RealPage "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

RealPage Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 26 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
RealPage CEO Stephen T. Winn
Stephen T. Winn
276 Ratings
Pros
  • "The schedules are nice and they understand work life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "Great people - from the maintenance staff all the way to top management(in 44 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Overall pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RealPage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great team and upper management in my division. * Good compensation. * No micro-managing. * Moving to new campus next year! Finally under the same roof as the rest of the company. * Career advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    * Lack of communication from upper management. Employees want to be more involved in giving feedback and suggestions on changes made that effect them. It almost seems like a shroud of secrecy around upper management. * High Deductible only option for health insurance. I decided to go with it for the first time this year. Big mistake and now the other plan is no longer an option. We have used our HSA savings as soon as it is available each payday and have had a lot of out of pocket expenses that otherwise would have been covered by a co-pay. I would rather pay a higher rate and have lower out of pocket expense for medical needs. * Working from home is highly discouraged. * Sometimes workload gets overwhelming and the employee and clients suffer for it. * Rarely see upper management (VP and up) engage with their subordinates. It would be nice for them to get out and talk to the employees occasionally. * It is very obvious that Sr. Management works excessively long hours. It makes you almost not want to get promoted because there is no way they have time for life outside of Realpage.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2015-06-26

    RealPage Response

    June 29, 2015

    Thank you for your post. I have some good news for you. On communications and feedback, I trust you saw the recent video from our CEO Steve Winn talking about operational growth, business results and the new HQ. Expect to see this on a regular basis. I encourage you to get involved in the results and action plans that have been rolled out from the engagement survey. I have personally read every written comment and found many great ideas that will be surfaced up. My peers are reading them as well. We are considering another insurance option with a different deductible plan for new hires that came in during the 2015 year. Stay tuned. On the office front, almost everyone will have some dedicated space, albeit we will have smaller offices and more "huddle" rooms. I have a couple people who are trying out a concept of no office, but that will not be the norm. I'm glad you like your team, comp and location. Thanks again for your post. Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (16)

    "Don't Care About Their Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a cafeteria and gym on-site, which they of course charge you for, but it's convenient.

    Cons

    1) Company has tons of infighting. Employees from different departments choose to bicker and play the blame game rather than work together to forge solutions to real issues. 2) VERY dishonest upper management - they do not care about you at all. You are merely a number on a sheet of paper. I was with the company for a year and a half and was let go because the company decided to randomly cut positions in the middle of the year. Only two weeks prior the woman that let me go promised me that not only did I not have to worry about anything, but that if my position were ever to be eliminated they would find another spot for me within RealPage. 3) The bureaucracy here is ridiculous to the point it impedes simple progress. Suggestions for improvement have to go through 4-5 people sometimes to the point where you're just playing a game of telephone. 4) Opportunities for progress are few and far between and any career advancement would have to be done outside the company.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2019-09-26

    RealPage Response

    October 14, 2019

    Thank you for your post. Your advice is something we strive to accomplish and many teammates have found that here. I wish you had that experience. All the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Accounting Department is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fitness focused Great cafeteria

    Cons

    The new Chief Accounting Officer came in and really reduced everyone's morale. Hardly any work life balance and everything is manual. The CAO has her favorites and only values their opinion. Lot of senior management in finance, revenue management, and accounting has left. There is no diversity in the upper management. No focus on career growth and employees are not paid fairly. Better chances of getting paid higher if you leave and come back.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2019-04-15

    RealPage Response

    April 22, 2019

    Thank you for your post. We appreciate you pointing out some great facilities benefits, but your post is really about the accounting department culture. Your advice is very sound for any function and it will be shared with the Financial leadership team. It would not be accurate to say that there is no diversity in upper management in the Finance Department as 3/6 SVPs are women. Wishing you the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Horrible... just horrible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI Developer in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice facilities Free parking Nice cafeteria

    Cons

    Low salary Incompetent middle management Incompetent upper management - Good Ole Boy network Toxic culture Onboarding is a joke. You are set up to fail. Product is boring.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2018-11-16

    RealPage Response

    November 16, 2018

    Thank you for your post. We wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors. Your post will be forwarded to the UI team. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (14)

    ""The Orbs" - Engulfing your portrait in flames"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Publicly traded, stable and established company - Company is putting more emphasis on using open source technology/solutions moving forward - There are good folks here who want to see some of the cons I mention addressed

    Cons

    I was part of an acquisition 3 years ago that was using cutting-edge technology (e.g. Docker in production), had a culture that favored Trust and Influence over Control, and utilized Agile development practices to deliver regularly to our customers. Enter the Realpage world of tickets, approvals, wait times, quarterly releases, etc. It takes a long time to get things done here which ends up in everything being urgent. Cons - Company Processes - Quarterly releases are favored over shipping often - Engineers are required to send an email to a central system (called "The Orbs") each time we switch a task, feature or enhancement including a description and screenshot. This is displayed on TVs for upper management (and potentially others?) to see. If you miss too many updates, your card becomes engulfed in flames. This system has been in place for over a year so far. In what kind of world is this acceptable? - Company decisions are very top-down including the tooling developers use, processes in place, etc. - The company is quick to form new teams, but slow to empower them to achieve their objectives (e.g. - teams need a budget, IT resources, etc.). I've been on several teams that weren't ever empowered to achieve our goal, leading to a LOT of wasted time. - Pair programming, code reviews, automated testing and other modern coding standards are classified as "if I have time" and are not active objectives of the engineering division throughout the company. - The company avoids the cloud at all costs, spending millions on custom data centers and treats cloud providers as if they can't be trusted. As a result their practices are behind the times and adoption of new technology is extremely slow. As a result of several of these cons, about 75% of what I've worked on over the past 2-3 years was not utilized/never shipped. Cons - Compensation - Poor raise/promotion pay structure rewards new hires over staying for the long haul. I've heard managers literally tell their team they would get paid more if they left the company and came back (on 3 separate occasions, 3 separate managers). Me and my co-workers appreciate management's honesty in this area. - The 401k match for a given year is decided in the first quarter of the following year. So you lose a potential 1 year's earnings on any matched dollars. Over time, this could be a significant loss as you're delayed up to a year on being able to invest that money. In 2016 they matched "30% up to 6%" which is the equivalent of a 1.8% match. In 2017 the match was "32% up to 6%". You really never know what you're going to get. That can be good, but can be bad. I personally dislike the guessing game. - If you're fortunate enough to get stock options/rewards (I was) then the 401k is made up for with that... but otherwise you just miss out and aren't taken care of. - No parental leave, so if you plan on expanding your family, expect to use vacation time. - Vacation time isn't paid out when leaving, so it's really in your best interest (for your new job) to take a 2-3 week vacation and quit the day you get back than to provide a 2 week notice (effectively forfeiting any vacation you have). Unfortunately I learned this after putting in my notice. The company doesn't seem to think there are many issues. Even on some Glassdoor posts you can see Kurt (doing his job well, mind you) touting RP as one the Fortune Most Admired companies. The company survey appears to also get good feedback, though it's largely driven by very generic questions, understandably so. Perhaps a good solution would be to run a unique survey for different roles in the company (.e.g - Engineering, Customer Support, etc.) to pinpoint pockets of dissatisfaction. Using team leads (NOT managers) in those departments to help come up with the survey contents may be a good approach as well. Most devs I've encountered aren't excited to be here, but it pays the bills and they aren't unhappy enough to leave.

    RealPage2018-04-13

    RealPage Response

    April 18, 2018

    Thank you for your post as there is a lot to unpack here. I believe you were balanced in sharing your pros, especially that there are many folks at RealPage, who continually strive to make it a better work home.. You've made many suggestions here and a couple of them I/HR team is working on them. Up for consideration are Paternity LOA, adoption LOA and assistance, Improvement on Wellness credits, adding a lower deductible medical plan and potentially shortening the vesting on the 401k plan. So we are making a concerted effort to bring forward a broader/expanded set of benefits. As to the 401k match, yes we do match in the form of a lump sum and the good news is we have given more money and a greater % match now for 7+ years straight. On vacation, we front load an employee's balance of vacation at the beginning of the year. You could take all of your vacation for the year in the first month if you so choose. I would suggest that going on vacation and coming back to give no notice because it is better for you, really would not be in the spirited of making sure how you leave is as important as how you arrive. We are super flexible around vacation, and most people do not leave at the end of the year and do take vacation along the way. Many companies allocate vacation based on time worked in a year, we do not do that. On to compensation, I would not collaborate the comment, it would be beneficial to leave and come back and make more money. That is just not the norm. We do pay competitive wages. What we find when we buy companies such as the KY operation, that there is usually a request for more money and benefits than they had before under their former owners. In almost every case, we do offer greater benefits and in some cases equity, as you pointed on in your case. We do embrace the cloud as we have several of our business utilizing this as we speak. On to the survey, your ideas are interesting and we can cut the data by using cost centers or managers. We had great improvement in our engagement scores year over year and now are recording scores above Fortune Most Admired companies. As to the orbs, we are not having anyone's picture engulfed in flames. That I can assure you. The inputs are rolled up at the department level and are a gauge for overall project timeliness. Your post was thoughtful and written in a manner to seek improvement. I wish you nothing but the best in your future. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Not valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at RealPage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    gym on site cafeteria with healthy options on site employees

    Cons

    No culture Upper management has no consideration for employees

    RealPage2017-09-07

    RealPage Response

    September 29, 2017

    Thank you for your post. I agree with your Pros and thank you for mentioning them. Every company has a culture. I see that you have been with the company for over 5 years. That means you have a point of view and I would like to listen to it. Let me buy you lunch and lets see if we can come up with some ideas, solutions and insights into how you feel about working here. x4016. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Areas of Improvement Needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I genuinely enjoyed the team I worked with at RealPage. I made lifelong friends and they made coming to work easy. The new facility was beautiful and definitely offered a lot of amenities to the employees. Overall I really did enjoy my job.

    Cons

    I am blown away by the lack of decision making they give to their managers. The manager I reported to was never able to make a decision without having to report up. Why are they managers if they are not given the trust in order to make a decision? Lets talk about inconsistency. I understand its corporate America and things just change. That's how it goes. In the 2 years I worked for the company we had many different bosses. Of course management is always going to say "it is for the better" that the change was made but in reality when another change took place shortly after that.. I guess the change really wasn't for the better. There would be months where we really didn't even know who we ultimately reported up to. Towards the end of last year it was mentioned to me that I was up for promotion. Please keep in mind that for some crazy reason I had never asked for a promotion. However, they came to me with this idea. I was over the moon! This was great news! Unfortunately, when it came down to it and it was time for the promotions to be given I was told my promotion was denied and they did not know why because all of upper management agreed I deserved it. I was told it must have been denied by finance but that they had no way to know. Okay, lets come up with a game plan. What can we do now. So, they submitted a Change of Status. Fast forward a couple of months and I still had no update on where we stood with the COS because again, all upper management agreed I deserved this promotion. I then decide to see what other job opportunities are available for me outside of RealPage because with everything above taking place I also drove quite the distance. Once I found an opportunity closer to home I gave notice. WOW! Shocker.. all of a sudden they can now provide me with that raise and promotion. If I wasn't worth it then why am I all of a sudden worth it now? How can we all of a sudden make this happen? Why not fight for your employees before they are out the door? The worst part is I found out that RealPage ends your insurance on your last day of employment. I completely agree this should take place if the employee was terminated but that was not the case. This was very disappointing to learn. I made multiple attempts to reach out to RealPage Benefits via phone and never got a call back. They will email me back but won't put a name on the email or a number. They finally sent me over the Cobra information electronically, even though I was told it would be 5 business days after I left and we are now at 10, but they said my son is not eligible for Cobra because I was paying for Employee Only. Funny thing is, my son had insurance through RealPage the entire time so that is incorrect. Of course, I cant get anyone on the phone to help me out with this. I addition, no one tried to schedule an exit interview with me. I find that bizarre, so I tried to schedule one with my Director but that ended up being a no show on their end.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2017-05-19

    RealPage Response

    May 25, 2017

    Thank you for your post. I read you thoughts and certainly what you describe would be frustrating to anyone. It is not how we would like to or certainly in most cases do operate. You obviously had real potential otherwise they would not have countered like they did, albeit to late. Your Pro comments resonate to so many people who work here, and we do strive to live those values. I can tell you that Finance did not turn down your promotion, that is not how the process works. So lets do two things: I want you to personally reach out Stephanie Sanders X3443 and she will help you resolve any Cobra issues or call me direct at X4016. I always return every email or message that is left and usually that day, or call Esther and she will track me down X3558. Second, if you would like to return someday let me know and I will help you with that. I wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors, Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A lot of Wasted Talent due to Big Egos and Lack of Communication and Strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hollywood, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time

    Pros

    The perks were pretty good, pay was comparable if you joined the company at the right time. A lot of great employees at the individual contributor level. Fairly flexible work environment. A good resume builder given the amount of responsibility one can potentially be given.

    Cons

    My department was so top heavy with directors, VPs, SVPS, EVPS, all of whom put their ego before the good of the product, the good of the clients, and the good of their team members. Bandaids and short term fixes were put into place instead of taking a larger look at the product and overall strategy of the department. The product was horribly flawed and buggy but more and more add-ons were being put into place to hit revenue goals instead of taking a closer look the baseline product. Products and launches were often extremely premature causing a catch-up for all departments and consistently upset and disappointed clients. Communication was severally lacking between departments in the same division never mind throughout the company. So many shortsighted acquisitions and fore mentioned "fixes" left the overall atmosphere splintered and disjointed. Middle Managers and individual contributors had so many roles and responsibilities piled on with little to no training causing rampant disorganization and knowledge gaps. Roles were diminished or magnified at the whim upper management in thinly veined attempts to cover their own shortcomings and job performance insecurities. Uncertainty,lack of communication, and constant "restructuring" from top leadership caused an endless feeling of paranoia which only resulted in a low team morale and overall toxic work environment.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2015-09-27

    RealPage Response

    October 5, 2015

    Thank you for your post. Noting that your post comes in from Hollywood, Florida, that would suggest you were a part of the vacation business that we acquired and later merged into Kigo, the european acquisition. I appreciate your comments regarding the front line. On the flip side you are suggesting that many things are broken and I will bring this forward to the appropriate people including Jason Doyle who is now leading this division. I agree with your IQ and Emotional Intelligence comments. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Not sure where they are headed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Carrollton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great team of employees in middle management and in several departments. The Account Management, Product Support, Development and Level One are good examples of people working hard for the client.

    Cons

    Upper management is a revolving door. I was a Director and the management team between myself and Steve Winn changed over 100% twice in the last two years. This lead to no consistency and no clear vision except to save money.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2015-04-14

    RealPage Response

    May 28, 2015

    Thank you for your dedication of 8+ years working for RealPage and recognizing some top groups working with our customers. I could not agree more with your advice to Management. I have a sense of where you work and look forward to seeing the stability with top leaders that you desire. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Get it together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at RealPage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had potential to be a great company. Smart people to work with in its prime.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management and executive team. No vision for any future. Will completely implode from the inside out.

    Continue reading
    RealPage2015-03-14
Found 20 reviews