KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

RealPage

Is this your company?

RealPage

Add a Review

RealPage Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 of over 1,367 reviews

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
RealPage CEO Stephen T. Winn
Stephen T. Winn
352 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance (even before Covid)(in 81 reviews)

  • "This isn't a hostile work environment but it is extremely busy tedious work(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management constantly shuffling which makes for changes in work very often and unpredictable(in 40 reviews)

  • "no work life balance, need to work under pressure(in 37 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of RealPage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Feb 18, 2019 - Sales Representative in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Laid back atmosphere Great benefits Good management and training

      Cons

      In sales it can be hard to have work/life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for the post.....Sales can be tough at first. Having said that there seems to be a breakout point where those who really give it their all start to learn how to make it work and make it work very well. Spend some time with Scott and Brandon. I also know that the sales team really wants everyone to exceed so they will go out of their way to help each other.....Its a great group and I wish you great success

    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad place to work, but internal promotions are weak

      Mar 23, 2020 - Client Success Manager in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      RealPage is huge and I can't speak for other divisions within the organization. I do feel lucky to have a boss that is easy to work with and very understanding. They have a gym onsite with trainers which i'm very appreciative of, and there is a good work life balance for the most part.

      Cons

      They push products before they are ready, and it's not the most organized company when it comes to their plans with products once they own them. For a SAAS company, there is alot that isn't automated which puts a heavy load of admin work on your plate. Pay isn't very competitive when moving positions internally. You have a lot more negotiation wiggle room when coming from outside the organization. They have no issue with low balling you. I've known people to move internally and get a significant raise, but it has to go through multiple approval processes and takes time, and you have to stand your ground.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post....Please give me a call and lets review your pay against the market and explore your ideas on automation. Plus I will lay out the roadmap of where we are going on data engineers. X4016 Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      May 22, 2020 - In the Financial Department in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work/Life Balance , Understanding of Family Needs

      Cons

      Sometimes processes are not as concrete as they need to be.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post and many years of service. Wishing you nothing but happiness in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Run Away - Fast

      May 15, 2020 - Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Company Cafeteria 2 )The company is a roll-up play similar to Infor or CA, only for the rental housing industry. Not a pro necessarily - just the way it operates.

      Cons

      So many, where to begin? Highly toxic company culture is first and foremost. Sales processes / methodology / demo methodology is still stuck in the 1990's. Product sale (Feature/Function) centric. If you come from a Tier 1 Software / Infrastructure background, you will not be happy here - too many meetings, too much politics to actually get any real, positive change made. If you come from sitting in a apartment leasing office or are an accountant at CBRE, you might like this - change from what you're used to. Be aware though - toxic culture. Other items to keep in mind: 1. Abusive management - verbally abusive, intimidating and regularly making sexually suggestive comments about direct/indirect reports. This happens at the SVP, VP, and Principal levels. . 2. Public dressing downs and verbal abuse of employees - SVP / VP levels executing this. 3. SVP / VP / Industry Principals openly talking about their own comp packages with other employees and non-employees. 4. When told of the above issues - SVP and VP level does very little to address the issues. Employee retaliation occurs. When told of this by a trusted confidant - the CHRO / SVP of HR does nothing. At all. 5. Forced Stack Ranking system of employees. If you don't know what it is - ask the people you interview with specifically. 6. CEO has a "sleeping room" behind his office, and will sleep overnight at the office. Strange. Other reviewers mention lack of work/life balance - it starts at the top, by sleeping at the office. 7.Open Office Floor plan - This was all the rage around 2010, but over time it's borne out that it's desctructive to employee morale and productivity. It looks "cool", and will "seem fun", but the novelty wears off. Extremely noisy environment, zero personal space. HR will say that it improves collaboration - strongly disagree. Look at the research that's been coming out for the past 5 years about the negative impacts of this sort of environment. Plus - in a Covid-19 world, do you REALLY want to be 4 feet from your co-workers?

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. Based on the theme of this post and the commentary you are suggesting that no one should work here, yet 7,300 do. I'm not going to say that what you may have experienced is not true. If it has happened that is unfortunate and you should bring your concerns directly to your manager or above or to Felicia Taylor your VP of HR so it can be addressed. If you have brought your concerns forward and they have not been addressed, then bring them directly to me as I can assure you, I do not ignore issues x4016 as indicated in point #4. Nor would you know what actions are taken as these matters are dealt with confidentially and not publicly. So for the record, let me go through them: There is no place for abusive behavior of any kind within in the workplace. In the fall of 2019, we took our engagement survey in which 91% of the population responded. The second highest score in the entire company with over a 90% favorable rating was . " I am treated with respect in the workplace" Our score is higher and more positive than the Fortune's Most Admired group in comparison. That doesn't mean that isolated issues can not surface, what it does say is what you are describing is not the norm at RealPage. I will be asking my VPs of HR for any and all behaviors that you are describing. Again, Katie and Felicia are not shy and are not afraid to surface issues in real time Second, if people in these roles wish to talk about their own compensation packages, that is not something most people would do, but this is a free speech country and they are allowed to do so. Is it professional, I would say it's not a normative behavior at all. Third, we do evaluate the level of contribution of our teammates into five quintiles so we can assure we clearly understand who the top performers are for rewards, who is ready for a promotion, who needs additional training to perform at a higher level, who needs additional experiences and yes who is not meeting performance standards, This is something very similar to 9 box which is very common at high performing companies, Fourth, the CEO does not have a sleeping room behind his office. Even if he did, why do you care? There is no one more dedicated to the long term vision and success of this company, If you had a chance to work with him for the many years that I have, you would truly appreciate how hard he works for the betterment of every employee. He is an iconic leader. Fifth, I get the fact that not everyone wants to work in an open environment. Some people love it some don't. What you are not communicating is the fact that we are coming back to work in three shifts which vastly improves social distancing and we have re-arranged many of the offices spaces to spread out the work force. Finally, If you're interested in meeting in person to discuss in greater detail my door is open. Lets work together in making your workplace experience more desirable and something you would want others to run to, Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible Leadership

      Mar 26, 2020 - Account Manager in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work-life balance is solid. Also, nice office space with on-site gym.

      Cons

      Politics politics politics....leadership is all over the place. Leaders care more about their individual power than the success of the company. You are scored on metrics that you have no control over.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. I'm glad that you have found work-life balance. If you are open to a phone call or a virtual lunch, I would like to understand in more detail about metrics you have no control over. That seems to be at odds with each other. 100% agreement on empower people to make decisions. You might be surprised to see all the innovation going on in multiple areas. Happy to go over it with you. Please give me a call aye x4016. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good to work

      Mar 9, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and work life balance

      Cons

      No clear career path planning

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. I see that you have moved on and hopefully you are doing well. Your con is being addressed with the revitalization of the tech ladder and a new incentive plan for technologist who hit timelines and build product with successful adoption. Again, all the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Overworked

      Feb 10, 2020 - Consultant in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to home and easy access.

      Cons

      Overworked, short staffed and no work life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. Being close to home is a plus, no work life balance is not a long term solution so lets work on that one...Please call x4016....100% agree with your comment on listening to our employees, In most cases that is not an issue. Sounds like you have an opportunity in front of you. Your outlook for RealPage is negative, but I can tell you the company has never been stronger going into a new year. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Native Mobile Developers AVOID

      Sep 16, 2019 - Mobile Developer in Richards, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People on a personal level were good people. Very low expectations from management. Work load extremely light. Good work life balance. Good pay. Clean work enviroment. Good onsite cafeteria. Benefits were fine.

      Cons

      Biggest issue for mobile developers is that mobile development is not a priority at RealPage and there is no future there for native mobile. There is only one native app, and it is a very broken product. I dont believe the business cares about it, their only goal is to keep it barely functioning so that customers dont start canceling their contracts. It has a terrible crash rate, many bugs, and from the top level there is no initiation to fix these problems. The culture of the company is such that the priorities are 1) politics and ladder climbing 2) protect your job 3) make something better only if it directly benefits you and your career. They toss around the word 'innovation' all the time and it's more a way to compensate for lack of it. They buy out their competitors who innovate and then those products become stagnant. Ultimately you will not grow your skill sets here, you won't grow your career either. Plus it's a large company and your just a number. They keep having record breaking profit and constantly laying people off. You get two measly weeks of vacation, and as I was told "We here at RealPage value your vacation and family time, so we encourage you to take vacation by not letting you roll it over or paying it out when you leave". People were good, but the culture was not. If you're self motivated and someone who likes to learn and grow and pride yourself in doing rewarding and quality work, this is not the place for you.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. I have shared your thoughts with Alok and William. Its clear that there was something missing in the environment for you and I respect that. I thought your comments were balanced and we sincerely wish you well in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Moving in the right direction

      Sep 9, 2019 - Business Analyst in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Gym, workout classes, outperformance team is amazing - Poke Bowl in the cafeteria - Work Life Balance

      Cons

      - Working with older technology - Innovates too slowly, political so people with old mindset are not let go but are able to stay just because they know people - Grew by acquisitions and mergers so very silo'd

      3 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your balanced review. Glad you have found some great things about health and work life balance. On the con side, we are working on a several things organizationally (org health reviews of structures, talent and alignment) that will allow you to see a future path forward in a positive light. Will you call me in a couple of months and tell me what you think. Respectfully x4016 Kurt Twining

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Accounting Department is a mess

      Apr 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Richardson, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fitness focused Great cafeteria

      Cons

      The new Chief Accounting Officer came in and really reduced everyone's morale. Hardly any work life balance and everything is manual. The CAO has her favorites and only values their opinion. Lot of senior management in finance, revenue management, and accounting has left. There is no diversity in the upper management. No focus on career growth and employees are not paid fairly. Better chances of getting paid higher if you leave and come back.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      RealPage Response

      Thank you for your post. We appreciate you pointing out some great facilities benefits, but your post is really about the accounting department culture. Your advice is very sound for any function and it will be shared with the Financial leadership team. It would not be accurate to say that there is no diversity in upper management in the Finance Department as 3/6 SVPs are women. Wishing you the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely, Kurt Twining

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 88 Reviews

    Popular Careers with RealPage Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at RealPage? Share Your Experiences

    or