Red Robin "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Robin Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Red Robin President and CEO Paul Murphy III
Paul Murphy III
21 Ratings
  1. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Red Robin part-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, flexible schedule because of multiple employees willing to cover/switch shifts, training is very regulated so you feel prepared and knowledgeable about the menu.

    Cons

    A little too corporate, a lot of rules.

    Red Robin2018-10-15
  2. "First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Robin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay and flexible scheduling

    Cons

    untrained management, long/undefined hours, no pride in work

    Continue reading
    Red Robin2018-10-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Pleasantly Surprised!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Robin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quick service time means more money, larger sections, flexible schedule, solid management

    Cons

    Attracts too many people looking for free items, too many "free burger" days that are not planned out, menu is constantly changing. Do not promote from within!

    Continue reading
    Red Robin2018-09-06

    Red Robin Response

    September 7, 2018Talent Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We take the development of our Team Members very seriously and will be happy to further look into your concerns about promoting from within. In the meantime, please feel free to reach out to your HR Business Partner, GM or ROD if there are specific development opportunities you are interested in.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I felt like a valued team member."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Robin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had a very flexible schedule, and was always able to get time off when I needed it. I made good money, and I generally felt valued and appreciated by management. Also Red Robin tries to foster an environment where we work as a team. At my location, we definitely worked as a team.

    Cons

    There is a lot of manager turnover, so sometimes things are great, and then the next day we’d have a new set of managers and everything would change. Some managers are phenomenal, and others are awful. So the work environment coyote be pretty volatile.

    Red Robin2018-09-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not Somewhere I Was Proud to Say I Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Red Robin part-time

    Pros

    Easy to create a flexible schedule. Decent money working in the bar and the area i was in.

    Cons

    While working for Red Robin for nearly 4 years, I saw 2 GM’s and at least 15 in-store managers. Almost none of which were both good at their job AND a decent human being. Actually, knowing an employees struggles seems to motivate RR managers to inflict the highest amount of damage to said employees work life just to make things harder or more dramatic. Not to mention their complete lack of communication, maturity, or the ability to give any constructive criticism at all. Corporate decided to get rid of bussers. Why? Because they don’t make any money for the company. They only get paid. So why not cut them out and have the servers bus the tables too? Okay. So we bus the tables too, when we can get to them as we take care of our active tables. New guests come in and stand at dirty tables and stare and glare at employees until they clean that spot, taking time away from the current priority. Corporate also decided to give us those nifty table top computer systems. Convenient, sure. But A, it won’t read your card, present your check, or function correctly 99% of the time. And B, after paying, the computer asks you to complete THE SURVEY. The Survey basically dictates whether you can pay your bills or not. Why? Because someone thought it would be a great plan to implement a system where guests take a survey BASED ON THEIR OVERALL EXPERIENCE. Waiting times for tables, waiting times for food, overall cleanliness of bathrooms and dining room, smell, food quality, etc. except for some reason, the rating of those surveys could cause your schedules to be cut down to 2 SHIFTS PER WEEK. so even though kids think it’s funny to “just give a bad score every time” because it’s “funny,” (I’ve actually heard this said,) and people weren’t happy to wait 45 minutes when they should’ve been sat in 15 so they give you a bad score, all the sudden you’ve recently had a major life event and have no shifts to pay for said event. Or perhaps your monthly bills. And you cannot pick up shifts. You are literally forced to work only 2 shifts per week. Personally, I was moved from approx 32 hours (scheduled) per week to 8 hours or less per week. With no reasoning or compromising or sympathy. This happened to so many people with children, families. BOTTOMLESS FRIES. It’s awesome. Everyone loves it. You want them at your table as soon as you sit down. Sometimes we can’t even get them from the kitchen in less that 25 minutes. You’d think for as many years as Red Robin has promoted their bottomless fries that they should have gotten a better system down to please their guests and to relieve their employees. Because we just LOVE having to tell our guests, “hey. I know we say we offer bottomless fries. But I physically cannot get my kitchen to give me one single basket-with about 7 fries in it- so unfortunately I will be giving you your check because you won’t be getting any more fries.” Like seriously. All the time. Get it together or stop offering if. I could go on. But I really only started writing this because the website made me write one in order to read other people’s reviews. Lol anyway, don’t work there. Don’t even go there. It’s disgustingly dirty. Did I mention that we had a plumbing issue in the restrooms and a plumbing company actually advised my General Manager not to serve guests that day for sanitary reasons, but he decided to open the store anyway? Yummmmm.

    Red Robin2018-09-09

    Red Robin Response

    September 11, 2018Talent Recruiter

    We are sorry to hear that your experience was not what you hoped. If you are comfortable sharing which location you worked at, we would be happy to further look into these concerns; you can do so here: http://www.redrobin.com/help.html Thank you in advance!

    Continue reading
  6. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Red Robin part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule strong management great food

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet

    Red Robin2018-06-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Line cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Red Robin part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible schedule, ok managers

    Cons

    No breaks, some co workers don’t pull their weight

    Red Robin2018-06-07
  8. "Hostess/server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Robin part-time

    Pros

    Potential to earn a lot, great coworkers, flexible schedules

    Cons

    stressful work environment, not easy to request days off, not a low of room for growth

    Red Robin2018-05-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Red Robin part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, light plates help wrists if you’ve been doing this for a long time.

    Cons

    Company going through a lot of changes. Recently got rid of bussers and expo positions.

    Red Robin2018-02-23
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Robin full-time

    Pros

    Pay, flexible schedule , close to home

    Cons

    Long hours , nights, weekends

    Continue reading
    Red Robin2018-01-24
Found 108 reviews