Ratner Companies Reviews | Glassdoor

Ratner Companies Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Dennis Ratner
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stylists were heard and helped develop the company(in 8 reviews)

  • "Family owned, free education for salon professionals(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stylists and Founder are loosing say in the direction the company is evolving(in 9 reviews)

  • "That's a private conversation to be help with upper management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ratner Companies for more than a year

    Pros

    Very family oriented and it is very much like a second home when you step foot into their doors.

    Cons

    I have yet to experience any downsides personally so I can't say anything about it. So far I have enjoyed working there in the past.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Ratner Companies2018-01-13

    Ratner Companies Response

    May 15, 2018Director of Associate Relations

    Thanks for the kind review and recommending us as a great place to work! We trust that you will continue to enjoy working with us and build a successful career with us.

  2. Helpful (4)

    "It was a job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ratner Companies full-time

    Pros

    Good place to gain experience. Interesting industry to be involved with. SOME of the people were great to work with.

    Cons

    My experiences with the executive team were positive ones. It was the leadership at the department level that was practically non-existent. Some seemed inexperienced or generally ill-equipped to deal with leading a team. Finger pointing, talking behind peoples backs and throwing coworkers under the bus was so rampant that it should qualify as part of the company culture.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe this has improved since I was there, but set higher standards for the people you place in leadership roles and demand more from them.

    Ratner Companies2018-10-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible first job for starters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Souderton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ratner Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get well earned tips.

    Cons

    Difficult coworkers Slackers Horrible management No breaks No vacation Minimum wage

    Ratner Companies2018-11-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Corporate company that forgot what it's like to work in a salon."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Professional in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Ratner Companies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Continuing education, respected brand name.

    Cons

    Poor compensation plan, lack of communication from corporate to salon, too many changes, lack of concern for cosmetologist, terrible health plan.

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your office and into the salons. Care about us instead of acting like you do. Give back our 401K. You're making too many changes in a short period of time. Looks like you're in fiscal trouble or your selling. Extending our hours and holiday's open is killing the morale. Your new dress code is contradictory, and all over the place. Promoting coupons via email and at the salon which has the salon professional...

    Show More
    Ratner Companies2018-08-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "As a district leader, you are expected to also be a salon leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ratner Companies full-time

    Pros

    Family owned, free education for salon professionals

    Cons

    Expects leadership to go above & beyond to support your people, but as a company does not support leadership. Low pay

    Ratner Companies2018-05-30

    Ratner Companies Response

    June 5, 2018Director of Associate Relations

    So sorry to hear that things are not going as you'd like. The role of the District Leader is one that is critical to success of our organization and is trusted to help grow our Salon Professionals and Salon Leaders - it is not our expectation that you work as a Salon Leader. From ...

    Show More
  6. "okay salon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ratner Companies full-time

    Pros

    cool people good opening

    Cons

    shut down the salon at tomball

    Advice to Management

    open back up

    Ratner Companies2018-04-10

    Ratner Companies Response

    May 15, 2018Director of Associate Relations

    Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Its never easy making the decision to close a salon but based on a variety of key factors there are times when we have to make that difficult decision - when this occurs we thoughtfully look to place salon professionals at another ...

    Show More
  7. "Help Desk Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ratner Companies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great health, dental and 401k benefits. Always felt like a part of a team. Continually updated training. Room to grow in the HR department. Fun events to be a part of. Excellent Wow service culture.

    Cons

    Some lack of concerns for company associates.

    Advice to Management

    Don't just sit and do your assigned job. Juggle many other tasks for the company to appreciate you and see your ambition.

    Ratner Companies2017-12-05

    Ratner Companies Response

    May 15, 2018Director of Associate Relations

    Hi there! Thank you for the thoughtful advice to leadership - we should all make sure that we are growing and pushing ourselves to learn new skills and to excel in both our personal and professional lives. So glad that you felt a part of a team and enjoyed our WOW culture - we ...

    Show More
  8. "District leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Ratner Companies full-time

    Pros

    Company is evolving and making changes to stay current. Pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Nothing to say here. Some people don’t like change. However change can be good

    Ratner Companies2017-11-12

    Ratner Companies Response

    May 15, 2018Director of Associate Relations

    Thanks for the quick shout out! We value you as a DL and the role you play in helping our talented team of salon professionals be the best in providing wow service to our guests while growing their careers with us! Thanks for all that you do!

  9. "Hairdresser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Warrenton, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ratner Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very soothing and healthy environment to work in. Enjoyed my job very much. Unfortunately I called in sick then late the next day and was let go. They have had very flaky employees but I truly loved and was committed to this job.

    Cons

    Didnt give me a second chance when I called out. I could've provided a Dr. Note

    Advice to Management

    Understand employees needs better and take into consideration when employee calls out and realize not everyone is a flake

    Ratner Companies2017-10-18

    Ratner Companies Response

    May 15, 2018Director of Associate Relations

    Thanks for the very positive review and the advice to leadership. We certainly understand that on occasion associates may need to call out due to unexpected circumstances - I am not sure exactly what happened in your particular case but we wish you continued success.

  10. Helpful (6)

    "Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ratner Companies full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule nut in sure that's next on the chopping block.

    Cons

    Just announced no company 401k matching...suspended. take a deduct per client and color service. How does that add up to do what's right or being a company about making their people happy? Wrong move.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting things out that make people want to work here. Also what happened to talking to us with respect. New "directors"are rude.

    Ratner Companies2017-10-05

    Ratner Companies Response

    October 9, 2017Director of Associate Relations

    We certainly understand your disappointment in our decision to temporary suspend the 401K match. As an organization it is important to grow and invest in the future of the company in a thoughtful way; as such, we made the decision to heavily invest in technology, training, and processes ...

    Show More
Found 65 reviews