ReachLocal Reviews | Glassdoor

ReachLocal Reviews

Updated June 23, 2017
600 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

600 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Right from celebrating festivals to making sure there is work-life balance this company takes care of every employee (in 39 reviews)

  • Open work environment encourages team building (in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • Responsibility to maintain total book of business (in 18 reviews)

  • Senior management were bullies, the only focus was on sales people within the business (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (11)

    "You can do better, I promise."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SEO in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - SEO in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ReachLocal (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone I worked with was fun, and I believe the atmosphere was slightly more relaxed than most other companies of its size. The healthcare benefits were great and cost next to nothing. There are some good managers at the company in some departments, but they are very limited in how they can influence and mentor you, because directors always have the upper hand (pro/con).

    Cons

    The pay is TERRIBLE. I'm working at another company in a comparable position, and I'm making significantly more money. There is room for advancement, but it's incredibly difficult. Once you're on a specific "team," they want to keep you in that role regardless of whether you've grown out of the position. Everything is task based, so the work is tedious and not very stimulating. ReachLocal likes to hire people at the lowest acceptable salary and pile on clients and work until it's unbearable.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with your employees, pay them an appropriate amount, let them grow in their position and be promoted, stop giving so much control to out-of-touch executive leadership

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We’re glad to hear you enjoyed aspects of your time at ReachLocal. We take all feedback into consideration and will pass this along to the appropriate channels so that we can continue to improve our ... More


  2. Helpful (5)

    "Brilliant whilst it lasted...!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Woodland Hills, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ReachLocal (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    No matter what happend to the company but the passions and determination was there with the culture.

    Cons

    Opportunity lacked for growing. No investment on employees.

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

  3. "Account Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Woodland Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ReachLocal (More than a year)

    Pros

    Time management flexibility
    Knowledge of the industry

    Cons

    Service infrastructure
    Some changes take awhile to implement

    Advice to Management

    Build and promote from within. Provide competitive salaries.

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback!


  4. Helpful (7)

    "Regional Operations Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Former Employee - Principal Manager in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ReachLocal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture at ReachLocal was great. The people there made a difficult job bewrable

    Cons

    No career growth or path, stretched far too thin and compensation doesn't equate with the work load. The company has gone through many changes making job security a fairytale


  5. "Great Group of People"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Presence Professional in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Web Presence Professional in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    -great co-workers
    -competitive but rewarding
    -flexible and great work/life balance
    -family friendly, good culture
    -challenging space but always updating products and practices

    Cons

    -transitional company at the moment
    -publicly traded
    -technology has issues but they're working to resolve
    -reputation of certain markets can affect other markets

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the technology and making sure the core of the company is stable.

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We appreciate your feedback. Providing a great atmosphere for our employees is one of our top priorities, and we’re also really proud of third-party recognition of our technology, products and client ... More


  6. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be great. Going downhill."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Work hours are flexible, great medical benefits, fun and relaxed environment, casual dress code, great co-workers, good work-life balance, decent pay, training is top notch (at least it used to be).

    Cons

    No match on 401K. Disorganized, lack of communication between departments and from top down. Inconsistent direction from leadership. Company's financials do not look good. Their main goal right now is to be profitable, don't count on being a valued employee or developing a career path here. This is just not their top priority right now.

    Advice to Management

    Improve on communication between departments and from top down. Own up to your management responsibilities and provide clear directions in leading your employees. There is too much inconsistency and everyone is being pulled in too many different directions. Middle management is just too green and does not appear to know how to lead.

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We take all feedback into consideration, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at ReachLocal. We wish you all the best in your endeavors!


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Digital Marketing Expert"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services - Internet Marketing Products in Plano, TX
    Current Employee - Client Services - Internet Marketing Products in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at ReachLocal full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great products and nice new location. All thought since moving in at the end of 2014 they have reduced their space by more than half.

    Cons

    Extremely high stress. Most employees are impacted physically due to immature and inexperienced managers and extreme client account loads. You are unable to service your clients successfully. Pay is way too low for the level of responsibility and the hours you have to put in to try to keep clients and managers happy. This company relies heavily on it's perceived relationship with Google and is well known for its poor business performance and quarterly layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Senior management is out of touch with the reality of it's "New" service division. Local Service managers need to stop CYA activities and take the time to understand the requirements of the job to support your employees and clients needs and provide the "phenomenal customer service" you say you want to achieve.

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 8, 2016 – Sr.VP, Global Services

    We strive to provide the best possible experience to all our clients. To accomplish this, we tune our service delivery models from time to time to meet the demands placed on us by our clients and the ... More

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Over Promise and Under Delivered"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IMC in New York, NY
    Former Employee - IMC in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at ReachLocal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Ability to grow and maintain your own book of business
    Flexible in-office hours if you are a cold calling star and know how to set appointments
    You choose your client base pipeline
    Decent commission *kickers* if you hit management's goals
    Good office culture - happy hours etc

    Cons

    They tell you you can make a lot of money once you grow your monthly book of business beyond specific targets but, it is incredibly difficult to achieve those goals in the SMB marketplace
    The customers are uneducated and you have to spend an inordinate amount of time teaching them about the value of advertising
    Ad spend is unpredictable - customers who can spend dont spend enough (bc RLOC takes a high percentage of the dollar allocated by the client)
    No transparency of margin
    Not enough support for end to end campaing managment - many different models have been implemented internally to try to solve this with little success
    HIGH turnover rates
    Very low base salary
    Don't value their front line - you're just another IMC that they make a lot of money off of for the majority ofyour time there
    Customers and Prospects are overwhelmed by competitive cold calling or walk-ins
    You have to learn to lie about value of RLOC's solution set if you want to get in the door to see a new prospect

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    At ReachLocal, we work hard to make sure all clients are aware of our business model. We are transparent with our clients by providing reporting that shows information beyond just clicks, but also ... More


  9. "IMC"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Consultant in Woodland Hills, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Consultant in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ReachLocal (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good People, good pay, fair benefits, good ideals.

    Cons

    Ethics, lack of knowledge, etc...


  10. Helpful (1)

    "AMAZING Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Presence Professional in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Web Presence Professional in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ReachLocal full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people you work with here quickly become like family. The environment is fun and relaxed but also a great culture for learning and career growth.

    Cons

    There doesn't seem to be a lot of communicating between departments, but the company is always growing so it can be tough to know everyone!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up.

    ReachLocal Response

    Apr 12, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We’re happy to hear this! Thanks for your feedback!


Showing 600 of 605 reviews
Reset Filters