Red Nova Labs Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Nova Labs Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Red Nova Labs CEO Dan Miller  (no image)
Dan Miller
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "The Juice is Worth the Squeeze"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Start-ups fail. Those that do succeed and grow into a full-fledged company often lose the start-up culture that it began with. This company has somehow kept that start-up vibe. It’s certainly had it’s seasons of change. But those changes have brought more business growth, better employee benefits, and the best talent in Kansas City. Follow these guidelines to a successful career at this company: 1. Show up on time 2. Grab a drink from THAT barista mentioned in the complaint below. 3. Wear multiple hats and know that each day brings a new task at hand. 4. Speak to upper management when you have issues/concerns.

    Cons

    Developer turnover rate is a constant battle.

    Red Nova Labs2017-06-16
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Leadership is always lying to us!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Startup culture. Drinking on the job, ping pong, games, catered lunches, etc...

    Cons

    Management is always lying to us. Owner is creepy, and flat out asked me if I was "faithful to my husband" at the company Christmas party. Unless you are one of the first 5 employees of the company, or a software engineer....then you have zero job security!

    Continue reading
    Red Nova Labs2019-03-30
  3. "Good company with great benefits, keep up because they move fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist Tier II in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Nova Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great benefits work -Good market value wage -Perks like healthy snacks, drinks, with an in house coffee shop -Very open and friendly workspaces -Cross-department communication is great -Encourages continuing education and creative thinking

    Cons

    It's a fast-paced environment as all software companies are under update deadlines and customer support. Be a team player and deliver your work on time, you won't have problems.

    Red Nova Labs2019-01-30
  4. "Talented team, but can't stay focused week to week"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time

    Pros

    Lots of talented members of the team to learn from and grow with

    Cons

    Can't stay focused on one problem at at time

    Red Nova Labs2017-09-04
  5. "A good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westwood, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great leadership, lots of opportunities to try new things

    Cons

    Lower than average pay for the area

    Continue reading
    Red Nova Labs2017-08-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    RNL is a place that empowers everyone to be creative and innovative. There are no barriers to sharing ideas and ensuring they are heard. You get to work alongside really talented people who never want to settle but are always striving to do better and be better. I love the people I work with and the things I've learned from them. The benefits are great also - I have never worked at a company that offers this many benefits and is always trying to find ways to make this a great place to work. It just shows that our owner and the management team really care about the employees.

    Cons

    If you don't like a fast paced environment where you are expected to go solve problems and figure things out, this might not be the place for you. If you do like those things, you will thrive here!

    Red Nova Labs2017-06-01
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Environment and Awesome People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs

    Pros

    Haven't been here long, but I already love it here. Amazing people, super cooperative environment, and a full sized kitchen in the basement are just a few of the perks you can take advantage of here.

    Cons

    There's definitely a bit of a learning curve when it comes to understanding the software, but most of it is just acquainting yourself with the storage industry.

    Red Nova Labs2017-05-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "I feel inspired coming to work every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westwood, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Startup work environment - Modern, open work space - Flexible hours & WFH availability - Supportive, highly-intelligent leadership - In-house barista (free coffee!) - Free, catered lunches on Fridays - Amazing employee recognition celebrations - Pet-friendly workplace - Great CEO

    Cons

    - Small company with open feedback - if you like strict, corporate structure, this isn't for you

    Continue reading
    Red Nova Labs2017-05-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Cool company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Nova Labs full-time

    Pros

    Can't beat the people. Ever growing products. I enjoy coming to work.

    Cons

    Every work place has quirks

    Red Nova Labs2017-05-05
  10. Helpful (10)

    "A waste of time for many talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Red Nova Labs full-time

    Pros

    Casual work environment, free lunch on Fridays, there are some really talented people within the company.

    Cons

    Rewards for seniority. Unqualified management. Pay inequality. Unfair treatment between roles (developers are treated significantly better than other positions). Complacent leadership. Abnormal technical debt. Blatantly treats employees as disposable. Blindness to these problems.

    Continue reading
    Red Nova Labs2016-08-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews