Raytheon BBN Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Raytheon BBN Technologies Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Raytheon BBN Technologies President Ed Campbell (no image)
Ed Campbell
37 Ratings
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits , networking, great people very inspiring

    Cons

    can be extremely competitive, and the commute on 128 is brutal

    Advice to Management

    thank you. it was awesome

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2019-08-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting Work and Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    * Challenging work on interesting problems. Almost all the work is on government-funded research grants, feels very much like academia but with a salary. * Amazing people. I learn something new every day I come to work and everyone is nice. * Great work/life balance. I can be as flexible with my schedule as I want and no one is expecting me to work more than 40 hours a week. * I used to think I wouldn't like having the government as a customer, but honestly in this day and age I would rather help the government stop Russian election meddling than help some internet behemoth make more money through better targeted ads.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Parent company bureaucracy is Kafkaesque, but thankfully everyone except upper management is largely shielded from it.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2018-12-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing team, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very interesting problems, super friendly approachable colleagues, outdoor cafeteria, beautiful neighborhood to enjoy on a break, parental leave (3 months)

    Cons

    Clunky internal tools, recent cuts to benefits

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2017-03-26
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    Great people and innovative company

    Cons

    This was a long time ago but company was a bit beaurocratic. The pros outweighed the cons though, by a lot.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2017-01-03
  5. "Staff Scientist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    Great working environment and really challenging project.

    Cons

    Upper management is old school and has a particular promotion path that everyone needs to abide to.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-10-27
  6. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I actually left here years prior to 2011 but I didn't have that option. Loved the culture, ability to grow and learn, even the Cambridge commute was easy because it wasn't in the heart of Cambridge.

    Cons

    I can't even recall... overall, I enjoyed it there very much.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-06-10
  7. "management of systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Really enjoy the Great travel

    Cons

    I can not really think of Nothing

    Advice to Management

    There is no adice i can think of

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-04-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A long career of technical challenges and stimulating work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    BBN is a very diverse environment technically. I've worked here for 20 years in three different departments on a wide array of technologies, both commercial- and defense-related, including vibration-based machinery diagnostics, load measurement instrumentation for deep water oil platforms, speech recognition systems, and cyber security. When I got bored with one area there was always something else for me to jump into. The best part of BBN is the people. BBN is made up of hard-working, smart technologists, many with advanced degrees. The culture is great too. It's collegial, everyone gets their own office, the hours are flexible, the pay is competitive, and we are incentivized to bring in business. You can work on what you want as long as you can find a client for it. While there is a lot of "sink or swim," BBN does make an effort to train younger staff how to develop business. Upper management is also making a concerted effort to stay on the cutting edge of technology and recognizes that to do so we need to continue to hire the best and brightest.

    Show More

    Cons

    The defense budget cuts have hurt, but it seems like we've hit bottom and are in a recovery mode. We are a consulting firm so there is pressure on everyone Scientist and above to generate business. The good part of that is that you can work on what interests you as long as you can get a client to pay for it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep our identify separate from Raytheon. Do a better job marketing BBN so that we can continue to attract great people.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2014-04-18
  9. "Excellent, innovative, flexible, fun, challenging, satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Own offices, great work, challenging and interesting work assignments.

    Cons

    Pay is lower, but environment makes up for this!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work!

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2013-11-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The best company I have worked for yet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great pay for interns, as well as out of college students -Great benefits, even compared to other major companies (such as EMC) -Great 401k payment -Good workplace, very casual with a large focus on productivity -I see the CEO almost every day at lunch, call him by his first name, and usually have a 15 minute conversation with him whenever I am helping him with something. A very personable and charismatic man -The company strives to give EVERY employee an office. I had one even when I was an intern

    Show More

    Cons

    -Overbearing ownership company -Government shutdown and sequestration causing problems

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and keep true to BBN standards. We may be owned by Raytheon, but they are thinking of 70,000 users and not the individuals like you are.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2013-11-08
Found 108 reviews