmed with tasks, that's why they can't help you to achieve your goals - Very territorial behavior, teams won't help each others nor help you to solve an issue if they aren't directly concerned - Promotions are nonexistent. Managers, VPs and Heads of Engineering are always new hires, thus you won't see someone promoted to those positions - Remote workers are outcasts, they aren't considered in the decision making. The odds to get a raise working remotely are smaller than insignificant

    Rappi2020-03-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointed. It needs to improve ASAP."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Rappi

    Pros

    I'll talk particulary about Bogotá, Colombia because I know that it may be very different on other offices. - Home office (not for everybody). - You're able to travel to other offices for work (not for everybody). - You can have stock options (not for everybody). - Pet friendly. - Wear whatever you want: pajamas, skirt, sporty, elegant. They don't care about your skin, your nationality, your tattoos, your piercings, your hair's length or color, sexual orientation, economic background, if you're married or single or if you're pregnant in the interview, just work! - There is a New Year's Eve Party (at least in Bogotá). - You learn a lot. - You get a great Lenovo Computer or a Macbook Pro (I think that the Mac is only for designers UI/UX, not sure). - Water machine and microwaves in the floors (In Bogotá). - You can have an additional Samsung screen, specially if you're a developer. - You can grow in your position and salary very fast (not for everybody). - You can move to other country from the 9 where Rappi is (not for everybody). - Nice chairs. - Free parking (not in all the countries there is enough space). - Experience and name in your resume from the Start Up from Latam with the fastest growth nowdays. - You don't feel stuck in the same job, since it has new services everytime, you will have different things to do. - They're very flexible: can't you arrive at 9 am? It doesn't matter. Do you need to go to the bank or to the doctor? It doesn't matter. Just, achieve your goals by the end of the period.

    Cons

    It's so sad that I'll be writing this when I though that I'd have a great experience in this company before being hired. This is the "New Unicorn" in Latin America with its most recent investment of $1200 million (EEUU) from SoftBank. When you realize that it happened after only 3 years of being founded, you think that you'll have amazing challenges and experiences here, but what you don't know is that after some time, you'll ask yourself how one of the most disorganized companies ever have achieved it. Rappi wants to become in the "Everything else store in LATAM" so, you know that you'll have an amazing name in your resume because they will continue growing like crazy (they're right now in 9 countries with so many services), you must also know that it has an expensive price: - Rappi is a company where the Human Resources Department is almost non-existent, they only know to send and grade assessments processes like crazy in order to hire people but they also have to eliminate every week a lot of people from their system because they keep firing them or because people keeps leaving. You get promises of benefits before getting the job that surely you'll never see. The good thing is that you get a Lenovo ThinkPad E480 with Intel i7 8th Gen and Ramdeom or you get a MacBook Pro, which is amazing. - Here, you don't even know what you have to do: you may have a homework one week and in the next week the leaders say that there are new things more important to do. - There is not team work culture at all; if you need something from somebody, you need to be very lucky if this person answers in Slack (the "WhatsApp platform" in the company) or their e-mail. Sometimes I tried contacting people through this platform and never got any answer, which makes the communication process so slow and it delays your tasks. Therefore, it's difficult to connect with other departments, it's really frustrating. If what you need is not helpful for the person you're talking to, you'll have to ask him/her around 10 times to get help: a favor becomes in a supplication. - You know what the other person is doing only if you hear what they are talking about with someone (because there are not offices or cubicles, only long tables where you don't have a permanent chair and place). What's the point about this? That sometimes, there are 2 or 3 teams working around the same thing and you didn't know it. For example: you were working in a new service proposal while other person or group was developing the same thing or something similar around the same problem. - One of the few benefits/perks is the "home office" option, but be careful, because the policies don't apply to all the workers. Some people leaves the office early but for other people it may be mandatory to stay until very late or work or answer e-mails on weekends. Some people can have "stock options" and other people can't; some people can travel to other countries with viatics and others can not. Who can do it? Guess it, because there are not clear policies. - Do you want to grow in the company? Well, there is not a clear career path. Some people get higher positions every 5-6 months and other people is stuck after 2 years working in Rappi. Also, you'll see people with similar or less responsibilities and experience than you gaining a lot more salary, it's something that makes you feel so unconfortable. - In my building the bathrooms and chairs are ok, but I know that in the other Bogotá's building and in other countries are really bad. I recommend going to check them if you have an on-site interview. - The people: there are talented and smart people, but there are people who don't know anything about their job or they’re not nice. There are some values in the company but HR only cares about finding in LinkedIn people with background experience in certain companies or people who got their degrees from certain elite universities, but in the selection process processes they don't check if that's a person who fits with the value's company. Just after getting the job, you get a welcome e-mail saying which are the values, aren't you a person who follows them in your life? It doesn't matter because it's just written for protocol.

    Continue reading
    Rappi2020-03-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager in Medellín, Antioquia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary , Experience , people, type of company

    Cons

    balance between life and work

    Rappi2020-03-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Android Developer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rappi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, but not enough.

    Cons

    Everything, they treat people like slaves.

    Rappi2020-02-22
  8. "Android Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Software Engineer in Medellín, Antioquia
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience to start

    Cons

    Work life balance, you have to be ready at any time

    Rappi2020-01-02
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Not quite the best choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Backend Developer in Bogotá, Bogota
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rappi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - You learn a lot. - Tools flexibility. - Nice, young and fun people (team-dependant). - Good location in Bogotá. - Over-the-average salaries (for Colombian salaries at least, but you have to ask for it, a lot). - 'Flexible' hours. - Tangible impact. Possibility to see your code being used, in a short time. - Possibility to switch teams (again, after asking a lot) and even traveling (usually between Argentina, Colombia and Mexico). - Easy interview process (which is not necessarily something nice).

    Cons

    - More work, zero life: 24/7 duties. No planning. Nothing. Weekends, holidays? I don't think so, buddy. - Zero perks policy: Not even homeoffice is standardized. Not even coffee. For a tech company. NO COFFEE. And not even free coupons in the coffee shop that is next to the building. You won't even get markers. Good thing they have nice back-bending chairs (which are constantly stolen). - No tech path available: You will only get random titles, maybe some salary changes and maybe a few stock options... but you won't have a clear path, defined roles nor any kind of clear requirements for each role. - Boot licking method: The more you lick, the better you do. Stick to the first developers group and you will do great. Even if you suck at your job. - QA: Quality uncertAinty. Standards? Nope. Test coverage? Nope. Branch coverage? What's that? Automated testing? What kind of click and check is that? Qualified QA engineer? Nah, we better use random call center guys that'd like to have a better salary. And if they want more, we should promote them to Project Managers. - Are you a Tech Manager? You're overqualified: Just like that. No proper technique. No tech background (in most cases). Random methodologies. Bad estimation. Unexisting emotional intelligence. - Thanks for your hard work, I'll be taking credit now: Zero recognition (in order to get a raise, you'll need to do it yourself). Rarely a "thank you". Working until 4 am? That's ok, anyhow I did everything. No feedback, nothing. - Fake promises: Nice, stock options (after you threaten to leave). Lets not explain anything a promise exorbitant levels that we won't probably reach. Also, let's speak about stuff we are not going to do, like getting personal lockers or a real eating area. - Non-existent culture: No standards, no vision, no value, no identity (tech-related). - Are you leaving? Ok, bye: One of the worst retentions I've ever heard of. "Well, here you have a small bunch of stock options, $150 more, and you'll need to be working twice as hard"... yeah, no. A friend didn't even get a counter offer, but they kindly asked him to stay. Nice fellas. - You get a Tech Lead position! And you get a Tech Lead position! Everyone gets a tech lead position! : Were you a tech lead in your team before you switched? No worries, you're still one here as well, even though you don't even know the names of our repos. We love to have underqualified tech leads (whose contract position is still a developer, btw, it's just for ego, jejeps), and we love to have multiples tech leads, so they can fight between them and only the stronger survives. Survival of the fittest, such an enjoyable thing. - Two parties per year, drinks, food and fun not included: Just like that... if you're lucky we might give you a ber. - Hire more, lay them off afterwards: Two years in a row, let's wait for the next one. Such a trust-building company! - HR? HAHAHAHA: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA. For real, it doesn't exist. Even a rock is more efficient. - The early bird gets burnt: Oh, did you arrive at 7:00? I didn't saw that. I really do hope you stay at least until 20:00 or we should replace you. - Zero inclusion policy: Disabled? Religious? Gay? Any kind of vulnerable population? Ja. Also, you must really check in which team you choose to work as a woman. - Would you like some access to... nope. Just nope. Unless I like you. - Formation? Talks? Courses? Conferences? Here, there you got a google link. Learn. (I know it's a perk, but it's important to mention). - "Can you please rearchitect this whole ecosystem? Can you launch it tomorrow? Thanks! I'm counting on it": Well, it was more like an order, but you get the idea. - Instead of promoting remote work, let's travel to this other headquarter so you can waste your time there! : You won't even get chance to get to know the area... Unless you're one of the extras we wasted our money on and brought here because you were nice to us. - Let's use this "temporal" solution for this "temporal" problem. Xoxo. - In Colombia you get a 60%-40% salary policy. That means you'll only get 60% of your salary for social security and for your vacations you'll only get 60%. - Welcome! Let me show you the onboarding process: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAA. Good luck, dud. I expect to have this new feature for tomorrow. - Writing glass door reviews take too long. Please, fix your company. I still have like 15 more facts but I'm tired.

    Continue reading
    Rappi2019-12-13
  10. "The time I’ve learned the most"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rappi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well payed, good work ambiance, work with HQ people

    Cons

    Not organized, no training for the employees

    Rappi2019-12-03
Found 79 reviews