Red Frog Events Reviews

Updated May 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Red Frog Events Co-CEOs Joe Reynolds and Ryan Kunkel (no image)
Joe Reynolds and Ryan Kunkel
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity to travel (sometimes con)(in 18 reviews)

  • "Office perks (snacks, lunch on mondays, gym)(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours here and there but it was always a fun time because co-workers became some of my closest friends(in 24 reviews)

  • "The full time employees make little (if any) effort to actually teach you about event planning(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Race Director

      Mar 8, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and people plus amazing work life balanace.

      Cons

      Had it's challenges with start-up and communication.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall, ok

      May 3, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people were the best part!

      Cons

      Organizational leadership was needed improvement!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      RIP

      Feb 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a good place while it lasted

      Cons

      It didn't last long enough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Looks better on paper

      Dec 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great medical and vacation benefits.

      Cons

      They do not value their people. They have had multiple mass large scale layoffs within a few years which would lead a person to believe they don't know how to properly handle finances.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I loved every day.

      Mar 31, 2014 - RAD POLE in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was awesome. You are handed a ton of responsibility. What you do with it is up to you.

      Cons

      Some shady hirings take place at the end of every class - it seems to be the trend. There is not a shroud of doubt in my mind that some people are hired over others because they are more popular and "in" with the full timers. That is not even a bitter excuse, trust me. I am about 2 years removed from the tadpole program and have no ill-will toward the company or anybody there. Like i said, I loved my experience...but just beware that you really are not hired based on how hard you work or what you contribute. It's kind of a crap shoot and a shame that the two CEO/Owners aren't more involved with who is who in the intern class. Instead they are just given suggestions by the full timers who get chummy chummy with interns that they like and wouldn't mind bringing on as a colleague to go to the bars with on Friday nights.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Red Frog Events Response

      Assistant Director of Tadpole Development

      Thank you for being honest about your time here at Red Frog. We are both glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience, as well as appreciate the feedback you have provided. Each company is unique in their hiring process based on their needs and infrastructure, and we are no different. As a fast-growing company, we have structured our Tadpole experience to be just that, an experience. We aim to provide hands-on industry experience, encouragement in the workplace through our unique culture, an increase in skill sets and a juicy resume builder to help you pursue your passions. Again, we always strive to better ourselves and we thank you for your feedback and opinions. If you would like to discuss further, please don’t hesitate to call.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Red Frog Events: What Dreams Are Made Of!

      Oct 26, 2011 - Event Coordinator in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Red Frog Events is an incredible company to work for. We have a fun work environment that allows and encourages creativity. The people who you are surrounded with are open-minded, smart folks who are not just your co-workers but friends. We work together, but we also hang out together, outside of the work place. We get to travel around the world to put on insanely cool events. Our company awards our hard work constantly by providing moral nights, family lunches, and field trips.

      Cons

      The only downside of Red Frog Events is that we put in long hours, but our company acknowledges our hard work and has an extremely flexible vacation days. Our work environment is so much fun that the day goes by extremely quick, you don't even realize how long your work day is.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unknown Future

      Jul 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -A history of being a great company, with accelerated growth -In general, lots of great people- smart, talented, creative and just great to be around -Nice office environment with decent perks! -Opportunity to travel -Ability to take on a lot of responsibility and explore different career paths

      Cons

      Some major changes are currently happening at Red Frog. While I'd like to think they're for the best, some of the decisions from senior leadership seem questionable. -Consistent mismanagement across several teams -Lack of transparency around decision making -Job security is not guarantee at this point -While Red Frog preaches a transparent and fair culture- it's not necessarily always lived, especially in some parts of the leadership team.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Red Frog Events Response

      VP of People Operations

      Thank you for your review. I truly appreciate the honesty. I make sure to read all Glassdoor posts and consider all suggestions made. As you know, our goal is to make sure Red Frog is a top workplace. I wish you all the best. - Courtney

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Most rewarding experience of my life so far

      Oct 26, 2011 - Race Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Variety of work- employees have a hand in many different aspects of the company and are given incredible responsibility as well as the tools to be successful. Endless travel opportunities. Coworkers are amazing people who make it exciting and fun to come into work every day and create the supportive environment that makes our office feel like home. The benefits are truly amazing (unlimited paid time off, one work from home day per week, excellent insurance, etc.) Red Frog Events values employees' opinions and is constantly growing and evolving. Encourages a great work life balance.

      Cons

      It's a challenge (but a fun challenge) to keep up with incredible work load and never-ending growth at Red Frog. The opportunities here are endless.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A whirlwind of experience, discovery, and some of the most unique 4 months of my life.

      Feb 10, 2012 - Event Coordinator in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -the wonderful people who you encounter every single day -the office perks, creative freedom, and encouragement you receive from management -the travel to interesting locales across the country and occasionally overseas. -valuable friendships forged in a small amount of time -Management involved, approachable, and friendly

      Cons

      -little transparency as to the hiring process -sorority/fraternity-like atmosphere, could be a plus if you're into that type of environment -lines between work/personal life seriously blurred and eventually destroyed -long hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People-Centric with a Strong Focus on Company Culture

      May 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -I work with some of the most amazing people I have ever met and am blessed to be able to call most of them my friends. -Recognize and reward talent and hard work -Take feedback seriously and involve employees in almost all decisions -Open book management -Generous benefits and bonus package -Strong focus on long term success without straying from vision and purpose -Strive to make a difference in the world -Great work life balance -Fun place to work that I still very much enjoy

      Cons

      -Can sometimes take one or two people's feedback so seriously that it has a negative impact on others but I suppose that is part of being people-centric. -Some people aren't fans of the travel but I suppose this could be a pro for others.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 83 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Red Frog Events Job Seekers

    Event Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Red Frog Events? Share Your Experiences

    Red Frog Events logo
    or