RareJob Tutor Reviews | Glassdoor

RareJob Tutor Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
37%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
RareJob CEO Gaku Nakamura (no image)
Gaku Nakamura
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a very nice experience.

    Cons

    Too low pay and there are too many staffs

    Continue reading
    RareJob2017-08-05
  2. Helpful (37)

    "This company is Unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work anywhere and anytime all you need is your laptop and a headset

    Cons

    I have been a tutor since 2012 and guess what they blame the tutors for student's mistake. One time a student yelled at me because he cannot understand English and the management didn't do anything about it to correct it. And they file 204's even if it is the student's fault. 204 is a penalty for tutors whenever they committed the following: Tutor sent a request to cancel/close the booked lesson less than two days before the lesson date Tutor clicked the "Absent" button in the Attendance Update page Tutor was not able confirm his or her availability (tutor was not able to click the "Stand-by" button in the Attendance Update page on time) FYI I didn't do any of that. I wrote a trouble report because my student's internet is acting up but guess what they didn't listen or at least read my trouble report. All they did was file a 204. I tried asking them to remove it but they didn't. They are asking me to provide screenshots. The thing is I don't save conversation history because it just adds to the memory of my computer and makes it slow. But starting today I don't care if my computer would be slow and mess with my lessons at least I'll have evidence. And FYI they don't pay very well. They only pay php 50.00 ($1.00) per 25 minutes. So it's really weird why they cannot pay me the 100.00 ($2.00) they owed me for wasting my time trying to reach the students with bad internet connection. Well, I don't really mind the 2 bucks they owed me what I cared about is the number of 204s I incurred because if it reached 5% there is a salary deduction plus a penalty wherein a tutor cannot teach for a week. Imagine the low pay and the salary deduction.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2016-10-04
  3. Helpful (19)

    "Great system and students but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob

    Pros

    Lovable students and CEO Most materials are very effective Systematic Payroll

    Cons

    Low rate Too many staff but cant help you in time of need Unrealistic mock lesson evaluation ( assessors are not even teachers)

    Continue reading
    RareJob2016-06-01
  4. Helpful (18)

    "Okay for people in-between jobs, and freelancers, but not for those looking for a career path."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RareJob part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, you can work at home

    Cons

    pay isn't big enough, some policies are very student-biased and unfair to tutors

    Continue reading
    RareJob2014-02-19
  5. "Apply for the Experience. Not for Long-term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Online Tutor in Manila, Manila
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -flexible time, no fixed schedule -no minimum required hours per week (great if you have a day job) -very fast tutor support response -easy to get bookings (I've never experienced opening a slot and not getting a booking from a student) -very nice students (although you will experience the occasional rude student)

    Cons

    -super low salary -quick to give penalties to tutors -once a month payday -interface and some procedures and policies are a bit confusing at first

    RareJob2020-02-17
  6. "I love this company so much."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Lipa, Lipa
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule and Great students!

    Cons

    Salary is not that high.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2020-02-01
  7. "OK as an auxiliary job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - ESL Tutor in Manila, Manila

    I have been working at RareJob for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time, good tutor support

    Cons

    Low base pay, harsh penalties and deductions, tax deduction

    RareJob2020-01-17
  8. "Student-centered company and biased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Binãn, Laguna
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible time, can work at your home

    Cons

    unfair to tutors, some students are very mean , the company does not accept tutors' complaints, The company only cares about money and their customers low salary will fail you on mock lessons even though you did great to avoid salary increase bossy office employees

    Continue reading
    RareJob2020-02-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Rarejob"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Tutor 

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can plot your schedule anytime. I think they're more lenient when it comes to class cancellations as long you provide necessary proof/documents/etc.

    Cons

    Salary I think the previous management was more generous. The incentives were easier to achieve as well.

    RareJob2019-12-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "So-so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Private Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible time, good tutor support

    Cons

    Low rates even for long term tutors

    RareJob2019-12-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 93 reviews