Raycom Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Raycom President and CEO Pat LaPlatney (no image)
Pat LaPlatney
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment and provided necessary experience opportunities to succeed(in 13 reviews)

  • "Rewarding with great money and great people(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is usually bound by NDAs and that can make work difficult(in 8 reviews)

  • "low pay in the industry as a whole(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Great Place to Start"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Success Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Raycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very large company that had pretty good benefits and was overall a good place to work.

    Cons

    Because it was so large, it was easy to get lost in the shuffle of bureaucracy.

    Raycom2020-05-31
  2. "GREAT people and High stress"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior DSS in Birmingham, AL

    I worked at Raycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewarding with great money and great people

    Cons

    Budget grew bigger than the sales team

    Raycom2020-01-10
  3. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Specialist 

    I have been working at Raycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly place to grow

    Cons

    Salaries were not at market average

    Raycom2020-01-08
  4. "Good Company, Good Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits and culture are awesome, stations are very connected and collaboration is encouraged

    Cons

    Heavy corporate presence that interferes with day to day ops at times.

    Raycom2019-11-04
  5. "Great Growth Opportunities"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Raycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing Growth Opportunities within the company

    Cons

    Health Insurance Plan as only goof for holding the door open when you take your dog out to pee.

    Continue reading
    Raycom2019-08-19
  6. "Fantastic place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EVP 

    I worked at Raycom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for

    Cons

    TV stations need to work to remain relevant to large portions of the population

    Raycom2019-07-16
  7. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at Raycom full-time

    Pros

    It was a great company to work for. Best job I ever had!

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Raycom2019-06-28
  8. "Raycom would be a great place to work, except for..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broadcast Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Raycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, rewarding work, and stimulating professional assignments. Quality travel opportunities, high profile professional clientelle, and state of the art work environment. High level of autonomy.

    Cons

    Less than competent leadership and incompetent engineering management.

    Continue reading
    Raycom2019-06-14
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raycom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management, room for growth

    Cons

    None; I enjoyed my time at the company

    Raycom2019-03-24
  10. "The best place to start"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Content Producer in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Employees, Ability to learn new skills, Great communication with managers, Flexibility around personal schedules

    Cons

    Very small newsroom with a low budget. Ment lots of work for employees and little compensation, Lots of turn over.

    Continue reading
    Raycom2019-02-28
Found 178 reviews