KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Red Hat

Engaged Employer

Red Hat

Add a Review

Red Hat Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 of over 2,740 reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great work life balance, open development model(in 126 reviews)

  • "great culture and small office makes it more personal(in 101 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance pretty much non-existent in finance(in 40 reviews)

  • "Expected growing pains of a startup growing into a full organization(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Red Hat

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Red Hat and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Nov 3, 2020 - Inside Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work life balance, great people.

      Cons

      No real cons to working here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Booming

      Jan 15, 2021 - Senior Financial Analyst in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company looks after its employers

      Cons

      Work life balance pretty much non-existent in finance

      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      GREAT opportunities for growth, but stretched a bit thin

      Jan 14, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been able to pursue the work that seemed most important to me during my tenure at Red Hat, even to the extent that I was part of starting a new build service and then, later, starting a new team to help with it. Red Hat offers the chance to solve problems in the ways that seem best to our team, and has a huge well of talent and experience to draw on for advice. Red Hat also doesn't (officially) demand that you spend a lot of time doing off-hours work, though the needs of communication in globally distributed teams often makes this much more ambiguous.

      Cons

      Infrastructure and team efficiency support is not always the best. You can pursue the solutions you think best, but the downside is that you might have to support it yourself. Our organization has been a bit reluctant to adopt some more modern practices, such as SRE and service observability. You are in charge of your own education and training, in order to implement solutions to your problems. Although Red Hat does offer a wide array of training courses, finding time to take them can be quite challenging. Finally, global distribution of engineering teams has taken a large toll with some teams, in terms of finding a sustainable work-life balance (you simply cannot factor out timezones).

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great opportunity to enhance career skills

      Jan 14, 2021 - Channel Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic people, good work life balance and competitive benefits

      Cons

      Still developing a strong go to market channel strategy

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Contractor

      Good company

      Dec 2, 2020 - Human Resources Business Partner in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility and Work life balance

      Cons

      Slow movement on processes, movement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Red Hat is an awesome place to work

      Oct 26, 2020 - Manager, Product Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, open development model

      Cons

      Lower salary than most competition

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Supportive and Professional Work Environment

      Sep 30, 2020 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Skilled and Driven Employees - Supportive Management - Substantial Access to Learning Resources - Remote Work Freedom - Very Good Work Life Balance

      Cons

      Compensation can feel a bit low compared to other companies of its size and prestige in the area

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      BEST COMPANY TO WORK FOR

      Sep 29, 2020 - Human Resources Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work-life balance and really cares about employees!

      Cons

      things are a bit unorganized

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Awesome place to work

      Sep 3, 2020 - Senior Product Marketing Manager in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great benefits & culture, passionate people - Ability to work on important projects - Leadership really cares about the well-being of their people

      Cons

      - Depending on the role, work/life balance can be tough - As we grow, sometimes the meritocracy we live by is not as evident - Getting insight into raise/promotion opportunities is not always clearly communicated (depends on management I think)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work, but needs more diversity and training

      Jul 13, 2020 - Software Engineer in Westford, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * I love many of my colleagues - my department is lovely * Good work-life balance * Pay is decent * Great pandemic response * Around six weeks of PTO

      Cons

      * Not diverse * They don't seem to realize religious minorities exist and it's alienating * I face the usual women's problems in tech - people assuming I'm not an engineer, that I don't know what I'm talking about, nasty comments, etc. * I was sexually harassed a couple of times in the cafeteria by middle-aged men I don't work with (there are some lovely folks who work at Red Hat, as well as some really, really horrible ones)

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 162 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Red Hat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews