KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

RealPage

Is this your company?

RealPage

Add a Review

RealPage Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 1,361 reviews

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
RealPage CEO Stephen T. Winn
Stephen T. Winn
350 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance (even before Covid)(in 81 reviews)

  • "This isn't a hostile work environment but it is extremely busy tedious work(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management constantly shuffling which makes for changes in work very often and unpredictable(in 40 reviews)

  • "no work life balance, need to work under pressure(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of RealPage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overall pretty good

      Jun 25, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Carrollton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great team and upper management in my division. * Good compensation. * No micro-managing. * Moving to new campus next year! Finally under the same roof as the rest of the company. * Career advancement opportunities.

      Cons

      * Lack of communication from upper management. Employees want to be more involved in giving feedback and suggestions on changes made that effect them. It almost seems like a shroud of secrecy around upper management. * High Deductible only option for health insurance. I decided to go with it for the first time this year. Big mistake and now the other plan is no longer an option. We have used our HSA savings as soon as it is available each payday and have had a lot of out of pocket expenses that otherwise would have been covered by a co-pay. I would rather pay a higher rate and have lower out of pocket expense for medical needs. * Working from home is highly discouraged. * Sometimes workload gets overwhelming and the employee and clients suffer for it. * Rarely see upper management (VP and up) engage with their subordinates. It would be nice for them to get out and talk to the employees occasionally. * It is very obvious that Sr. Management works excessively long hours. It makes you almost not want to get promoted because there is no way they have time for life outside of Realpage.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. I have some good news for you. On communications and feedback, I trust you saw the recent video from our CEO Steve Winn talking about operational growth, business results and the new HQ. Expect to see this on a regular basis. I encourage you to get involved in the results and action plans that have been rolled out from the engagement survey. I have personally read every written comment and found many great ideas that will be surfaced up. My peers are reading them as well. We are considering another insurance option with a different deductible plan for new hires that came in during the 2015 year. Stay tuned. On the office front, almost everyone will have some dedicated space, albeit we will have smaller offices and more "huddle" rooms. I have a couple people who are trying out a concept of no office, but that will not be the norm. I'm glad you like your team, comp and location. Thanks again for your post. Kurt Twining

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't Care About Their Employees

      Sep 26, 2019 - Implementation Consultant in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a cafeteria and gym on-site, which they of course charge you for, but it's convenient.

      Cons

      1) Company has tons of infighting. Employees from different departments choose to bicker and play the blame game rather than work together to forge solutions to real issues. 2) VERY dishonest upper management - they do not care about you at all. You are merely a number on a sheet of paper. I was with the company for a year and a half and was let go because the company decided to randomly cut positions in the middle of the year. Only two weeks prior the woman that let me go promised me that not only did I not have to worry about anything, but that if my position were ever to be eliminated they would find another spot for me within RealPage. 3) The bureaucracy here is ridiculous to the point it impedes simple progress. Suggestions for improvement have to go through 4-5 people sometimes to the point where you're just playing a game of telephone. 4) Opportunities for progress are few and far between and any career advancement would have to be done outside the company.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. Your advice is something we strive to accomplish and many teammates have found that here. I wish you had that experience. All the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Ok job

      Feb 14, 2020 - Contact Center Representative in Greenville, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Time off, team Leads, co workers

      Cons

      Pay, upper management, bonus structure, ability to move within the company

      1 person found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for the post. We're glad you like your co-workers and team leads. It seems like its just a job for you, so lets open some doors and see where you might want to go...Call me direct and lets explore at 972-820-4016. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Accounting Department is a mess

      Apr 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fitness focused Great cafeteria

      Cons

      The new Chief Accounting Officer came in and really reduced everyone's morale. Hardly any work life balance and everything is manual. The CAO has her favorites and only values their opinion. Lot of senior management in finance, revenue management, and accounting has left. There is no diversity in the upper management. No focus on career growth and employees are not paid fairly. Better chances of getting paid higher if you leave and come back.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. We appreciate you pointing out some great facilities benefits, but your post is really about the accounting department culture. Your advice is very sound for any function and it will be shared with the Financial leadership team. It would not be accurate to say that there is no diversity in upper management in the Finance Department as 3/6 SVPs are women. Wishing you the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible... just horrible.

      Nov 16, 2018 - UI Developer in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice facilities Free parking Nice cafeteria

      Cons

      Low salary Incompetent middle management Incompetent upper management - Good Ole Boy network Toxic culture Onboarding is a joke. You are set up to fail. Product is boring.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. We wish you nothing but the best in your future endeavors. Your post will be forwarded to the UI team. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Get it together

      Mar 13, 2015 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Had potential to be a great company. Smart people to work with in its prime.

      Cons

      Horrible upper management and executive team. No vision for any future. Will completely implode from the inside out.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Under NO CIRCUMSTANCES should you consider working for RealPage San Francisco

      Sep 29, 2012 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -They are located a short and easy walk from BART and MUNI - There is a beautiful roof garden where you can eat lunch -There are a few very decent folks left there, but more are leaving every day

      Cons

      -Intelligence is seen as a personal flaw - I was personally told by a SVP not to inform anybody in Texas of some of my skills as it would be regarded as threatening -SF management are short sighted, non-responsive, misguided, and inept and yet somehow keep getting promoted. -People are laid off and marched out seemingly randomly and humiliatingly -People who have no business managing themselves, much less 20 people, are somehow in charge -Projects and meetings are routinely cancelled without notice or justification -Salaries are not competitive in any market, at any skill level -Benefits are marginal -Management is dishonest -It is questionable whether upper management understands the technology they are singlehandedly directing -Employees are at best, disgruntled, and at worst chronically depressed to be working there -Badmouthing management occurs 24/7 -Toxic work environment

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      TX Headquarters thinks SF is the ugly stepchild

      Sep 24, 2014 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There are some people in the office who are very nice. - Office space is newer and nice, very modern. - Somewhat flexible - Good location

      Cons

      This is mostly directed at management in TX since there is no hiring in SF anyways. - All upper management has left. This has left some groups being lead by managers who do not know what they are doing. - Teams are being set up to fail by not having enough people to support what is expected. - Moral is TERRIBLE. You are firing people without explaining and trying to tell people that you are not closing the SF office? Everyone in the office is talking and most do not feel as though they are being told the truth. - Pay is low - All the products are broken - NO growth potential. If you work hard do not expect to get noticed.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      "The Orbs" - Engulfing your portrait in flames

      Apr 13, 2018 - Principal Software Engineer in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Publicly traded, stable and established company - Company is putting more emphasis on using open source technology/solutions moving forward - There are good folks here who want to see some of the cons I mention addressed

      Cons

      I was part of an acquisition 3 years ago that was using cutting-edge technology (e.g. Docker in production), had a culture that favored Trust and Influence over Control, and utilized Agile development practices to deliver regularly to our customers. Enter the Realpage world of tickets, approvals, wait times, quarterly releases, etc. It takes a long time to get things done here which ends up in everything being urgent. Cons - Company Processes - Quarterly releases are favored over shipping often - Engineers are required to send an email to a central system (called "The Orbs") each time we switch a task, feature or enhancement including a description and screenshot. This is displayed on TVs for upper management (and potentially others?) to see. If you miss too many updates, your card becomes engulfed in flames. This system has been in place for over a year so far. In what kind of world is this acceptable? - Company decisions are very top-down including the tooling developers use, processes in place, etc. - The company is quick to form new teams, but slow to empower them to achieve their objectives (e.g. - teams need a budget, IT resources, etc.). I've been on several teams that weren't ever empowered to achieve our goal, leading to a LOT of wasted time. - Pair programming, code reviews, automated testing and other modern coding standards are classified as "if I have time" and are not active objectives of the engineering division throughout the company. - The company avoids the cloud at all costs, spending millions on custom data centers and treats cloud providers as if they can't be trusted. As a result their practices are behind the times and adoption of new technology is extremely slow. As a result of several of these cons, about 75% of what I've worked on over the past 2-3 years was not utilized/never shipped. Cons - Compensation - Poor raise/promotion pay structure rewards new hires over staying for the long haul. I've heard managers literally tell their team they would get paid more if they left the company and came back (on 3 separate occasions, 3 separate managers). Me and my co-workers appreciate management's honesty in this area. - The 401k match for a given year is decided in the first quarter of the following year. So you lose a potential 1 year's earnings on any matched dollars. Over time, this could be a significant loss as you're delayed up to a year on being able to invest that money. In 2016 they matched "30% up to 6%" which is the equivalent of a 1.8% match. In 2017 the match was "32% up to 6%". You really never know what you're going to get. That can be good, but can be bad. I personally dislike the guessing game. - If you're fortunate enough to get stock options/rewards (I was) then the 401k is made up for with that... but otherwise you just miss out and aren't taken care of. - No parental leave, so if you plan on expanding your family, expect to use vacation time. - Vacation time isn't paid out when leaving, so it's really in your best interest (for your new job) to take a 2-3 week vacation and quit the day you get back than to provide a 2 week notice (effectively forfeiting any vacation you have). Unfortunately I learned this after putting in my notice. The company doesn't seem to think there are many issues. Even on some Glassdoor posts you can see Kurt (doing his job well, mind you) touting RP as one the Fortune Most Admired companies. The company survey appears to also get good feedback, though it's largely driven by very generic questions, understandably so. Perhaps a good solution would be to run a unique survey for different roles in the company (.e.g - Engineering, Customer Support, etc.) to pinpoint pockets of dissatisfaction. Using team leads (NOT managers) in those departments to help come up with the survey contents may be a good approach as well. Most devs I've encountered aren't excited to be here, but it pays the bills and they aren't unhappy enough to leave.

      14 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post as there is a lot to unpack here. I believe you were balanced in sharing your pros, especially that there are many folks at RealPage, who continually strive to make it a better work home.. You've made many suggestions here and a couple of them I/HR team is working on them. Up for consideration are Paternity LOA, adoption LOA and assistance, Improvement on Wellness credits, adding a lower deductible medical plan and potentially shortening the vesting on the 401k plan. So we are making a concerted effort to bring forward a broader/expanded set of benefits. As to the 401k match, yes we do match in the form of a lump sum and the good news is we have given more money and a greater % match now for 7+ years straight. On vacation, we front load an employee's balance of vacation at the beginning of the year. You could take all of your vacation for the year in the first month if you so choose. I would suggest that going on vacation and coming back to give no notice because it is better for you, really would not be in the spirited of making sure how you leave is as important as how you arrive. We are super flexible around vacation, and most people do not leave at the end of the year and do take vacation along the way. Many companies allocate vacation based on time worked in a year, we do not do that. On to compensation, I would not collaborate the comment, it would be beneficial to leave and come back and make more money. That is just not the norm. We do pay competitive wages. What we find when we buy companies such as the KY operation, that there is usually a request for more money and benefits than they had before under their former owners. In almost every case, we do offer greater benefits and in some cases equity, as you pointed on in your case. We do embrace the cloud as we have several of our business utilizing this as we speak. On to the survey, your ideas are interesting and we can cut the data by using cost centers or managers. We had great improvement in our engagement scores year over year and now are recording scores above Fortune Most Admired companies. As to the orbs, we are not having anyone's picture engulfed in flames. That I can assure you. The inputs are rolled up at the department level and are a gauge for overall project timeliness. Your post was thoughtful and written in a manner to seek improvement. I wish you nothing but the best in your future. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Not sure where they are headed

      Apr 13, 2015 - Director in Carrollton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team of employees in middle management and in several departments. The Account Management, Product Support, Development and Level One are good examples of people working hard for the client.

      Cons

      Upper management is a revolving door. I was a Director and the management team between myself and Steve Winn changed over 100% twice in the last two years. This lead to no consistency and no clear vision except to save money.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your dedication of 8+ years working for RealPage and recognizing some top groups working with our customers. I could not agree more with your advice to Management. I have a sense of where you work and look forward to seeing the stability with top leaders that you desire. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Popular Careers with RealPage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at RealPage? Share Your Experiences

    or