Reading International Reviews | Glassdoor

Reading International Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Reading International Chairman and CEO James J. Cotter (no image)
James J. Cotter
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Reading International part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This was my first job and my favorite job! I stuck with this Job for 5 years and got promoted every year for my first two years. It's a fun work place and you get the benefit of seeing movies for free!

    Cons

    Very close work place, can get dramatic

    Reading International2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Whos really running the show....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Theatre General Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Reading International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Come to find out, none promises, promises...

    Cons

    Company trust fund kids running the show in turmoil....spills over

    Advice to Management

    None at this time

    Reading International2019-04-19
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Place to work Loved the People I Worked With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reading International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A very friendly atmosphere. Everyone worked together. They felt like family to me. I was very sorry to leave them. As a team we produced great ideas and great new theaters.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about the job. I wish I still worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Stay strong, Work together and continue the wonderful brand.

    Reading International2017-03-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reading International full-time

    Pros

    Easy, good location, good benefits, best health insurance, good for family

    Cons

    Unstable management that creates stress

    Advice to Management

    Please act like a public company and not a family owned company

    Reading International2017-01-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reading International

    Pros

    Life Insurance, Health Bnefits, and Free movies

    Cons

    Lack of communication between individual theaters and corporate.

    Advice to Management

    Act, don't react. Come up with more ways to be pro-active instead of just changing policies based on other theater corporations

    Reading International2016-11-16
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Reading International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My paycheck - really that's it!

    Cons

    No HR to follow California guidelines, high health rates, no bonuses, no structure, horrible management, everyone walks on egg shells, cut throat, no team work, back stabbing, yelling and screaming, extremely shady, sweep issues under the rug, no morale, and the list can go on and on.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the board, fire the CEO, make drastic morale change. I can't even give this company a rating.

    Reading International2015-06-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "bad pay, no respect. meet ok people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reading International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work with ok people on theatre level.

    Cons

    upper management is vague in expectations. rules always changing. no raises.

    Advice to Management

    give performance reviews and increase wages for upper management.

    Reading International2014-04-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Flexible for school but not for personal life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Projectionist in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reading International

    Pros

    Management tries to accommodate everyone's personal and work schedule. Free movies, popcorn, and fountain drinks. Discounts on most of the inventory. A good amount of down time when movies have been started. Projectionist get to preview new movies before customers get to see them. Promotional training is ready when requested. Celebrity interactions and sightings. Really great personalities to work with (family oriented to an extent).

    Show More

    Cons

    Not enough money invested into the entire theater. Customers complain about noises that floor staff or management can't fix (no sound proof doors to block out outside conversations or customer interactions at concession stand).. NO TIPS!!! (Its really not employee friendly at all to have a fully functional cafe with no tips but get paid $7.50/hr as a floor staff member). Under staffed on too many occasions (mostly because the pay is so low and it doesn't quite match the work and time put into the theater). NO PAID VACATIONS!!! (then again you're lucky if you get an unpaid vacation).

    Show More
    Reading International2011-12-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Everything is not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reading International

    Pros

    Free movie passes Fun environment with many big personalities The perks of working in the exciting world of film entertainment

    Cons

    No formal HR department Understaffed, the extra hours put in are not appreciated There is no formal training and no communication or feedback from upper-management

    Reading International2011-06-08
  11. Helpful (6)

    "Great on paper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reading International

    Pros

    The perks at this company are good. Free movies, free popcorn & soda, bring your friends free...meet the occasional celebrity. Not a bad job for a young professional.

    Cons

    The company is confused about objectives and who is in charge of what. Positions, goals and job titles are ambiguous at best. It is very difficult to get clarity on anything, because senior management ignores middle management. I always felt this was intentional. It seemed to me that nobody wanted to take responsibility for anything, but at the same time, lower level employees were told not to make a move without corporate approval. Employees were always in a "Catch 22" situation. If/when corporate responded to actions taken by theater level staff, it was always "Why did you do that?" or "Why didn't you do that?". This included a full spectrum from approval for sales at concession to permission to start a Facebook page. Employees felt frustrated, angry, ignored and powerless the entire time I was with the company. Ethical business practices were ridiculed and employees were humiliated for asking for higher compensation, clarification of expectations, work/life balance, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want your staff to operate professionally, treat them as professionals. Training, returning calls, and allowing some degree of autonomy would go a long way toward building good will.

    Reading International2011-02-04
Found 10 reviews