Razer Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Razer Co-Founder & CEO Min-Liang Tan (no image)
Min-Liang Tan
123 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "If you are competitive and driven this is the place for you"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Razer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Salary, ability to be creative and freedom to operate once you’ve built trust within the organization.

    Cons

    Big expectations and super fast moving company. Not a con for me but could be for others. Don’t come here expecting a “mellow” job. This place is for winners not mediocre people just looking to pay the bills.

    Continue reading
    Razer2020-05-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good performers vs. poor performrs"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Razer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Razer for close to three years now and I can tell you that it is a company exactly like other companies that I worked before. Has goods and bads. You do your work – you get noticed, you get rewarded. You don’t perform – you are exited. Plain and simple. All companies operate like that. Not just Razer. Yes – it’s AWESOME to work at Razer – you get free lunches, a full pantry, get to play video games during work hours, you get Happy Hours, Yoga classes on site, good benefits, etc. And guess what? It’s HARD to work at Razer! Why? Because you need to work, be productive and proactive, show you are committed. Show you are worth your pay. Do that - and you are all set. I am not paid for this review. And I approve this message!

    Cons

    It is nice to have an open space floor plan however sometimes is difficult to have private conversations. Some employees are quite loud on the phone and disruptive. Need more conference rooms and offices.

    Continue reading
    Razer2020-05-05
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Read the Kotaku’s article on Razer’s culture before considering a career of obstacles."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Razer

    Pros

    Free lunches. Decent pay and benefits. A desirable brand that consumers want.

    Cons

    A management team that’s ineffective and antiquated. Mostly people in positions they are clearly not qualified for, and have no idea on the industry as a whole. As long as there’s someone to throw under the bus, they’re untouchable. Overall it’s culture issue, the company is a young public company but it’ll take many years to become a established Fortune 500 company at the current rate and outlook.

    Continue reading
    Razer2020-03-14
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Looks pretty from the outside, ugly on the inside"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Razer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The catered lunches were nice, and the benefits were decent. I got paid well.

    Cons

    If you are US employee, expect the company to not care about you at all. The culture is very anti-American. If you are a Singapore or China employee, then enjoy a culture of fear and harassment. Just to give you an idea of what it is like working at Razer, Min had a global team meeting that included the "suggestion" that all employees are expected to work "996" (9am - 9pm, 6 days a week). Min doesn't want employees, he wants slaves. The rest of the management is terrible, as well. People are in positions they are clearly not qualified for, and are constantly allowed to fail, as long as there are "pawns" under them to sacrifice.

    Continue reading
    Razer2020-01-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Before considering an offer for a senior role, be sure to read the expose published by Kotaku on the culture."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Marketing 

    I have been working at Razer full-time

    Pros

    You can play games at work.

    Cons

    Irrational management in terms of what's required to meet sales and financal goals. Unprofessional and combative mid-level staff.

    Continue reading
    Razer2020-01-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Startup culture and videgogame focus"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Razer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced and a lot to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes not too much patience

    Razer2019-11-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Work here if you want to game all the time!"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer 

    I worked at Razer full-time

    Pros

    Ability to play computer games in the office during work hours.

    Cons

    Engineering staff spends much of the work day gaming. So getting things done is slower.

    Razer2019-09-04
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Cheap, Unorganized and Low-Balling Company to Work For"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Razer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work in the general vicinity of the gaming industry, I guess?

    Cons

    - Unorganized and unprofessionally run - Company is stingy in terms of raises, bonuses, reimbursements, company celebrations and other financial-related matters. - The CEO promises things publicly that haven't even been mentioned internally, then forces company to scramble to make it happen. - Certain high-level managers don't look out for the well-being of their subordinates on an emotional, financial or persona level. - Company is slow to hire and quick to fire - Company didn't even fire someone that was reported for sexually harassed a female employee - Company is based in Singapore so all other global offices follow their lead, resulting in 2AM meetings, long-distance bureaucracy and being heavily forced to fly places for in-person meetings despite us living in 21st century. - Company gives out swag all the time to internal employees yet doesn't offer any reasonable discount on Razer products (10% at most).

    Continue reading
    Razer2019-06-19
  9. "Creating the future step by step"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Razer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Razer is one of the best companies I have worked for. The dynamics within functions, the brand in the industry and the pride the employees have working here is something out of this world. I totally enjoy it.

    Cons

    Not everything is in place as other Fortune companies, but it is getting there.

    Continue reading
    Razer2019-05-18
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Meh"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Carlsbad, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Razer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meh it was meh to the max

    Cons

    It paid the bills I guess

    Razer2019-06-11
Found 184 reviews