Red Frog Events Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Frog Events Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Red Frog Events CEO Joe Reynolds and Ryan Kunkel (no image)
Joe Reynolds and Ryan Kunkel
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most positions are event based, not full time(in 59 reviews)

  • "long hours here and there but it was always a fun time because co-workers became some of my closest friends(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Race Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events

    Pros

    Great benefits and people plus amazing work life balanace.

    Cons

    Had it's challenges with start-up and communication.

    Red Frog Events2018-03-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Looks better on paper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Red Frog Events full-time

    Pros

    Great medical and vacation benefits.

    Cons

    They do not value their people. They have had multiple mass large scale layoffs within a few years which would lead a person to believe they don't know how to properly handle finances.

    Red Frog Events2018-12-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "No More Drama After Smart Changes Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to really own what you do Event world is tough but fun/rewarding Leadership Team People Benefits (travel, work-life, unlimited pto)

    Cons

    Baggage from old employees and the way things “used to be” TBD vision for growth

    Advice to Management

    Now that the bad apples are gone, rebuild with the core team and let the past be the past.

    Red Frog Events2018-06-29
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time

    Pros

    Great perks, atmosphere, opportunities, people

    Cons

    Poor communication, long hours, lack of training

    Red Frog Events2018-06-14
  6. Helpful (8)

    "A shadow of its former self"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, fun office, lots of perks, great benefits, opportunities to travel. Good people. Awesome partnership with St. Jude Children's Hospital.

    Cons

    • A month or so before we were all let go, we were asked to write positive reviews on Glassdoor since the ratings were slipping. Buyer beware. • There is a serious disconnect between the managements's perception of Red Frog and reality. When I started, it was an inspiring, creative, culture-based company, and I positively loved the job, the gritty parts and all. After 3 years, people had left, bad decisions were... made, the culture weakened, and we all started to feel it. It seems like anyone that had expressed dissatisfaction was let go in the second massive wave of layoffs since my hiring (20 people, myself included, this past October).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent, as you promise to be, and invest in your people, like you used to do, and Red Frog might be great again.

    Red Frog Events2018-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "People-Centric with a Strong Focus on Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I work with some of the most amazing people I have ever met and am blessed to be able to call most of them my friends. -Recognize and reward talent and hard work -Take feedback seriously and involve employees in almost all decisions -Open book management -Generous benefits and bonus package -Strong focus on long term success without straying from vision and purpose -Strive to make a difference in the world... -Great work life balance -Fun place to work that I still very much enjoy

    Show More

    Cons

    -Can sometimes take one or two people's feedback so seriously that it has a negative impact on others but I suppose that is part of being people-centric. -Some people aren't fans of the travel but I suppose this could be a pro for others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Red Frog Events2017-05-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Event Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events

    Pros

    Got to travel to many events all over the country, great for someone who just graduated college

    Cons

    Not compensated fairly for work done, poorly managed events on site, no communication between coordinators

    Advice to Management

    Having consistency with events, letting people know ahead of time their roles.

    Red Frog Events2017-02-03
  9. "Unlimited Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time

    Pros

    Red Frog has the right leadership, and an engaged, energetic staff that helps make working here an adventure everyday. The sky is the limit, and that makes waking up for work exciting finally!

    Cons

    Occasionally there are to many hoops that need to be jumped through to get various tasks approved and fulfilled

    Advice to Management

    Keep powering forward with the same core tenants that are preached throughout the year, employees appreciate the culture and the autonomy over their own work

    Red Frog Events2016-12-23
  10. "So happy here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at other companies with "culture" where it was fake and forced. Not the case here. The feeling of family is real, even for a super introverted person like me. The CEOs are honest and genuine. The company is becoming more and more transparent so the employees know exactly what is going on. The benefits are great. First time I have ever had work/life balance in a job! I love what I do and have learned a... lot. I think there are a lot of current/past employees who criticized the company because it changed. They didn't realize how bad other companies really are in comparison. Most of the people I've known who have voluntarily left have regretted it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement. Health care hasn't really helped for anything I've needed it for yet.

    Red Frog Events2016-12-04
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Fun & Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Event Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events for less than a year

    Pros

    worked with so many people in my position and it was a lot of fun. Learned a lot from my supervisor and was able to assist on a number of different projects

    Cons

    I am not sure they still have internship opportunities for as many people.

    Red Frog Events2016-08-08

    Red Frog Events Response

    August 10, 2016VP of People Operations

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience! I'm so glad to hear you learned a lot and had a positive relationship with your manager. Please keep in touch! All the best- Courtney *All current opportunities with Red Frog can be found on our "WORK WITH US" page at www.redfrogevents.com.

    Show Less
Found 82 reviews