Red Ventures Reviews

Updated May 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Red Ventures CEO Ric Elias
Ric Elias
839 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, fun work environment(in 58 reviews)

  • "Bowling alley, subsidized meals, happy hours, unlimited/untracked PTO, indoor basketball court, tennis courts, beautiful campus just south of Charlotte(in 57 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not the most exciting problems, some people struggle with work/life balance(in 50 reviews)

  • "Distance from charlotte to fort mill(in 35 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of Red Ventures

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Red Ventures and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Apr 10, 2021 - Backend Engineer in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Work on cool projects 2. Management cares about personal development 3. High level of social impact

      Cons

      Many parts of the company you just support blogs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      An okay place to get started in sales

      May 12, 2021 - Inside Sales Representative in Fort Mill, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Every job I've applied to after working at Red Ventures treats me like a war veteran. The job may be hard to get through but having it on my resume has only helped me. The work environment is super cool if you're just starting out working in the professional world and you'll make some amazing friends here. As far as my team and leadership went, they gave me all the tools I needed to succeed here and I overall enjoyed my time spent at Red Ventures.

      Cons

      You WILL get burnt out. Never have liked the idea of having to press a break button to simply go to the bathroom. If you're not constantly taking calls, be prepared to have someone from work force pinging you the second you aren't available. Like I said, it's a great starter job and looks good on the resume. If you're not planning to stay and grow in the company then I highly suggest staying for a year for the experience and then bouncing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. Red Ventures - Sales | Division of Red Ventures
      5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great but Competitive!

      May 13, 2021 - Sales Professional 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic benefits, excellent training, competitive atmosphere, and excellent work from home resources!

      Cons

      The only major downside is you need to be able to multitask at a high level, otherwise you may suffer work rate penalties as your time is constantly being monitored. It can be a bit overwhelming at first, but eventually you adapt.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      3.0
      Current Employee

      Great company, horrible compensation for senior leaders

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Vice President in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      RV has a tremendous culture and people. There is so much exciting work to do and I've enjoyed all the experiences I've had. It is a great place to start your career and build skillsets. It is not a great place to generate wealth once you have those skillsets.

      Cons

      Despite how much I love this company, I'm looking for other employment due to the below market compensation for senior leaders. The major con on RV is around long term equity incentives for senior management. Equity plans start at around $1M for Senior Directors and grow to $4-6M for EVPs. BUT, that is paid out over 6 years and is completely back loaded. So, not only is it an abnormally long vesting cycle, the majority of the compensation is paid out in the last couple of years of the plan. In addition, the equity is very low for senior leaders working at a high growth company that's challenging to work at. I've had offers recently (thanks to WFH) for 2-3x my equity package. If you're a VP or higher and compensation is a high priority for your employment, I wrote this so you're aware of the discount you'll have to take in working here. It's unfortunate but it's real and everyone, literally everyone including Presidents (as they've shared with me) thinks RV is cheap in how it pays senior leaders (and that's despite building a company that's $10B and growing 20%).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Meh

      May 16, 2021 - Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of young people; super competitive; chance to make decent money

      Cons

      Leadership can be hit or miss

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. Red Ventures - Sales | Division of Red Ventures
      4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great as far as call centers go

      May 3, 2021 - Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They offer daily contests to help boost moral and provide extra financial incentives

      Cons

      In the current work from home environment you miss out on many of the benefits the of being in the headquarters that would make this job so much more enjoyable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing culture

      May 8, 2021 - Director of Student Services in Plantation, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture, great leadership, fun, invigorating and purposeful

      Cons

      Unfortunately my department was closed

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Best company I've worked for so far... overall

      Mar 31, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Fort Mill, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I moved across the country to work for a company I'd never heard of because it seemed like a pretty cool place to work. It absolutely exceeded my expectations in almost every way. The people are smart, passionate, friendly, and the company has many opportunities to grow as an engineer. Not only that, but I believe that the CEO (Ric) and Co-Founder (Dan) both really care about their employees and want the best for them. This is something I've never said before and usually feel the exact opposite about high level leadership in other companies. The few times I've seen them have to make the hard decisions that large and growing companies have to sometimes make, they have done the best they could to make the impact on the affected employees minimal. They also make a strong positive impact in the local Charlotte community and make it a great place to live. Great medical insurance, decent benefits otherwise.

      Cons

      While the company is the best company I've worked for so far, it doesn't come without its problems. Every company has problems. I think all of RV's problems can be fixed if they are addressed. * Pay is much lower than industry standard * The review process is badly flawed as it only rewards highly visible positions and small teams that don't interact with a lot of external sources are extremely undervalued. Peer reviews only work if you have a sufficient source of peers. It boils down to people getting reviewed by someone they interacted with for 20 minutes months ago. This last review cycle I had 3 of those assigned to me, and one who moved off my team about 8-10 months previously. I turned them all down. Then your manager's review has to match or at least come close to whatever random "peers" they found to review you, for some reason. On top of that, individual review sections also boil down to a score of 1-4 instead of 1-5 or 1-10 and you're not allowed to give someone all 4s. * Because of the above review processes, bad engineers can be promoted further than their capabilities and relying on a title to pull in talent from another team or vertical is mostly useless. It also obviously leads to lots of bad middle management. * While I love the top leadership and most of their direct subordinates, quality can degrade quickly from there depending on your vertical and team. It's probably a 50/50 shot to get a good manager, director, or VP+. * Unrealistic deadlines can lead to burnout. When you have a team of multiple engineers telling you something will probably take a year, don't act surprised when your 3 month deadline isn't even close to a finished product. People aren't going to work 16hr days to meet that. * The company is still refining its Software Development culture. Many Directors and above come from when the company was all landing/marketing pages or internal software. Complex interactive products that find their way to the public have a completely different process and set of standards.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast tracks your career

      Apr 28, 2021 - Senior Associate in San Juan, PR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Visibility into every industry - Everyone owns key parts of individual businesses they work on - Amazing leaders and friends - Always adapting

      Cons

      At times too competitive between colleagues

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. Red Ventures - Digital | Division of Red Ventures
      4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      May 4, 2021 - Director of Data in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It can be a fun place to work

      Cons

      I really can't think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,281 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Red Ventures Job Seekers

    Strategic Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Red Ventures? Share Your Experiences

    or