Red Frog Events Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Frog Events Reviews

Updated May 1, 2017
76 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joe Reynolds and Ryan Kunkel
3 Ratings

76 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Office perks (snacks, lunch on mondays, gym) (in 11 reviews)

  • co-CEO's are extremely engaged with employees and sensitive to company culture, morale, and work/life balance (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • Not great odds for interns to move to a full time position (in 59 reviews)

  • The company prides itself on its unique culture, but it is also a culture reminiscent of high school cliques (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "People-Centric with a Strong Focus on Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -I work with some of the most amazing people I have ever met and am blessed to be able to call most of them my friends.
    -Recognize and reward talent and hard work
    -Take feedback seriously and involve employees in almost all decisions
    -Open book management
    -Generous benefits and bonus package
    -Strong focus on long term success without straying from vision and purpose
    -Strive to make a difference in the world
    -Great work life balance
    -Fun place to work that I still very much enjoy

    Cons

    -Can sometimes take one or two people's feedback so seriously that it has a negative impact on others but I suppose that is part of being people-centric.
    -Some people aren't fans of the travel but I suppose this could be a pro for others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Best company culture and most collaborative environment I've ever witnessed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Frog Events full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Truly One Team, One Goal atmosphere
    - Titles aren't stressed and everyone is equally valued
    - co-CEO's are extremely engaged with employees and sensitive to company culture, morale, and work/life balance
    - Open office layout with no offices leads to collaboration and great culture
    - unlimited vacation time
    - work from home one day per week
    - fully paid benefits
    - All-staff retreat, fully paid, to relax and have fun, each year
    - Difficult layoffs a year ago only to improve and take a giant step forward as a company

    Cons

    - Still a lack of outside awareness of Red Frog and what the company does
    - Work Hard (but play hard) culture...not for everyone but also a positive

    Red Frog Events Response

    Aug 10, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    Thank you for sharing! I'm so glad you are enjoying your first year with Red Frog. -Courtney

  3. "UNORGANIZED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beer Cart Server in Eau Claire, WI
    Former Employee - Beer Cart Server in Eau Claire, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Had Fun Working
    Enjoyed the festival

    Cons

    Never got a 30 min break like I was told I would for each shift I worked. I worked 3
    Had the person in charge check to make sure we where stocked up come to myself and co worker maybe 3 times in each shift.
    Had no ice was told he would bring me ice never did.
    was told he would bring more product for costumers but never did.

    Advice to Management

    Tell your management to check with their employees more to make sure their doing ok. Give your workers at least 10 mins to sit down and eat.

    Red Frog Events Response

    Aug 10, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'll be sure to pass along your experience so we can continue working to provide a positive experience to every person we get to work with across our events... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Event Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Chicago, IL

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers in the event coordinator program, awesome office and work perks. Family lunch on Mondays, casual and creative environment.

    Cons

    Hidden agendas and minimal communication from higher ups through the tiers. A lot of manual labor, poor communication and chaos at events that would never get resolved for future events to come. They would try to wash it away by giving participants a deal or a free next race.

    Red Frog Events Response

    Aug 10, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while working with Red Frog. I agree that we get to work with amazing people here and have generous work perks. It's unfortunate... More


  5. Helpful (22)

    "Started from the bottom now we here (and by 'here' I mean 'bottom once again')"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Race Director in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Race Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Red Frog Events full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    When I started at Red Frog Events I honestly thought that, at some point, I would be reading Elon Musk's, Mark Zuckerberg's, or Larry Page's resume because everyone on the planet would want to work at RFE. I was honestly that struck by how absolutely amazing they made their company and culture out to be. They had (past tense) great benefits, an amazing office (which has since been downgraded), and some amazing events (which have since either been downgrade or have gone defunct). At the current time of writing (January of 2016) there is nothing, and honestly mean absolutely nothing, attractive about working for Red Frog Events (and I use the word "for" purposefully...one formerly worked "at" RFE...now you work "for" RFE).

    Cons

    Just about everything: from the absolutely miserable pay (especially when you consider the amount of hours one works), the completely out of touch management that continues to launch failure after failure while neglecting their cash cows, to the HR department who, until the moment they were informed they were now the HR department, sincerely had no idea what the letters HR stood for when juxtaposed together (no idea why I just used 'juxtaposed' as I doubt they can get to the meaning of that multisyllabic monstrosity if their free Monday lunch depended on it).

    The senior management: you had one great idea (WD) and one mediocre idea (GUR). Instead of investing yourself in those or in similar events, you took a nose dive chasing some other nonsensical dream. Take a look at the growth of endurance events over the past 5 years (especially half marathons) and try to convince yourself that doing St. Patrick's Day festivals is more lucrative than building a national endurance brand...or maybe you missed it when Ironman was sold last fall for $650 million. Guess you were busy with dealing with riders for some india band that sold 25 albums but may be the next best thing. Good luck with that.

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves or find some mentors who aren't just 'Yes Men' and can actually move you in the right direction.

    There is no denying that, at one point, you had one of the most vibrant, dynamic, promising, and exciting companies on the planet.

    The one thing I can deny is my faith in your ability to ever get back to that point.

    Red Frog Events Response

    Feb 12, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    We have read your feedback and are sorry you feel that way. I wish you all the best and hope you find a workplace that suits your needs. There is no doubt we have gone through a lot of change, but we... More


  6. Helpful (14)

    "Hypocrisy at its finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events full-time

    Pros

    The pros are only appealing on the surface level. But when you start working extremely long hours, with little pay and dealing with incompetent management, the pros won't be worth it much longer.

    Cons

    I've worked for a few companies, and none match up to the amount of hypocrisy Red Frog has to offer. "We promote fun" -- but employees have actually gotten in trouble for playing games or having 'too much fun' in the office. "We promote unlimited PTO" -- but actually, you're expected to check emails and respond immediate on your days off. "We promote communication and transparency" -- but then they lay off 30 employees in one day immediately after a company satisfaction survey is distributed. The HR department is absolutely a joke. You think the benefits sound so appealing at first, but will soon realize how incredibly unprofessional this company is.

    Advice to Management

    There's a reason why Red Frog has gone from a "Top Place To Work," to a company where past employees struggle to say positive things about.

    Red Frog Events Response

    Jan 13, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    Thank you for writing a review. We are working hard each and every day to build a strong Red Frog and have made great progress. I appreciate your honesty and am sorry you felt that way while here. I... More


  7. Helpful (8)

    "Race Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Race Director in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Race Director in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    By the time i left company there were no pros left

    Cons

    No job security, low salaries, no respect for employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees like you actually value them and the work they do

    Red Frog Events Response

    Jan 13, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    Thank you for writing a review and sharing your input. I'm sorry you felt that way before you left. We are committed to rebuilding trust and have made great strides in rebuilding a strong cultural... More

  8. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    in the beginning, it seems like a fun place to work. Cool office, sweet swag. It quickly goes downhill from there.

    Cons

    bad culture, bad people, lots of cliques, un-qualified people in roles they have no experience for. HR is beyond awful, you have no outlets to take issues to. They continue to churn and burn and use interns to backfill.

    Advice to Management

    Get it together. You have a solid idea, but you need to overhaul you staff. Starting with HR. You need that backbone in order to retain a staff and be able to be set-up for success. Moving like this, you are just spinning your tires. Make the proper changes in HR, communicate better with your employees, and make it a more respectful work environment.

    Red Frog Events Response

    Jan 13, 2016 – VP of People Operations

    Thank you for writing a review and sharing your feedback. We have been working hard to build trust and a strong workplace for our people. I wish you all the best. - Courtney


  9. Helpful (23)

    "A lost opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Friendly co-workers
    -Opportunity to travel (sometimes con)
    -Very flexible hours and vacation
    -Supports St. Jude
    -Office perks (snacks, lunch on mondays, gym)
    -Good benefits (health, dental, 401k, etc.)

    Cons

    -Little growth potential
    -Professional development budget was seemingly nonexistant
    -Poor communication and transparency
    -Raises/salary are nowhere close to being competitive
    -Poor job security
    -Unqualified HR

    Advice to Management

    It's a shame what Red Frog became; it seemed so close to its dream a few years ago.

    Joe, I'd recommend taking a hard look at those who are seen as your trusted critics and advisers. It seems the loss of company culture and the Red Frog Way began when undercutting and "yes man-ing" became more valued than open feedback and total transparency. I hope Red Frog can bounce back from these layoffs because I really do want to believe that you can do so much more, especially for the kids of St. Jude.

    Red Frog Events Response

    Sep 8, 2015 – VP of People Operations

    I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Please know we continually read Glassdoor and reflect on the feedback posted. Thank you again for being truthful about your experience at Red... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Frog Events (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Young, fun, and innovative company

    Cons

    -Things have slowed a bit in recent years

    Red Frog Events Response

    Sep 8, 2015 – VP of People Operations

    Thank you for writing a review! - Courtney


Showing 76 of 165 reviews
Reset Filters