Raytheon BBN Technologies Intern - Hourly Reviews | Glassdoor

Raytheon BBN Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Raytheon BBN Technologies CEO Ed Campbell (no image)
Ed Campbell
38 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits , networking, great people very inspiring

    Cons

    can be extremely competitive, and the commute on 128 is brutal

    Continue reading
    Raytheon BBN Technologies2019-08-27
  2. "Working at a defense contractor in one of its smaller offices."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    The people were top notch! Not only were my colleagues welcoming and friendly, they were also some of the most knowledgeable engineers in their field. I had the opportunity to learn a lot and grow in my role and also branch out into other roles and skill sets. I joined on as a co-op with very little experience and I feel like the pay was better than the average student co-op in my area.

    Cons

    At times it felt as if our project wasn’t managed very well. Because we were a small office in another city, we rarely got the direction our office needed from the home office. The small, remote office made it feel isolated from the cultural of Raytheon BBN as a whole. Once our project came to an end, our office was closed.

    Continue reading
    Raytheon BBN Technologies2019-09-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good place to work for, flexible, learning a lot in short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Now that the transition pains of having been acquired by Raytheon are mostly over, working at BBN has stabilized and is back to being an interesting place to work for.

    Cons

    The company somewhat struggles to find new business, partially a result of the changed competitive landscape.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2019-03-11
  5. "Asked to do more with less."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    Free parking Cambridge ma. Free onsite gym with classes.

    Cons

    Lack of support with computers, printers and administrative tasks. You are asked to do more tasks with less support.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2019-02-20
  6. "Interesting Work and Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    * Challenging work on interesting problems. Almost all the work is on government-funded research grants, feels very much like academia but with a salary. * Amazing people. I learn something new every day I come to work and everyone is nice. * Great work/life balance. I can be as flexible with my schedule as I want and no one is expecting me to work more than 40 hours a week. * I used to think I wouldn't like having the government as a customer, but honestly in this day and age I would rather help the government stop Russian election meddling than help some internet behemoth make more money through better targeted ads.

    Cons

    * Parent company bureaucracy is Kafkaesque, but thankfully everyone except upper management is largely shielded from it.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-12-13
  7. "It's a coin operated company, sponsor pays and work gets done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Still some good employees left. People still have offices instead of cubicles.

    Cons

    Push toward lower cost employees, senior staff seen as a burden.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-10-26
  8. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and competitive salary

    Cons

    Independent work environment and they have a high expectations

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-06-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Light at the end of the tunnel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They are doing incredibly interesting stuff, and you get exposed to a lot of different areas of your field of work. There's probably few places that enable you to learn as much as BBN.

    Cons

    There's no question BBN has been struggling to retain its old "feeling", and frankly that will not return. However, slowly there is a new type of BBN emerging that is both at peace with its mother company, but still a place that works on cutting edge RD. I would personally say that we're at the end of the trough and it's slowly but steadily going uphill.

    Continue reading
    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-04-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "This company is in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Smart people and interesting projects

    Cons

    Burdensome management hierarchy with a lack of understanding of on-the-ground business needs

    Continue reading
    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-04-22
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Buyer beware..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and a lot of smart people.

    Cons

    Poorly managed which allows problem personalities to become even more of a problem.

    Continue reading
    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-02-23
Found 107 reviews