KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Red Skye Wireless

Is this your company?

Red Skye Wireless

Add a Review

Red Skye Wireless Reviews

Updated Feb 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 of over 115 reviews

2.2
28%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Red Skye Wireless Owner Jeff Tottleben (no image)
Jeff Tottleben
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Upper Management (Non-AT&T) is AMAZING(in 6 reviews)

  • "RSW is a great company to work for(in 5 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I have taken two pay cuts in the last 3 years due to the commission structure changing(in 20 reviews)

  • "Even upper management does not stay with the company(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Easy Job

      Mar 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      easy work schedule. good money.

      Cons

      low hours. slow promotions and job availablity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't waster your time.

      Feb 8, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Emporia, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is nothing good about this place.

      Cons

      Don't work with your school schedule.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Goal oriented and fun

      Apr 12, 2019 - Office Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Support and training from upper management was amazing. If you are someone with drive and goal oriented this is a great place to work. Great health benefits as well.

      Cons

      Need more of a competitive salary

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Not sure How things are after buyout by Spring Wireless

      Aug 21, 2016 - Retail Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay for minimal qualifications. Upper Management (Non-AT&T) is AMAZING. Very nice very motivated people who genuinely care about you and want to help the company, and you succeed. The company as a whole is very customer oriented philosophically. Store managers really try to help you succeed, sometimes a little too hard. There is a pretty good opportunity for advancement if you work REALLY hard and become a sales machine.

      Cons

      Your first month of training is great, after that training is obnoxious. In my case it got in the way of not only a sign on bonus (didn't have time to complete the training) but also didn't find them useful. You learn very little and it's more to make the store look good/compliant than actually teach you anything. Store manager is constantly "coaching," which is meant to be helpful (and occasionally is, some people really go far with this) but if you are an independent learner you will hate this. Systems are constantly crashing and making life difficult. If you don't handle people coming in yelling at you about things that aren't your fault then this job is not for you. It wasn't for me. Additionally, it's all about sales and numbers, outwardly they say they care about the customer. In practice, if you are taking the time to genuinely help customers with the silly nonsense that a lot of them will come in for, you will not succeed with this company. Numbers are all that matter most of the time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      treated like a number and tired of being threatened

      May 6, 2015 - Area Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some good people still there for now. I enjoyed working with the store teams and others in my position.

      Cons

      Think twice before joining Red Skye. If your looking for a nice career, find something else. I just left the company after about 5 years and was promoted to higher positions twice. What I learned is that I was just a number. My position was constantly threatened. The owner himself would remind everyone on monthly calls of recent changes, meaning people who had gotten fired and that if we don't get better results, more changes would be happening. The funny thing is these calls were supposed to be for recognizing but there was always the threats thrown in. I've seen really good people let go because they had bad results in a small area or two and instead of working with them it was just decided to give somebody else the job or lately just eliminate the job and make the people left pick up more work with no more pay. Don't get me wrong, there are a few really good people still at there which is why I stayed so long. Just not enough to change the overall way people are treated and paid. If you want this kind of a job you can make a lot more money with other agents or with at&t themselves and not be treated like a number and constantly reminded you can be replaced.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Inconsistent Management

      Jan 25, 2019 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great teamwork amongst managers and immediate staff.

      Cons

      Constantly changing commission structures and chargebacks. Steadily decreasing benefits.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Imagine working for a legal slave owner...

      Dec 11, 2014 - Sales Representative in Sanford, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some good people (non hierarchy employees)

      Cons

      When I began my employment with RSW Group I expected the same level of consideration and appreciation as I received at my previous authorized retailer. RSW's vision is for employees to take ownership of the business, which is absurd given the inability for employees to make any decisions during the sales process to work with the customer (i.e. accessories, etc). Furthermore, RSW expects a great deal of work to be done (Impossible sales goals) for a misleading and miserably low "commission" structure. Average of $70-85 a month if you are lucky! I should also mention, in the short time that I have had misfortune of working in the Sanford location, the store has been the victim of theft on three separate occasions during normal business hours by multiple individuals each time. I have never worked for a place that I feel unsafe coming to work everyday. Even after multiple requests for security tools, such as cameras, for the safety of it's employees, there is a continued irresponsibility shown by RSW Group. That being said, I have absolutely no interest to be present if, or rather when, a theft escalates to a more life-threatening situation, especially for such low wages and "commission".

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Look Elsewhere

      Nov 13, 2014 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have a great portal that employees can use to access any company information that is very friendly to use. The ticket system they use to make corrections at their locations is very helpful and user friendly. The office staff in Missouri is friendly & helpful.

      Cons

      They require management to work 45 hours each week but only pay 40. Their hourly rate of pay is does not reflect the amount of duties and responsibilities they hold you accountable for. The commission is based off "hoops" to jump through, and the at risk money for managers is based off an uncontrollable factor. You could work very hard all month and the store do very overall and not receive any compensation for it. My direct management had no direct input for the overall growth of the store, myself or my employees. I stressed the want for growth in the company but never received any coaching or development plan.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job, but there's a reason why they're always hiring.

      Jan 11, 2016 - Retail Sales Consultant in Hollister, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff and management in my area, as well as every store and training session I was part of. Decent benefits package offered. Reasonable flexibility in scheduling. Most stores were well stocked and the training was of high quality.

      Cons

      Inconsistent commission structure. Constantly changing, with no way of knowing exactly how much you'd earned until payday. Empty promises during every change, of how much more we could make, but in practice it was never possible. Often times it just caused a headache for the employees and store managers, alike. Also, too much focus on the pressure to sell various products and services at specific times that offered little to no compensation payout for the salesman. We have no interest in going out of our way to push a product that offers no advantage to us.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      WORST JOB EVER!

      Oct 14, 2015 - Store Leader in Missouri City, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am not sure about the positive. The customers were great! Nothing else was good. Literally nothing. Do not work here. If you do now, RUN!

      Cons

      There is absolutely NO work life balance. When you leave work and drive past fast food restaurants and think that would be better, that's because it probably would. Area managers (I affectionately refer to the last one I had as the spawn of satan) are liars. Don't even think about getting sick or not being able to get out of your house with a foot of snow. They truly do not care. Even upper management does not stay with the company. I had 3 total area managers, 2 of which left because they were being forced to write people up for things they had no control over. When you leave voluntarily, like I did because I found another job, they will do an inventory and things are suddenly "missing." The company does not reach out to ask about these things. They call the police and let THEM contact you. It doesn't matter that you think you are leaving on good terms. Speaking of leaving, if you leave you can count on missing 2 months of commission. Trust no one. Anyone above a sales associate is corrupted. One more thing, they have had trainings and had people submit glassdoor reviews and share them with the group. Some of them are inaccurate. Especially the ones in January 2015.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 113 Reviews

    Work at Red Skye Wireless? Share Your Experiences

    Red Skye Wireless logo
    or