Raytheon BBN Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Raytheon BBN Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Raytheon BBN Technologies CEO Ed Campbell (no image)
Ed Campbell
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "great technologies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    Great exposure to evolving technologies; smart people; pleasant but nerdy work environment.

    Cons

    The work force was heavy on MIT grads - and they are most male - few women - and nerd factor is high.

    Advice to Management

    Recruit from a large number of different educational backgrounds and make an effort to diversify the work force.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-05-29
  2. "Amazing Work/Life Balance -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Your own office Christmas to New Years Shutdown Unlimited Sick days

    Cons

    If you are non technical, you aren't as valued Benefits are going down the toilet Cafeteria isn't amazing and the prices are too high

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-06-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "IT Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people! Flexible work environment, and ability to work from home.

    Cons

    Research dollars are tougher to come by today.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-04-28
  4. "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Worked here for about three years. Surrounded by smart people you will learn allot. Would absolutely recommend as a great place to work.

    Cons

    It was expected that you work long hours to get the job done. The only con may have been an occasional lack of work life balance. Honestly, that will be the case anywhere where you are even slightly challenged.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the hiring standards high. When you have good talent employed at a company it tends to attract more good talent.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-04-21
  5. "management of systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Really enjoy the Great travel

    Cons

    I can not really think of Nothing

    Advice to Management

    There is no adice i can think of

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-04-13
  6. "Very smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    They attract and hire very good people. They understand the value of work-life balance.

    Cons

    Some rough times integrating with parent company, but they will get through it.

    Advice to Management

    Parent company does not fully understand BBN's competitive environment, prefering a one size fits all approach to benefits.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-04-02
  7. Helpful (3)

    "End of an Era (or Error?)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best reasons are the retirement benefits and working with smart people

    Cons

    Every year more benefits are being taken away and replaced (maybe) with Raytheon's inferior benefits. When BBN was bought by Raytheon, the management made it sound as if both companies could learn from each other. Though as far as I can tell, nobody at Raytheon was listening or cares. It's more about following policy and fitting the mold than being innovative. The long term Raytheon folks seem more afraid to... making mistakes and have to push every decision up several levels of management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let BBN run as a Raytheon company (subsidiary), work with them, not against them. Or say goodbye to the history and talent you spent so much money to acquire.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-04-02
  8. "Excellent company that is now becoming just another part of Raytheon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    BBN treated employees very well. There was wide latitude allowed in how you performed your job, as long as completed it satisfactorily. Benefits were very good

    Cons

    Could be disorganized, and departments were run as separate fiefdoms

    Advice to Management

    Avoid implementing Raytheon rules as long as possible.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-03-21
  9. "Great for technical employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Raytheon BBN Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, relaxed environment.

    Cons

    Disorganized, unwillingness to change, lack of business minded individuals, limited growth for G&A employees

    Advice to Management

    Take ownership of Raytheon acquisition and help ease the process.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-02-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Too many management changes and issues."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Raytheon BBN Technologies

    Pros

    If you're lucky to have a good manager/supervisor, you can work on some really interesting projects and feel like you're contributing to something important.

    Cons

    Management often doesn't have a very good sense of how best to use their employees. I got tired of sitting on a back burner, being told that they didn't know what to do with me. I had no opportunity for personal or career growth. Due to the constant changes within the company, people just kept getting shuffled around, just to make ends meet.

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be some serious training on how to improve management skills, and to try to maintain some better consistency within the company.

    Raytheon BBN Technologies2015-02-23
Found 107 reviews