Red 5 Studios Reviews | Glassdoor

Red 5 Studios Reviews

Updated May 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
19%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Red 5 Studios Chairman and CEO Jun Zhu  (no image)
Jun Zhu
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Meet a lot of great people whom I'm proud to call friends to this day(in 6 reviews)

  • "Programming team is about 25 very talented people and it is not really easy to get there(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management has not been very stable(in 7 reviews)

  • "Company faces big problem with parent company in China(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fanstatic Team, Amazing CEO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere Good Management There is very good communication between CM and the players, Management gets loads of feedback from the forums and from in game. All employees here are friendly, charismatic and hard workers. It is very easy to get along with the Tribe, both Management and Developers are focused solely on one goal and thats to make Firefall great again. It really did make you want to come into work everyday

    Cons

    Pay isn't the greatest but with such a nice atmosphere it isn't too much of a problem CEO is quite hard when he wants things done, does ask for changes when we are half way through stuff.

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-05-21
  2. "Great potential but poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment and co-workers Innovative projects

    Cons

    Poor management. After being bought by The9 everything starting going to crap

    Red 5 Studios2019-05-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "From Amazing to Hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Started out strong. We had a good run for a few years before launch.

    Cons

    Management did not allow time to polish and content was rushed.

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2019-01-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Red 5 Studios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun place with lots of culture

    Cons

    unstable place which was not able to launch a successful project in nearly 10 years of operation

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2017-04-19
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Completely on unorganized and I'm untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to do whatever you want. There is no technical management because everyone is on the same level of authority.

    Cons

    Sometimes they won't pay you or you'll be out of a job within months. The people running the project have no idea what they're doing. Firefall is a failed game.

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-12-31
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A management failure example"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios for more than a year

    Pros

    Worst work experience because of the management.

    Cons

    Work on a fun environment with talented people.

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-09-20
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Started out great, then fell apart in November 2015 and never recovered."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Designer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The developers were passionate, driven, and motivated. Even after November, the team attempted rally back, doing everything in their power to right the ship.

    Cons

    Management at the director level was poor, leading to multiple financial snafus as well as petty power struggles. More attention on who should be holding what role and how we can make "the next big thing", and less on the product they already had.

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-09-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lead Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios

    Pros

    Creative freedom and the ability to execute on your ideas (within the realm of the project as a whole). Great people working together without egos (for the most part) towards a common goal.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations. Top level comparisons against games at the top of the market without any consideration to the cost involved in competing with the best.

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-08-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not stable, poor directors, average title."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Programmer in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Creative environment, some talented people, friendly relaxed work environment, good crunch food.

    Cons

    Directors are not very good at all. They lack vision and talent for their job and seem to have been grandfathered into their positions. Facilities were ok, but the company is very cheap, no 401k contribution, lots of crunch,

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-07-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Salary Arrears - You payment still pending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios

    Pros

    - Everyone is friendly and super helpful. - Plenty of talent at all levels

    Cons

    -Have issue get paid. after 6 months delay, I still didn't get my last payment. -Company faces big problem with parent company in China. -Bad management

    Continue reading
    Red 5 Studios2016-06-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 52 reviews