Red 5 Studios Reviews | Glassdoor

Red 5 Studios Reviews

Updated May 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
19%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Jun Zhu
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Meet a lot of great people whom I'm proud to call friends to this day(in 6 reviews)

  • "Programming team is about 25 very talented people and it is not really easy to get there(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management has not been very stable(in 7 reviews)

  • "Company faces big problem with parent company in China(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fanstatic Team, Amazing CEO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red 5 Studios

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere Good Management There is very good communication between CM and the players, Management gets loads of feedback from the forums and from in game. All employees here are friendly, charismatic and hard workers. It is very easy to get along with the Tribe, both Management and Developers are focused solely on one goal and thats to make Firefall great again. It really did make you want to come into...

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay isn't the greatest but with such a nice atmosphere it isn't too much of a problem CEO is quite hard when he wants things done, does ask for changes when we are half way through stuff.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to give the developers a bit more leeway in doing their jobs and not to change things half way through.

    Red 5 Studios2016-05-21
  2. "Great potential but poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Business Analyst in Irvine, CA
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great environment and co-workers Innovative projects

      Cons

      Poor management. After being bought by The9 everything starting going to crap

      Red 5 Studios2019-05-04
    • Helpful (1)

      "From Amazing to Hell"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Started out strong. We had a good run for a few years before launch.

      Cons

      Management did not allow time to polish and content was rushed.

      Advice to Management

      If your goals a re long term, then you need to plan long term. If you have not planned long term, then you need to allow wiggle room and not rush things as deadlines slip.

      Red 5 Studios2019-01-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Red 5 Studios"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      fun place with lots of culture

      Cons

      unstable place which was not able to launch a successful project in nearly 10 years of operation

      Advice to Management

      close the company once and for all

      Red 5 Studios2017-04-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Completely on unorganized and I'm untrustworthy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Freedom to do whatever you want. There is no technical management because everyone is on the same level of authority.

      Cons

      Sometimes they won't pay you or you'll be out of a job within months. The people running the project have no idea what they're doing. Firefall is a failed game.

      Advice to Management

      Actually manage and be transparent.

      Red 5 Studios2016-12-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "A management failure example"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios for more than a year

      Pros

      Worst work experience because of the management.

      Cons

      Work on a fun environment with talented people.

      Advice to Management

      Please resign!

      Red 5 Studios2016-09-20
    • Helpful (4)

      "Started out great, then fell apart in November 2015 and never recovered."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Game Designer in Irvine, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The developers were passionate, driven, and motivated. Even after November, the team attempted rally back, doing everything in their power to right the ship.

      Cons

      Management at the director level was poor, leading to multiple financial snafus as well as petty power struggles. More attention on who should be holding what role and how we can make "the next big thing", and less on the product they already had.

      Advice to Management

      It is clear management had no idea how to run a game development studio. My advice is to either learn how to do it properly, or never do it again. Treat the role as if you hold the livelihood of many people in your hands, respect it as such and act accordingly. Otherwise, just stay away from the gaming industry altogether.

      Red 5 Studios2016-09-19
    • Helpful (2)

      "Lead Designer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios

      Pros

      Creative freedom and the ability to execute on your ideas (within the realm of the project as a whole). Great people working together without egos (for the most part) towards a common goal.

      Cons

      Unrealistic expectations. Top level comparisons against games at the top of the market without any consideration to the cost involved in competing with the best.

      Advice to Management

      Decide on a direction early enough to execute on that plan. Fast...Good...Cheap -- pick any two. It's a lesson few leaders in the games industry seem to take to heart.

      Red 5 Studios2016-08-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not stable, poor directors, average title."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Programmer in Newport Beach, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Creative environment, some talented people, friendly relaxed work environment, good crunch food.

      Cons

      Directors are not very good at all. They lack vision and talent for their job and seem to have been grandfathered into their positions. Facilities were ok, but the company is very cheap, no 401k contribution, lots of crunch,

      Advice to Management

      Hire directors based on their merit, actual skills and experience, not personality.

      Red 5 Studios2016-07-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Salary Arrears - You payment still pending"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Red 5 Studios

      Pros

      - Everyone is friendly and super helpful. - Plenty of talent at all levels

      Cons

      -Have issue get paid. after 6 months delay, I still didn't get my last payment. -Company faces big problem with parent company in China. -Bad management

      Advice to Management

      DO NOT work there, if you want work for free.

      Red 5 Studios2016-06-21
    Found 52 reviews