RareJob "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

RareJob Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
RareJob CEO Gaku Nakamura (no image)
Gaku Nakamura
13 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They're quick to impose penalties when their incentives are piso-piso(in 33 reviews)

  • "They offer a low pay for newbies(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a very nice experience.

    Cons

    Too low pay and there are too many staffs

    Continue reading
    RareJob2017-08-05
  2. Helpful (37)

    "This company is Unfair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can work anywhere and anytime all you need is your laptop and a headset

    Cons

    I have been a tutor since 2012 and guess what they blame the tutors for student's mistake. One time a student yelled at me because he cannot understand English and the management didn't do anything about it to correct it. And they file 204's even if it is the student's fault. 204 is a penalty for tutors whenever they committed the following: Tutor sent a request to cancel/close the booked lesson less than two days before the lesson date Tutor clicked the "Absent" button in the Attendance Update page Tutor was not able confirm his or her availability (tutor was not able to click the "Stand-by" button in the Attendance Update page on time) FYI I didn't do any of that. I wrote a trouble report because my student's internet is acting up but guess what they didn't listen or at least read my trouble report. All they did was file a 204. I tried asking them to remove it but they didn't. They are asking me to provide screenshots. The thing is I don't save conversation history because it just adds to the memory of my computer and makes it slow. But starting today I don't care if my computer would be slow and mess with my lessons at least I'll have evidence. And FYI they don't pay very well. They only pay php 50.00 ($1.00) per 25 minutes. So it's really weird why they cannot pay me the 100.00 ($2.00) they owed me for wasting my time trying to reach the students with bad internet connection. Well, I don't really mind the 2 bucks they owed me what I cared about is the number of 204s I incurred because if it reached 5% there is a salary deduction plus a penalty wherein a tutor cannot teach for a week. Imagine the low pay and the salary deduction.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2016-10-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Double-edged Sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Home-based Online English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High Quality Materials Flexible Schedule Extremely Polite Students Responsive Tutor Support

    Cons

    Low Pay for Starters Soaring Number of Tutors

    RareJob2019-09-19
  5. "Low Pay, Strict management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tutor in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Work at your most convenient schedule.

    Cons

    Low pay. The students' complains are always prioritized even though the problem is on their side.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-09-29
  6. "Very low pay and does not remove rude students from the system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Tutor in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob for less than a year

    Pros

    None. I am only here because I am currently finding another job.

    Cons

    1. Very low pay. Pays only 55 pesos per class - the lowest in the industry 2. They will require you to write very long Lesson Notes. With other ESL companies, you can simply write one or two sentences, two clicks and that's it. Rarejob however, makes it difficult for you by asking you to write several information. 3. Some (not all) students are rude and when you report them to the management they will say they will take note of it and they will ask you to record the class next time. And then what will happen next? Nothing! You will just be surprised one day that the student was able to book your class again and you will be treated badly once again. Because the truth is, they don't care if the student is rude as long as they are earning money from the student. They will just simply tell you to record the class next time in order to make you feel "better." But in reality, they won't do anything.

    Continue reading
    RareJob2019-06-25
  7. "Good company for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Home-based Online English Teacher in Cabanatuan
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RareJob for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff and students. Salaries are never late.

    Cons

    They offer a low pay for newbies.

    RareJob2018-12-07
  8. "Flexible time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at RareJob for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time other than that, nothing.

    Cons

    -Student-centered, even if the student's connection is bad, it will be blamed to you. -Very low pay

    Continue reading
    RareJob2018-11-12
  9. "Great environment, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at RareJob part-time

    Pros

    -stress-free environment -polite students -work at your own preferred time -incentives

    Cons

    -low pay -limited available hours to teach (weekdays 5pm-12mn; weekends 5am-12mn)

    RareJob2018-10-27
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Work from home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at RareJob part-time

    Pros

    more time at home, flexible schedule...

    Cons

    low pay rate, hard to achieve incentives...

    Continue reading
    RareJob2018-08-13
  11. "Okay but needs improvment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RareJob

    Pros

    nice students :) on time payment and secure it's okay as a part time but as a career, this is in the long run not healthy and limiting

    Cons

    low pay :( yes no travel hassle but you pay for the internet as well so thats quits tutor support sometimes not helpful at all the need for documents is very hassle and sometimes the tutor support sucks in this area (inconsiderate)

    Continue reading
    RareJob2018-03-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 27 reviews