RareJob English Tutor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for English Tutor

RareJob English Tutor Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
37%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
RareJob CEO Gaku Nakamura (no image)
Gaku Nakamura
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Great system and students but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob

    Pros

    Lovable students and CEO Most materials are very effective Systematic Payroll

    Cons

    Low rate Too many staff but cant help you in time of need Unrealistic mock lesson evaluation ( assessors are not even teachers)

    Continue reading
    RareJob2016-06-01
  2. Helpful (37)

    "This company is Unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work anywhere and anytime all you need is your laptop and a headset

    Cons

    I have been a tutor since 2012 and guess what they blame the tutors for student's mistake. One time a student yelled at me because he cannot understand English and the management didn't do anything about it to correct it. And they file 204's even if it is the student's fault. 204 is a penalty for tutors whenever they committed the following: Tutor sent a request to cancel/close the booked lesson less than two days before the lesson date Tutor clicked the "Absent" button in the Attendance Update page Tutor was not able confirm his or her availability (tutor was not able to click the "Stand-by" button in the Attendance Update page on time) FYI I didn't do any of that. I wrote a trouble report because my student's internet is acting up but guess what they didn't listen or at least read my trouble report. All they did was file a 204. I tried asking them to remove it but they didn't. They are asking me to provide screenshots. The thing is I don't save conversation history because it just adds to the memory of my computer and makes it slow. But starting today I don't care if my computer would be slow and mess with my lessons at least I'll have evidence. And FYI they don't pay very well. They only pay php 50.00 ($1.00) per 25 minutes. So it's really weird why they cannot pay me the 100.00 ($2.00) they owed me for wasting my time trying to reach the students with bad internet connection. Well, I don't really mind the 2 bucks they owed me what I cared about is the number of 204s I incurred because if it reached 5% there is a salary deduction plus a penalty wherein a tutor cannot teach for a week. Imagine the low pay and the salary deduction.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2016-10-04
  3. "Student-centered company and biased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Binãn, Laguna
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible time, can work at your home

    Cons

    unfair to tutors, some students are very mean , the company does not accept tutors' complaints, The company only cares about money and their customers low salary will fail you on mock lessons even though you did great to avoid salary increase bossy office employees

    Continue reading
    RareJob2020-02-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "STAY AWAY!! BELIEVE ME!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Tutor in Tacloban, Tacloban
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - flexible work schedule (that's it)

    Cons

    - I have been working for this company for 9 years. You can just imagine how well-experienced I am when it comes to teaching Japanese students. However, due to the fact that I went overboard the allowable cancellation ratio, I was terminated. I had a lot of power outages due to the weather disturbance this season. Is that even my fault?? Remember that I was only given 1 warning. After that, I tried my best to lower my cancellation ratio but to no avail, they still terminated me. How UNFAIR!!! They never considered the number of students who were my regulars nor my past performance as well. I have dedicated my entire life to this school. So, if you're thinking of applying to this company, don't think twice anymore. You'd end up getting hurt no matter how long you've been working.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-10-31
  5. "Convenient but not something for long-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Tutor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Of course, the convenience of work from home is there. You get to meet new people through tutoring, both student and co-tutor. The salary is okay but you have to work for it.

    Cons

    The management will insist you to finish the lesson when the student explicitly tells you that they don't want to do the lesson anymore. For example, if a child student starts making a tantrum that you can't control, you will be forced to deal with it and try to finish the lesson with very little time you have, because you're wasting time dealing with the tantrum. Encountering rude and misbehaving students is something that you have to deal with yourself because they're not going to help you with the problem.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-09-07
  6. "Comprehensive Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Baguio, Baguio
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working for RareJob for more than a year, today. The system is easy to use, and the materials are simple. Even without teaching experience, an individual can master the basics of teaching English to the Japanese. Japanese are friendly and humble people. That being said, it is easy to teach them, and the chances of having irate students are few to none. Tutor support answers rapidly. Questions and clarifications may easily be endorsed to them. They have an active community, and they tend to gather tutors from all across the country. Also, once a year they send 'Ambassadors' to the pool of tutors to go to Japan. RareJob is good with incentives.

    Cons

    First of all, Rarejob is a Japanese company run by Japanese executives. While Japanese companies pride themselves with quality work and service, they are not famous for Employee-satisfaction and fair labor. The pay grade of Rarejob is below minimum. Even if you are a non-experienced TEFL or TESL tutor, you have value in the world economy. $1 for a 25 minute lesson (for regular tutors) is not just. Moving on, the company is quick to impose penalties, and they do it strictly. Penalties can take up more than 40% of your entire salary. Clarifying mistakes from the penalties takes time, and the return of salary will be shifted to the next month's pay. It is a customer-centered platform. Students are all that matters. You are replaceable in RareJob if you find the environment unsatisfiable.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-07-11
  7. "Tutor's salary is low and easily incurred penalties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Caloocan, Quezon City
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Been a tutor at this company for almost a year now. Students are great and friendly. Tutor support is always helpful. Flex-schedule and time for opening slots.

    Cons

    Salary is too low. Penalties easily incurred. Too lengthy feedback to input under tutoring notes. Not giving leeway for some emergency incidents on tutor's side. 3 months renewable contract for Premium Tutors.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-07-10
  8. "As Newbie, it's fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of students and good support

    Cons

    Materials are not easy to use actually. The fonts are too small for me. Students are okay but there are some students that look unsatisfied but they don't bother to ask.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-07-06
  9. "Good Pay; Kind Students; Flexible schedule;"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Online English Tutor in Baguio, Baguio
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive salary Flexible schedule: great for working students

    Cons

    Little to no advancement Does not allow for minimal mistakes for upgrades

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-03-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Online English Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Online English Tutor in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the job because their students value their teachers. The company pays on time and they are even providing cash advances to needy tutors. The support team are always present when needed. The lessons and modules can be easily understood. I had a great time with RareJob. Nothing compares to this Online English Tutorial Website.

    Cons

    I hope that unbook slots would soon be paid like the others. I also think that the pay should be readjusted according to market standards to ensure that they pay is within competitive range.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2018-11-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 23 reviews