Cover image for Recommind
Logo

Recommind

Is this your company?

Recommind

Add a Review

Recommind Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 81 of over 83 reviews
2.9
35% Recommend to a Friend
Recommind Chief Technology Officer and Co Founder Jan Puzicha
100% Approve of CEO

Found 80 of over 83 reviews

2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Recommind Chief Technology Officer and Co Founder Jan Puzicha
Jan Puzicha
3 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

494

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Regional Manager, eDiscovery

    Jun 22, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    These are the smartest people I've ever worked with. I work remotely, but from the day I first started, people were kind, mostly helpful, and wanted me to succeed. Today, there is a much better training program than when I started several years ago. The company continues to perfect its eDiscovery offerings, and the marketing programs support our efforts. It's a complex sale, but the company surrounds us with resources to help us succeed.

    Cons

    Senior management changes focus too rapidly. For the size of the company, we are way too compartmentalized. Too many approvals needed to sell basic deals. Not enough eDiscovery services expertise in senior management--mostly enterprise software backgrounds.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Not a bad place to work

    Aug 30, 2022 - Technical Support Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers Engaging work Technically interesting product

    Cons

    I haven't worked here in years, they got purchased since then

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Recommind team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Little Communication

    Sep 22, 2020 - Project Manager in Norwood, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really nice people and good base salary

    Cons

    Not much training and not much support with issues, nonexistent HR

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great people, making positive changes

    Mar 3, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is full of great people who are very committed to each other and our customers. The products are relevant, deliver real value to our customers, and are respected in our market. Especially in the last year or so I see a lot more people getting promoted and recognized for their work. The new CEO (9/2015) is a seasoned veteran and is bringing some much needed operational focus and discipline and more communication and transparency on what's working well and what needs more work. I'm optimistic about the changes I'm seeing on a number of levels over the past year. The pay is fine and the benefits are really good - much better than most of my other jobs.

    Cons

    Most of the people are really nice but there are a few people who can be unnecessarily negative. Every company has growing pains. There is some title inflation so while the company is a little top heavy, it looks more top heavy than it really is.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Started out so good...

    Jul 30, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great view located in the heart of the San Francisco Financial District. Free coffee. A few really smart people still left at the company.

    Cons

    No clear direction or end-game in sight for all the pivoting of vision that is going on. This is troubling to see in a 15 year old company - not a startup folks! Huge ambition, but nothing else backing that up - including funding. Attrition is high due to rounds of "reorganization" and due to skilled personnel moving on to greener pastures. Why is it that everyone else in Silicon Valley is in a hiring frenzy, while Recommind is actually shedding employees? Everyone is overloaded and wearing multiple hats. There is very much a blame culture within the organization globally, with everyone working to protect their own backsides instead of trying to work together to accomplish the goal. There is a lot of corporate bullying to get one's way, and the lower you are on the totem pole, the more crap that will come down on you.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I would love to be a client, but not an employee.

    Mar 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Does good coffee count as a pro? I'm really having a difficult time coming up with a Pro. Maybe the comfortable chairs could be a pro?

    Cons

    There is NO communication within this company between management and non-managements employees. We do not have an official Trainer, you learn as you go. There is no Human Resource department on site. I just had my first review after working here 3 years.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Resolution Engineer

    Jul 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pretty relaxed culture. Coworkers that you can work cooperatively and bond with. Adequate place to build e-discovery and litigation support experience. Unintentional hilarity (e.g. my technical manager asking a question about the product's rudimentary functionality and being faced with "Are you seriously asking that question?" from an Engineer in the Rheinbach office).

    Cons

    Department was 3 managers for 8 (6 at one point) non-managers. Separation in cliques for those who value image versus those who value substance. Broken promises concerning reviews, compensation, bonuses, promotions. Unhealthy work-life balance unless you willingly let the volume of work overwhelm you. Inappropriate prioritization by management (e.g. dress code was more important than 50-55 outstanding client requests) Management that ignore bad behavior and work ethic, due to favoritism. Management that does little work themselves (playing a putting game, or playing with nerf guns, and saying "it's good to be king") Non-technical employees in technical roles (e.g. my technical manager asking a question about the product's rudimentary functionality and being faced with "Are you seriously asking that question?" from an Engineer in the Rheinbach office) No official training module (though one was in progress for over a year). No metric to account for employee onboarding and continual learning progress. Interview process for technical positions was not technical, leading to bad hires. Unscrupulous management (hiring someone because the manager needed a physical Amtrak receipt from an applicant to receive reimbursement from the company)

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Started as a contractor and hired. Spent 18 months there before big lay off

    Feb 12, 2015 -  in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some people who really care about taking care of clients and the business. Frequent l"leftover lunches" Flexibility on work hours and working from home when needed Met some nice people

    Cons

    The all male meetings look like a Mad Men show without the ties. The CEO had quarterly meetings where people were supposed to share their opinions. No one did. There was no training. Former CFO ran her accounting team into the ground and they were just mean people to have to work with Total disconnect between Sr. Management and worker bees who produced the billable work. CEO and other Founder were regularly drunk and disrepectful to women, maybe because they didn't have a lot of women managers. They got drunk and disorderly at public events.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Shine on You Crazy Diamond. Yes you, I'm speaking directly to you.

    Aug 23, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I say 'Shine on You Crazy Diamond', that's a Pink Floyd reference. It's easy to get discouraged here but if you're proactive, there's the opportunity to learn. If you learn things on your own then engage others they get excited and contribute to your learning. If you can stay passionate, stay committed to an achievable goal, then you will probably achieve it. Stay hungry. Shine on you crazy diamond.

    Cons

    Bimodal distribution of benefits, normal distribution of responsibilities for employees. This may contribute to a poor long term outlook for this company because it incentivizes good employees to leave. In other words, if you land here you better learn to fly.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Great technology and people but no clear direction or motivation

    Dec 24, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The compensation is great and the employees are generally very supportive of each other. The technology that is used as the company's foundation is astounding and very impressive.

    Cons

    There is no company culture (if there is, i would describe it as "stuffy") and management doesn't do much to develop one. This is partly because many employees work remotely and team building events are scarce. Employees don't get a feeling they are part of something bigger, they are generally overworked and not excited anymore about the products. Its a small company but it feels like a huge company because of so many executives and poor communication.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews
</>Embed

Recommind Reviews FAQs

Recommind has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 83 reviews left anonymously by employees. 35% of employees would recommend working at Recommind to a friend and 31% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Recommind employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Recommind. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

35% of Recommind employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Recommind 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Recommind to be workplace, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Work at Recommind? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Recommind Photos

+ Add Photo
Recommind photo of: Monthly Happy Hour 8/15
Recommind photo of: New ideas form every day... most of them good, but all welcomed.
Recommind photo of: Moment of truth. It started better than it ended.
Recommind photo of: 2015 Annual sales conference mini golf challenge. We were all winners on this day. (Except for the losers)
Recommind photo of: Nailing the punchline.
Recommind photo of: Not at all posed... *cough*
Recommind photo of: Plotting the domination of the European market. One more sale to go...
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Recommind Job Seekers Also Viewed

Lattice Engines Logo
Lattice Engines

3.7

80 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 83 Recommind reviews submitted anonymously by Recommind employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Recommind is right for you.