Raymour & Flanigan Reviews | Glassdoor

Raymour & Flanigan Reviews

Updated November 21, 2017
376 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Raymour & Flanigan President and CEO Neil Goldberg
Neil Goldberg
231 Ratings

376 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • It is retail so schedule is demanding but the company is flexible when it can be to promote a work life balance (in 23 reviews)

  • Long hours depending on promotions (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Walks the Talk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Upper Management in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Upper Management in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I have been in Management for over 25 years and R&F truly lives their vision and mission of enhancing the customer's shopping experience and taking care of their associates--there are a lot of advancement opportunities once you get your foot in the door. It is a safe and happy environment where you have autonomy to run your business within guidelines, but with the flexibility to take risks and challenge to constantly improve. New ideas are always welcome. Upward mobility and moves happen quickly.

    Cons

    Due to quick upward mobility, sometimes Management Teams don't have the opportunity to be long term stable.

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 16, 2017 – VP HR Field

    Thank you for sharing your experience with prospective candidates here on Glassdoor!


  2. "Fast-Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time

    Pros

    Fast-Paced environment with a lot of growth potential!

    Cons

    Retail hours are always a con. But working with a great team makes these MUCH more berable

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your associates. Thant is what makes this company stand out!

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – VP HR Field

    We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your working experience in our positive and supportive retail working environment. Thank you for sharing your feedback here!

  3. "Visual Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Having the freedom to be creative

    Cons

    Wish they had more advancment opportunities for the position

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 13, 2017 – VP HR Field

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are happy you are enjoying your employment experience!


  4. "2 years with R&F as a Store Manager in Brooklyn NY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing company with incredible associates throughout. Some people HAVE TO get up and go to work everyday while we GET TO get up and come to a great place to work everyday.

    Cons

    Can not think of any. Communication is excellent as is the "any leader, any time" open door policy. A great place to come to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. We enjoy the support that you give us.

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – VP HR Field

    Nothing beats getting up and WANTING to come to work each day! That is the environment we strive to create in all locations. Thank you for your contributions to that environment.


  5. "Challenging but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hfc in Brookfield, CT
    Current Employee - Hfc in Brookfield, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Weekly pay for all employees
    Decent medical benefits
    Employee purchase/discounts
    Ability to make a six figure income.
    Growth opportunity

    Cons

    Required to work every holiday minus Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas.
    Required to work every weekend.
    Dress code is out dated

    Advice to Management

    My review is honest and I am not here to to picture a bad company. These negatives are pretty normal in a true retail environment like ours. We know this getting hired. It would just be nice to be able to have the choice when it comes to having 1 Saturday and 1 Sunday off a month. My leadership staff is great and like others are under pressure to hit certain targets set by under management. Instead of writing sales reps up for not hitting goals actually work with them and coach them to be successful. Doing the “coaching write up” is not going to make someone better. We fail because you the leader failed us.


  6. "Proud associate and leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, work-life balance, results oriented and flexibility to contribute at a high level.

    Cons

    There are several legacy practices in place and tenured associates who need to be held more accountable. These individuals often negatively impact new hires and cause high turnover among more contemporary, motivated individuals.

    Advice to Management

    Hold all associates accountable to the highest standard and be more relentless in recognizing the need to earn each customer.

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – VP HR Field

    Thank you for your feedback and suggestions for improvements!


  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Syracuse, NY
    Current Employee - Manager in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Raymour preaches and lives a strong set of core values, that center around the employee and the company culture. They understand that creating engaging environments to help associates reach their career goals, will ultimately create the environment that customers will want to shop in, and refer others to shop in, for all of their home furnishing needs.

    Cons

    This is a fast paced environment where everyone on the team need to constantly push to grow, and beat prior successes. If you are looking for a place to come to work, not contribute, and skate by... this is not the place.

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 10, 2017 – VP HR Field

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience!

  8. "NDC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NDC Employee in Liverpool, NY
    Current Employee - NDC Employee in Liverpool, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Flexible Schedule (at management's discretion)

    Cons

    For a company as large as Raymour & Flanigan, it's surprising how unorganized and chaotic things are day-to-day. One would think there would be a stable, efficient process at this point in the company's stint, but that is far from reality.

    Business casual, sometimes formal, just to look nice for the bosses and owners - all for sitting at a computer away from the customer. It's like a game of house where management are the parents and lower-level subordinates are their children.

    - 30 min lunches
    - No room for advancement (if you do advance, you're on the chopping block)
    - Low pay
    - All work, no play
    - Very old-fashioned

    Advice to Management

    The Glassdoor rating speaks for itself (3.6 at the moment). Instead of attempting to falsely adjust the company rating on this website, adjust your business strategy, ideals, and philosophies and that might reflect in a better rating.


  9. "Best Kept Secret in Syracuse!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Liverpool, NY
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Liverpool, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Successful Business: 60+ year old business and 4th in Nation for Furniture
    -Private Business: Owners are very involved in the business and make the right decisions/adjustments as appropriate for the business quickly!
    -Full Benefits Package
    -Lots of opportunity for advancement for those willing to work hard and apply themselves!
    -Leader Development Institute

    Cons

    -Sales day can be a bit long at 9 hours
    -Only 30 minute lunch breaks

    Advice to Management

    Continue living the mission statement, "Treat our people well and they will treat our customers well." This is the heart of the business, from whence our ultimate successes come.

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – VP HR Field

    We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your experience at Raymour & Flanigan, thank you for sharing it! We are proud of our competitive compensation and benefits packages as well as our... More


  10. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raymour & Flanigan full-time

    Pros

    Great company culture and team atmosphere; opportunities for advancement and career growth; good people; sold compensation potential

    Cons

    Not many cons to working here; retail environment

    Raymour & Flanigan Response

    Nov 3, 2017 – VP HR Field

    We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your working experience with us!Thank you for sharing your feedback.


Showing 376 of 377 reviews
Reset Filters