Recipe Unlimited Corporation Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Recipe Unlimited Corporation Server Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
16%
Recommend to a Friend
Recipe Unlimited Corporation CEO Frank Hennessey (no image)
Frank Hennessey
0 Rating
  1. "Bartender/Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Recipe Unlimited Corporation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good tips, flexible scheduling and time off. Staff are mostly young college students so it was nice to work with people my own age.

    Cons

    fast staff turn over, depending on the management at the time staff can come and go really fast and its hard to get used to. But thats the restaurant business.

    Continue reading
    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2017-06-21
  2. "When profit is the bottom line employees are just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When it's good, it's good. You want to stay usually for your co-workers. It has the potential to make good money (if management knows how to work the floor- see cons). There's benefits if you're there for x amount of time, which I had and needed since I had an injury at work the previous year.

    Cons

    My experience drastically took a down turn in my last year of employment (worked there for 3 years). They made all these changes that made employees work more difficult (like taking away a computer and work station in a huge and high-volume location). Management restructuring has impacted the workings of the floor (poor sections cuts, poor cutting choices). What used to be simple manager jobs, they stopped doing (assigning and following up with employees on side duties) making it the work of the more senior staff's job to pick up the slack. No matter how many times issues like this was brought up by various staff, nothing changed. They stopped communicating with me for 3 weeks before firing me, not letting me work; firing me over a policy that doesn't exist - they couldn't produce a document that outlined this policy. And there are 6 people currently working at my location who, based on this "policy" that's not policy, shouldn't be allowed to work there. I was really good at my job and my sales were always within the tops of the workers, and most of the senior staff protested. Cara doesn't want to pay their management competitive wages so they've since upped tip-out to 5.5% with an additional 3% if you work a party that a new team member booked. They walk on the border-line of ethical work practices and taking advantage of their workers who don't want to lose their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2017-06-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Bartender in Scarborough, MB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible work hours Amazing employees good benefits

    Cons

    distance from home place constantly breaks down. ei. heat, AC, hot water..

    Continue reading
    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2017-01-23
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very organized environment, with a lot of support staff. Very large restaurant so it can be overwhelming at the start when meeting all of the other workers. Generally young servers.

    Cons

    Servers could be scheduled on the patio and during rainy season shifts are not guaranteed often.

    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2017-01-18
  5. "Alright job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tips when it is busy and fast paced environment where time flies when you are constantly moving. Great co-workers. Half discount on food during shift and 20 percent discount when eating at a sister restaurant.

    Cons

    Get cut half of the shifts your scheduled. It's like you're being on call. Managers are too worried for labour.

    Continue reading
    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2017-01-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Big company cutting too many corners!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Recipe Unlimited Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - They know where and how to position their restaurants - if you're working at a Cara chain restaurant you're probably busy most of the time and your sales will be pretty decent. You will make $$$ (but you will work harder for it than comparable restaurants). - They give you a company-wide Cara discount card for their other restaurants which is 20% off I believe? I've never actually used it.

    Cons

    The restaurant chain I work at in Toronto (The Landing Group) was bought by Cara a year or so before I started working for them and apparently as a result, the work environment has gone way downhill from what it used to be - personally I've only ever seen the bad. They don't want to pay hourly wage (which let's be real, is BELOW MINIMUM WAGE in a restaurant) to have ample support staff, which leads to servers being constantly overwhelmed, managers having to run food, etc. Yet servers still have to tip out 4.5% - I had the same tip out at restaurants where I had multiple bussers and foodrunners helping me out... So where is that tip-out going exactly? Customers who remember our restaurant before Cara bought it out have remarked to me that the food quality has gone down while the price has gone up... Constant secret shoppers testing servers on their "steps of service" - showing up when we're completely overrun and understaffed, leading to otherwise terrific serving and bart staff being let go for "failing a secret shop".... Changes/updates to items in our POS system take FOREVER because they have to be approved by Cara.

    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2016-10-21

    Recipe Unlimited Corporation Response

    November 9, 2016Recruiting Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback on your recent experience as an employee at the Landing Group. Maintaining a high level of service for our guests and a positive work environment for our employees is paramount for our restaurants. Our leadership team includes Steve Pelton (founder of the Landing Group), Jesse Topliffe, Tom Altosaar and Marco D’Angelo - all whom were operating partners of the Landing Group before joining Cara and are actively working to ensure our restaurants maintain the same experience our guests are accustomed to prior to the Cara partnership. Although there are growing pains that come with any quickly growing business, we can tell you sincerely that we are working to ensure our staff are supported and there are policies in place to support them. If you have specific concerns do not hesitate to contact us to discuss.

    Continue reading
  7. "Enjoyed my job before Cara took over, when it was just "Prime Pubs""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Bartender in Kingston, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Recipe Unlimited Corporation for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Business security, great location, guests that become friends. Opportunity to do new store openings. Great beer selection( on tap and bottle)

    Cons

    Managements' focus points/ priorities. Personal relationships/ opinions that influenced preferential treatment to new/ undedicated staff. Seniority/loyalty, and striving for improvements is not noticed nor valued.

    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2015-10-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Bartender in Oakville, ON

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation

    Pros

    Friendly work environment, performance based scheduling, able to make lucrative amount of tips (sometimes over $300 a night) made lasting relationships, time flies, job isn't stressful, flexible schedules, mostly good management, ability to move up. Overall great experience.

    Cons

    Dying brand, head office are jerks but they're only there on occasion, long hours (but the longer you work the more you make). Dont usually get weekends but you get used to it. Standing a lot, a lot of walking and blisters. Pressure to look "like your going to the party, not coming from one".

    Continue reading
    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2015-04-25
  9. "Serving was...interesting...to say the least"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Richmond Hill, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good basic first job to learn the ropes of the hospitality industry

    Cons

    My manager was a little bit nuts!

    Continue reading
    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2012-08-29
  10. "Was a great place to work, very welcoming."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server 
    Recommends

    I worked at Recipe Unlimited Corporation

    Pros

    The management /owners were great. It was a busy location with great tips. The staff was fun, overall it was a great place to work. I only left the job because I moved.

    Cons

    A sometimes unpredictable business flow, but that is normal in the service industry. As a senior staff member I had great hours and made great money there, as a new hire it would take a little longer to build up to this point.

    Recipe Unlimited Corporation2011-10-18
Found 21 reviews