Red Ventures "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Ventures Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Red Ventures CEO Ric Elias
Ric Elias
721 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best work environment i've experienced so far(in 53 reviews)

  • "Whether working in the state of the art facility or playing in the bowling alley or basketball court, everything about Red Ventures is fun(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance & stress of the sales role(in 41 reviews)

  • "The energy went from a hyped up place all about making money to a depressing call center where people hate their jobs(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Sales Agent in Miramar, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, great training, management is very respectable. You are the company and they make that known. They treat every employee as royalty.

    Cons

    Different commission structure every month but that's understandably for a sales call center

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2016-02-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Was a good place to make money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Professional V in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They train you quickly and efficiently giving you all the resources to be a good salesperson. Great benefits and 401k. Positive people.

    Cons

    No job stability. It’s very easy to get demoted or fired if you do not perform consistently. Also they micromanage you. You only get 30 minutes of break time every day to use the bathroom/get water/ect. If you go over the time limit you are heavily penalized. Also you only get 8 sick days for the entire year. If by any circumstance use more than that you are immediately terminated. So if you get the flu and are out for two weeks even with a doctors note you’re job is over. The compensation plan has also suffered over the years. People make a small fraction now of what they used to make three years ago. All the top sales people have quit because they aren’t making what they used to and they have cut out a lot of the perks and incentives for higher ranking sales people over the years. It was a really good place to make money a few years ago, but that ship has now sailed. Management hides the fact that business isn’t doing well. The energy went from a hyped up place all about making money to a depressing call center where people hate their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-10-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Sounded way too good to be true....turns out I was right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Professional in Fort Mill, SC
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Really nice campus. -Lunch is cheap.

    Cons

    -Recruiters for the sales professional role say whatever you want to hear in order to get you in, but nothing they say is true. -Basically conjoined with your computer all day. -Supervisors play favorites. -Have unrealistic goals. -Just another call center. -Constantly change the compensation plan to limit the amount of money you make.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-10-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "DO NOT work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Served free lunch on Mondays. And only because they give shorter lunches that day.

    Cons

    Terrible hourly pay, worse commission structure. You get 30 mins for break. Need to use the bathroom? It comes out of your break. Out of break? You better hold it or it comes out of your UPTO which you'll get fired for if you run out. It's the worst call center I've ever worked at . It's a rotating door. My training team started out with about 22 reps. 8 weeks later only about 5 of us are still here, all with plans to leave. There's no sick days. They don't accept doctors notes. You can be fired if you have a medical emergency, car trouble or need to leave early for childcare reasons. The system is set up for them to cheat you out of your commission. (some) unqualified managers who'd never even worked in sales before and give awful tips. I have much better paying job lined up and am preparing to leave, myself.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-09-27
  5. Helpful (2)

    "An accurate review from a current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training, good benefits, on-site amenities like gym and cafeteria

    Cons

    There is a reason most sales agents only last a few months at RV. It’s extremely high stress with little room for advancement, and it’s apparent from the beginning that you are just a number. You used to be able to make good money, but it is becoming increasingly harder to make a decent commission check with the constant change in comp plans. It’s also becoming more and more micro managed, which makes the stress level even higher. It starts out great with a fun and engaging training program, but you soon learn that this place is nothing more than a glorified call center with shady business practices.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-05-30
  6. "Inside Sales Representative (Allconnect)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This job made me into a better sales agent, it bettered me as an individual, and the health insurance was phenomenal

    Cons

    I had 30 minutes per day to use the restroom where management had no restrictions. It is the most micromanaged job on the market today. Our lunches were cut every day and we just about always worked at least 1-2 hours extra when they cut our lunches. The biggest issue with this job is the fact that you are reminded that you are expendable from the minute you walk in the door. In addition, if our calls were unsellable due to reasons beyond our control, they were counted against us. At the end of the day, it's a call center, one of the hardest jobs in the world. On our business, it was the closest to cold calling that you could get. Yes it's inbound calling, but the utility transfers just about never knew they were being transferred.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-02-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Misleading Job Descriptions & High Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Trainers were friendly, food costs were great, base pay of $15 seemed good until you actually began working. If i had to do it again I would do the few weeks of classroom training, take the decent check & leave before i had to hit the floor full time.

    Cons

    RV is just a call center machine that almost everyone leaves when they realize they are making almost no commission off of their hard earned sales. They make it so hard to achieve sales goals that even one slow sales day effects your overall numbers. Going into work everyday knowing you are going to end up arguing with a handful of people about internet & tv is draining. Managers try but it is very easy for them to pick a call apart and give a big speech on using “the process” and what they wouldve said on the call when you have had time to sit & think about it. Ive seen them fire their #1 seller so quick that you know youre time could come at any moment. Food price is great, but watch out as you tend to eat way more since it is so well priced. Sitting all day and eating so much had many people saying rv has their own “freshman 15” issue. Their rules are constantly changing & managers coach you to ride on the line to make the sale, which when they review could get you fired at no cost to the manager who told you what to say. All but 1 of the 10+ people I trained with have left. After about 2 weeks of being on the phones full time we all constantly discussed getting new jobs because the reality of the calls & the difficulty to hit goals set in & we all said we felt tricked. Lied about schedules when hiring. I worked the previous option of 4 days on, 3 off. They told me i could have the days off together (untrue) and did not inform me that I would be working 2-12 every night. As if that schedule and lies werent enough, they decided to remove the 3 day off option and said i had to chose one of my days off to work and I would now work 3-12. This left me with having to work friday-sunday in order to have 2 days off together or i would have to have my days off separate. There was no option in this either, they refused to work with me on a new schedule. Very frustrating situation to have a set schedule with no days off together or work till midnight all weekend. Some work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-12-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "College Students Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, cheap lunches, fellow employees are nice

    Cons

    Red Ventures is basically a large call center. All you’re doing is selling internet over the phone and DTV. They make you sell DTV on every call even if the internet provider has their own TV service (which i don’t get). They have all these nice amenities, but you never get the chance to use them. I was told i would be working a 10-7 schedule but ended up working 1-10. The schedule changes every 2 months along with the bonus structure, which was not told to me before accepting the job. Extreme micromanagement. Instead of coaching like the claim they do, if you are not meeting goals, they threaten you with your job. The turnover rate is extremely high, as I have seen countless people fired or quit in my short time at RV.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-10-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Agent in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers, Ilios, Dress code. Atmosphere Free food, Parking

    Cons

    It should be noted that it's pretty silly to take a call center job and complain about taking calls; that the LEAST of my issues. It’s the TYPE of calls you get and at times what you’re forced to do. Also DirecTV is RV’s bread and butter. All the other companies are just vessels to push you to sell it even more. As a result you get paid more for selling it than the products your business actually sells i.e. internet. Calls: DirecTV over everything short of them flat out saying “if you mention anything about TV I'm going to hang up the phone!” you better be trying to sell DTV on your calls. You have to perform a credit check on your caller before you can even tell them how much whatever it is costs. And the pricing on the marketing websites is only for bundling the services so you’ll likely be telling them a more expensive cost than they intended to pay. If they qualify with no money down you have to sell them, keep pressing until they hang up on you. If they have a deposit you’re supposed to tell them to basically beg, borrow or steal to get a card on file. It plays with your ethics but the logic management uses is; the customer was going to call anyway so if you don’t sell them someone else would’ve. If the call is unserviceable for internet you’re again expected to sell TV anyway. “The more calls you take the more opportunities you have to sell” Let's play this out without even looking into pay out per product Jane and Joe both sell 15 products – Jane took 20 calls, Joe took 35 calls. Janes conversion is 75%, Joes is 42.85% both had good days. But Janes was way better. This means her calls into credit; dollars per call and dollar per day are much higher than Joes resulting in her having better metrics to have a better multiplier. Joe would’ve needed 26 products to have a conversion like Janes. Management: The Performance Coaches don't really help on your calls because they haven't taken calls in forever and always in meetings. I'll say some do take the job seriously and want to see you succeed but it feels like there's a lack of understanding. Sometimes it'd be nice to feel you're actually being heard instead of just given a blanket response. Floor leads understand more because they take calls as well. The Senior PC are completely out of touch. You can't go to them for advice on anything related to taking calls. System issues: They’re a regular thing, you can’t make sales during them but you’re expected to continue to take calls. You have to submit tickets about the issues and IF enough people submit them and the issues lasts long enough they MIGHT remove those calls from your metrics. Unproductive time: You're expected to keep your unproductive time under 7%. In an 8 hour shift has you get your standard 30 min break and 1 hour lunch. If we’re busy they’ll cut your lunch or take it all together. Compliance: There a lot of rules as to what you can and cannot say on your calls. This would be fine IF everyone was held to same standard. The people in charge of listening to your calls kind of pick and choose when they want you to follow the rules. For example; you could be saying something on your calls every day since your first call but suddenly months later you’re given “points” for it. And too many points results in not having a job. Optimization: The better your sales, the faster you get calls and the better calls you get. Commission: Its capped. There are certain metrics you have to meet in order to get a multiplier. Without a multiplier all the products you sell you actually don’t get paid out for. The metrics required to get a multiplier are sometimes unrealistic because of the quality of calls. you have a rolling 28 day look back (rolling meaning the 28th day back falls off every day you add a new day of sales) that determines your multiplier as well. Off days/time off affect this. Comp plans: Change every month. And sometimes in the middle of the month as well if everyone is selling too well and the business you’re on will end up over budget. Your payout per product will vary. On the first of every month your 28 day look back in converted over to what that months comp plan metrics. This, more often than not, brings your multiplier down. Attendance policy: You can accrue 20 points total before being fired for attendance. For each hour you’re late or leave early you get 1 point. PLUS a point simply for getting points. You're given 2 personal allowances Each one can cover an entire shift or up to 5 sick days with a doctor’s note (it automatically pulls from your PTO so you’re still payed for those hours you didn’t work). Over 5 points makes you ineligible for promotions, 10 points for 3 months in a row and you’re fired as well. Turnover is incredibly high. There is no job security. Nothing changes because they can just hire another you.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-08-11

    Red Ventures Response

    October 9, 2018Human Capital Team

    Thank you for taking the time to offer thorough insight into your frustrations. We're sorry to hear that you've had such a negative experience and understand your frustration with many of the circumstances and policies you’ve listed here. As you know, all policies at Red Ventures are designed to protect and serve the business, the customer AND the sales representative to the best of our ability - but we agree there are plenty of areas where we're not perfect and we appreciate constructive input from current employees. Right now we have several leadership efforts in progress to improve the experience(s) you’ve described, and we're especially focused on improving communication. To that effect, we encourage you to continue to openly and earnestly share this same feedback with your manager and leadership team, and to take ownership in helping us improve the agent experience for yourself and for others.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were great. Food is cheap. Training was fun and informative.

    Cons

    RV pretends to be something bigger than what it actually is; a glorified call center. Plain and simple. With that being said, being a Sales Agent isn't hard. You sit down, take calls, and upsell. Yet RV manages to make this way harder than it needs to be. They swear by their sales process which they think is fool-proof. If you deviate AT ALL you get talked down to like a three-year-old by upper management. They call this "coaching" but really it's just a nitpicking session where they blast you for the most insignificant reasons. I got put on disciplinary action all because I forgot to ask a certain question on a call. I still made the sale! RV's "do whatever it takes" sales tactics are extremely unethical. I was truly repulsed by the stuff RV forced me to say on a call. Lie, cheat, and steal is the name of the game here. It's hilarious how they pride themselves on "Making sales the right way" yet I was told multiple times to lie to customers if they owed a deposit, get their credit card number, then pull a fast one on them. Speaking of lies, RV will cheat you out any way they can. They claim to have "flexible hours", which is straight up not true. Your hours are picked for you before you even walk through the door and the best you're gonna get is 3pm-12am. I was also told that I would get paid double my hourly wage for mandatory overtime. This was also a lie. Take EVERYTHING you hear with a grain of salt. Stay FAR away from this place. I wouldn't even recommend it as an entry level job.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-08-12
Found 30 reviews