KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Red Robin

Engaged Employer

Red Robin

Add a Review

Red Robin Employee Reviews about "bussers"

Updated Dec 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 of over 3K reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Red Robin President and CEO Paul Murphy III
Paul Murphy III
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good tips, flexible schedule, good management(in 128 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, management that truly cares(in 85 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours barely breaks management sucked(in 64 reviews)

  • "Sometimes understaffed so it can feel like we're being over-worked (no expos or bussers)(in 55 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Red Robin and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "bussers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best place I've served at!

      Oct 31, 2016 - Server in Garland, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At least in the ones I've worked at, no side work! You come and serve, that's it. Very casual place to work at, I've always felt comfortable here?

      Cons

      I guess if I had to choose, it'd be tipping out bussers, host, and bar. But if that's the only con I have then I'm okay.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I’m over it

      Aug 26, 2020 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Set your availability to the days you want to work (usually you have to have weekends in your availability but those are the best money-making days anyway) -You could see relying on tips as a con as well but honestly for me personally I love that I make tips (generally take home around 20+/hour) of course depending on the day. It’s nice to go home with cash in hand. -Developing bonds with the other employees. (Because you practically live there if you’re full-time, it makes it feel like they are your second family) -If you want to move up though the company you are certainly able to if you possess the qualities they are looking for. (They don’t hire people that start at the top. Start at the bottom, learn every department and work your way up)

      Cons

      -You get written up even if you call off sick with a doctors note (if you can’t get your shift covered) -It’s hard to nearly impossible to get a shift covered because there are very few employees -Long days of endlessly running around with no break (even if you do get lucky enough to get a break there is no where to go sit down and eat) -No promise that you will get time off approved (even if you put it in months before) -You pay tip share (it goes to host, bus, and the bartender) even if a host or busser isn’t working

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      fend for yourself

      Dec 10, 2020 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good money and fun coworkers

      Cons

      lazy managers, huge sections, no dishwasher some days, no busser, no food runner.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Worked there for years

      Dec 20, 2019 - Server/Host/Certified Learning Coach in Valparaiso, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family like, strong bonds, opportunity for growth. Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Things felt they started to go down when they started making cuts. The Clc’s stopped getting paid to train and no one wanted to do it there were no real benefits except a free meal the day you train. They cut expos and that was a blow because it seemed things started to slow down service wise. Then they cut bussers. They had hosts start to do to-go’s and they have a hard time seating and servicing to-go’s. I think I liked it better when bartenders did it. Regulars stopped showing up. I know they are just trying to keep ahead of trends.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Horrible

      May 7, 2020 - Server in Milpitas, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s easy to get hired, probably because of the high turnover rate

      Cons

      Where do I start? Well firstly, when I started working there it was right after they had just completely gotten rid of all busser and expediter positions, company-wide. That meant that as a server, you are expected to: attend to your tables, bus them and separate the dirty dishes from the bus tubs for the ONE dishwasher we had per shift, as well as keep an eye on the food line and make sure every dish came out as ordered (food allergies, no tomatoes, add avocado, etc etc) and then ALSO run the food to the table in a timely fashion, all the while keeping the customers happy with drink refills, bottomless fries refills, and the like. We were pretty much always short staffed and thusly were appointed to sections that were larger than most — as a seasoned service industry worker I could have easily kept all of my tables happy even with an extended section, however, with the added duties due to the decision by the company to completely get rid of two of the most helpful job positions in the entire restaurant, it was a completely impossible task on a Friday or Saturday night when you’ve got wait times upwards of an hour. I honestly have never felt more stressed out at a job in my whole life, and that includes the first job I ever had as a server, on my first night solo without my trainer! This is not an exaggeration, although I sincerely wish it were. The head honchos of this company are greedy and they decided to cut costs at the absolute worst level possible. I guess when you’re a nationally recognized and profitable company you can afford to upset a few customers without it hurting your pockets. Too bad for the employees who have to take the heat and pick up the slack. But hey, a server is as replaceable as the plastic tablecloths they use there I guess. Sad.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to work

      Jan 10, 2020 - Server/Bartender in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to make fast Cash. Not crazy good money but better than most.

      Cons

      No bussers, No expos, Severs need more help they cant Do it all

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      ok

      Nov 13, 2019 - Hostess/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful coworkers, flexible schedules, okay pay.

      Cons

      Red Robin is extremely focused on cutting costs and getting good reviews with little to no care about the team members. There are no expos and no bussers, servers are expected to pick up the slack while being sat with seven tabled due to the lack of staff on per shift. Management is very inconsiderate and sits in the office majority of the day while the restaurant crashes and burns. Management will do anything to get their bonus even if it screws the rest of their employees in the process. Very stressful and negative environment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Red Robin Response

      Talent Recruiter

      We appreciate you providing us this feedback, especially your concerns regarding the management team. We take these concerns very seriously and would like to investigate further; if you are comfortable letting us know which location you work at as well as any further details, please do so by contacting us at opendoor@redrobin.com. Thanks!

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Very fast-paced

      Sep 27, 2019 - Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced and big sections so making money comes if you let it.

      Cons

      Everything refillable and a lot of promotions so check amounts can be very low. Sometimes understaffed so it can feel like we're being over-worked (no expos or bussers). Trainers do not get much incentive, not really worth it

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good community, hard work

      Sep 18, 2019 - Server in Plymouth, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good payment, always busy. The management is super friendly and everyone loves to help each-other.

      Cons

      No bussers or food runners so you're doing a lot of work

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Host

      Nov 19, 2019 - Host in East Peoria, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a good college job.

      Cons

      Overworked. Had a position as a busser and host. At one point, I was working as a host and busser at the same time and only got paid the salary of the host.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Red Robin Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Red Robin? Share Your Experiences

    or