Raytheon Applied Signal Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Raytheon Applied Signal Technology Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Raytheon Applied Signal Technology CEO Thomas A. Kennedy
Thomas A. Kennedy
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "AST survived because our customers liked dealing with really smart people at a small, effective, reactive company(in 4 reviews)

  • "Acts like a big company with many people trying to prove the need for their extra role(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and great people

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2018-09-19
  2. "Great place to work, great place to learn, great folks to associate with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent people, interesting programs, always tons to learn. Almost never a dull day!

    Cons

    Management often unwilling or unable to stand up to customers' unfair demands.

    Advice to Management

    Cultivate better relationships with customers.

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2019-07-11
  3. "This is the worst place to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None. The pay checked do not bounce.

    Cons

    slave to incompetent PMs

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2019-08-08
  4. "Solid Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting and meaningful work Great work-life balance Good pay

    Cons

    Limited ability to move up Difficult to retain young talent

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2019-05-02
  5. "not real Raytheon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    none that I can think of

    Cons

    everything about this company is bad

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2019-04-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Raytheon Perks/Poor Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Industrial Security Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for Raytheon AST you get all the same perks as most of main Raytheon. Decent medical (with HSA contribution), dental, vision package. Tiered matching 401K. 9/80 schedule with mod time. Paid year-end shutdown. and Last but not least an annual profit sharing program.

    Cons

    The only real con is that Raytheon AST has poor leadership at multiple levels for both security and engineering, which results in poor decision making that often make the job harder than it needs to be. Additionally, the culture of old AST tends to bash with Raytheon processes and tends to want to do things the old way....which is often wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Make better long term decisions and support your people...do not through them under the bus to try and make yourself look good.

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2018-08-30
  7. "Good subsidiary of Raytheon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time

    Pros

    Team members are well trained, and all care for each other and for the customer. They really try to take care of the staff.

    Cons

    As a wholly owned subsidiary, in locations where they are a minority you can feel left out of the overall environment. Mobility can be restricted between AST and other Raytheon divisions.

    Advice to Management

    Do away with the wholly owned subsidiary relationship and merge AST into the one of the larger LOBs.

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2018-07-09
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Upon further review, Raytheon is worse than I had initially thought"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you're lazy and crusty (set in your ways), this is the place for you. If you enjoy partaking in mass fraud against the US Government via a strong culture of mass timecard violations (among other things), this place is for you. If you're a MAGA boy and support a white supremacist President, this place is definitely for you!

    Cons

    I previously gave Raytheon 2 stars. I'd like to reduce it to 0 stars, but alas 1 star is the lowest rating I can give. Some people at the company went on a full-blown rampage looking for who wrote my review... but I purposely obfuscated it so they couldn't pin it on me. Unfortunately, they did harass the crap out of a few other people because that's the culture of Raytheon. The company as a whole is old fashioned... (ranging from "aw shucks we're doing great work" to blatant white supremacist racism/sexism/etc.). It's slow. It wastes so much taxpayer money that it will sicken you as a taxpayer. The work they do is often inherently crooked/immoral. There is no career advancement unless you're a white male or a token. Their raises, bonus and benefits are trash. I don't even know where to go with criticisms, there are so many. This is just a taste.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to remember that you're in California, not the Deep South. All the racist, sexist, homophobic. etc., comments and jokes are NOT welcome. Focus on real issues.

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2018-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Raytheon AST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its a great work environment.

    Cons

    The engineers are rude and direspectfaul

    Advice to Management

    Have a talk with the engineers and have them learn how to be respectful and professional.

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2017-12-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon Applied Signal Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the smartest engineers around. Challenging projects, good coworkers.

    Cons

    The building is too small for the number of employees.

    Raytheon Applied Signal Technology2017-12-01
Found 58 reviews