Rational Reviews | Glassdoor

Rational Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Rational CEO Peter Stadelmann (no image)
Peter Stadelmann
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rational full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast-growing, exciting company with a fantastic team of dedicated people.

    Cons

    Global headquarters is in Germany.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on creating ever greater customer value and the growth will follow.

    Rational2019-04-01
  2. "RATIONAL Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rational full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for and awesome benefits.

    Cons

    No work life balance in several departments.

    Rational2018-11-21
  3. "Office Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Bradenton, FL

    I worked at Rational for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Top of the line product and sales support. Exciting company to work with and for; great potential for those in sales and marketing. Sr management was superb during my tenure; they understood the market and valued the internal processes/departments needed to support the sales/marketing team. They were in it for the long term.

    Cons

    Constant turnover in upper management. Adversely affects employees and also customer relationships; especially when top sales performers are being recruited by competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize management; foster commitment to understand the American market better; look to those who have proven themselves; listen to their recommendations.

    Rational2015-09-07

    Rational Response

    August 11, 2016International Human Resources Business Partner

    Thanks a lot for your feedback! We're happy, that you enjoyed working with us! Kind regards Manuel Tischler International Human Resources

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Excellent product, stable company, questionable HR practices, difficulty adapting to international markets."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Management in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rational full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    RATIONAL outclasses all its competitors in terms of product and service. At senior management level, there is no real time off due to the nature of the job, but this is not unique to RATIONAL. Remuneration is on par with competition, but foremost you get to work with the absolute best the industry has to offer. Excellent training programs are offered to sales staff and many competitors actually try to recruit from... RATIONAL due to their excellent training.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a top down German management culture allowing little room for personal initiative. You either love it or hate it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellent work with regard to product development and sales training. "Think global, act local". Adapt your sales process internationally where necessary and try to respect cultural differences.

    Rational2014-09-26

    Rational Response

    August 11, 2016International Human Resources Business Partner

    Dear Sir or Madam Sorry for our late response as we were not aware about glassdoor until yet. Thanks a lot for your comments and it's great to hear, that you enjoyed your time at RATIONAL. I think there is always room for improvement and we are learning something new everyday. ...

    Show More
  5. "Best company I have ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rational full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked for a place that treated its people so well. Great product.

    Cons

    It can be hard work, but it is worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up your strong focus on people.

    Rational2019-06-27
  6. "Sales consultancy for clients that had bought the equipments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Freelance Consultant in Bogotá, Bogota
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rational for more than a year

    Pros

    You choose your schedule and the clients you work for

    Cons

    There was no regularity all year long.

    Rational2019-05-19
  7. "Good to join this firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rational full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its a good Company to join

    Cons

    No cons as of now to join

    Rational2017-07-25
  8. "Good Money, no life/work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rational full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting, lots of variety in the day, great support staff

    Cons

    Difficult sales targets, competition within company structure

    Advice to Management

    Value employees rather than sucking them dry and tossing them aside

    Rational2017-02-13
  9. "Ambitious, Professional Environment:: you'll enjoy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rational full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    infrastructure, efficiency, route to market, allow you to manage.

    Cons

    reports... potentially could be.. if you dont like reporting dont go to the interview for this one

    Advice to Management

    enjoy number crunching and reports..... its reality

    Rational2016-01-19

    Rational Response

    August 11, 2016International Human Resources Business Partner

    Thanks a lot for your good appraisal! We're happy, that you enjoyed working with us! Kind regards Manuel Tischler International Human Resources

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rational full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product no doubts with fantastic market share globally. Definitely a product worth investing, the best choice for restaurant or hotel.

    Cons

    Horrible management with no basic knowledge of respect for fellow subordinates. Small little petty and immature behavior of management in singapore. Not surprised if one day Singapore office will be winded up due to inexperienced management.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to trust your own staff, do not do small little actions behind your staffs back which apparently lead to complete disgraceful behavior of how a management should behaves.

    Rational2015-10-18

    Rational Response

    August 11, 2016International Human Resources Business Partner

    Dear Sir or Madam Sorry for our late response as we were not aware about glassdoor until yet. We are sorry, that you left our company with a bad feeling. If you want to talk about your experiences please feel free to write an email to m.tischler@rational-online.com to schedule a ...

    Show More
Found 16 reviews