RareJob Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

RareJob Teacher Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
80%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
RareJob CEO Gaku Nakamura (no image)
Gaku Nakamura
2 Ratings
  1. "Good System but I hate their new teaching platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good salary rate at 110/hr Incentives per booking if there are holidays Good materials and organized system On-time salary Pay

    Cons

    10% tax which is not being registered to employee's ITR Not always requiring Skype as they have their new teaching platform which is not equal to the campaign learning thru skype

    Continue reading
    RareJob2020-02-18
  2. "Rarejob online english tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You manage your time because you may open lesson slots at your discretion.

    Cons

    You may not get booked all the time

    RareJob2020-02-14
  3. "Very low hourly rate... but easy-going students."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1.) Easy-to-follow curriculum / lesson plans 2.) Rules/SOPs are established and are black-and-white (easy-to-follow) 3.) Excellent Tutor Support system/team (replies fast, assists well, and gives accurate answers) 4.) Timely salary 5.) Incentives 6.) Polite, easy-going students 7.) Students are usually on intermediate to advanced level (Not much beginners so not much spoon feeding) 8.) Students are loyal to RJ so they usually know the drill of the lesson flow} 9.) Lots of students 10.) Flexible time, open lesson slots at your convenience 11.) They are forgiving when it comes to absences (shh)

    Cons

    1.) Low hourly pay of 2.16/hr. 2.) Lots of tutors (but no worries coz there are a lot of students too) 3.) You have to be a popular tutor (which I am, thankfully) to always be fully booked.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2020-01-25
  4. "There are Better Companies Out There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They allow a flexible schedule to work around with. With 50php as a starter for every 25 minute lesson, pay is just. In addition, they have generous benefits for hard-working tutors. Again, there are other companies with better pay, better system, and better tutor-care.

    Cons

    It's a Japanese owned company. Unless you are the customer, they don't care about your welfare. The system itself is hard to work around with, and the management does not care about your side of the story for irate students. You can do better than RareJob. Make this your stepping stone, or a part-time thing, but do not make a career with this company. It's not worth it.

    RareJob2019-12-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "ESL teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Quezon City, National Capital Region
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours - you can set the schedule that will fit you They have up to date curriculum to match the modern needs of their students. They're not afraid to upgrade, to remove non-essential materials to match the ever changing global system. Their support is above parr. They're a chat away when something goes wrong and response time is excellent. Many promotional gimmicks to keep the teaching community active and involve them in the development of the system. The students in Rarejob are very, very kind. They are also eager to learn and quite dedicated. There's a variety of the type of students you will meet via this learning environment and it has made teaching online the most fun work I've ever had.

    Cons

    Rates are not competitive. I've been working with Rarejob for 4 years give or take. My rate has increased by at most 10%. And when I say "not competitive" I mean to say they have the lowest rates in comparison with most online companies. And perhaps - the rates are based on the cost of living in my country but most foreign people who wish to work for Rarejob will find the rates rather below global standards. Please be advised. Initially, they had offered incentives with some requirements. This has suited me greatly as I was a mother with a toddler to take care of. However, they changed the requirements of said incentives pushing people to teach late in the evening. As someone who had relied on the incentives to ease the weight of the 10% tax burden, this was such a huge inconvenience. Teaching at night took some getting used to and I had some problems as there was no guarantee that my son could sleep before my classes.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-10-06
  6. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Online English Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible work schedule for online teacher

    Cons

    little pay. does not provide training for new teachers

    RareJob2019-10-08
  7. "Double-edged Sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Home-based Online English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High Quality Materials Flexible Schedule Extremely Polite Students Responsive Tutor Support

    Cons

    Low Pay for Starters Soaring Number of Tutors

    RareJob2019-09-19
  8. "No regrets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English As A Second Language Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are very nice and responsive. They are polite. Students does not make it seem like you are working.

    Cons

    No work, no pay Too many tutors so lesser chance of getting booked

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-08-30
  9. "good for beginner ESL teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Tuguegarao

    I worked at RareJob part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    more considerate than i expected

    Cons

    tutors are undercompensated big salary deductions due to cancellations

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-07-15
  10. "UPDATED HIGH SALARY, INCENTIVES AND SPECIAL BONUSES, TUTOR GATHERING, SPLASH AND RUN YEARLY AND SUMMER GETAWAY,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Marikina City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strengths or Rarejob 1. Ability to Generate Revenue from tutor's flexible Free Time 2. Incentives and Special Bonuses 3. Regular System Upgrades and Innovations 4. 19-Hour Company’s Tutor Support 5. Referral Programs 6. Work-Life Balance Opportunities on Rarejob 1. Booking on high-demand lesson time slots 2. Tutor evaluation done by the students 3. Tutor Rating as a result of the tutor evaluation 4.  Wide age range of students 5. Less hassle and No commute work

    Cons

    Threats while working at Rarejob 1. Technical Issues 2. Class Cancellations on both parties with penalty 3.  increasing Number of tutors 4. Cultural Barriers Weaknesses of Rarejob 1.Having a limited market because they only cater tutoring services in Japanese and Japan residents 2. No company Benefits and Government contributions Limited Use of other gadgets

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-06-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews