Red Ventures "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Red Ventures Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jan 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Red Ventures CEO Ric Elias
Ric Elias
721 Ratings
Pros
  • "Best work environment i've experienced so far(in 53 reviews)

  • "Whether working in the state of the art facility or playing in the bowling alley or basketball court, everything about Red Ventures is fun(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance & stress of the sales role(in 41 reviews)

  • "The energy went from a hyped up place all about making money to a depressing call center where people hate their jobs(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Performance-focused workplace that invests in their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly invested in developing talent within company walls Autonomous work environment and lots of ownership Flat org structure Lots of business units Frequent feedback and coaching Amazing extra-curricular workplace enhancements

    Cons

    Ever-growing, can feel like you are a small fish in a big pond Really high expectations for only average compensation

    Red Ventures2020-01-30
  2. "Decent job if you can stand terrible hours and enjoy phone sales."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have great training and coaching and a fun work environment with opportunities to move up to other positions.

    Cons

    The hours are miserable for new employees. You'll be working at least one weekend and usually abnormal shifts. You are encouraged to skirt around the truth when selling things and this can be draining for some who prefer a more honest job.

    Red Ventures2019-06-13
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Run..Run...RUN Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Casual Work Environment Food is subsidized

    Cons

    Where do I start? So much confusion and no structure at all. If you are an outside hire, you will be confused for a long period of time with no end in site. The senior management team gives no guidance on expectations, yet demands accountability. They delegate all their work, and do little to nothing about learning industry trends. It seems that all upper management came from sales, and all of them have been promoted within. This place puts the cult in culture. When I asked for feedback or guidance, I was met with micro management and frivolous recommendations like "Dont bring your laptop or phone to meetings." Every single person in all of our meetings had their laptops including senior management. They just want you to be a minion who follows their commands. Careful about companies who offer huge amounts of amenities and a large recruiting group. It usually means theyre hiding something and have a revolving door.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-05-10
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amenities- cheap meal options, basketball court, bowling alley Relaxed work environment, casual dress Great L&D opportunities

    Cons

    Unfair and discriminatory HR practices Declining culture Top heavy with senior leadership that is unfamiliar with day to day operations.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2019-01-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "The place looks cool, but do yourself a favor and just don't work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - About to Quit in Fort Mill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work Environment is nice Positive Co-workers

    Cons

    High turnover Unfair Bad hours and will work nights and weekends for at least 6 months or until you achieve a sales title. Ric has mentioned he is making it more difficult to achieve this as well. Brash decisions = unstable work enviornment Uncapped commission = impossible to make good commission No more company trip. Mexico was replaced with a 2 day on site event filled with random speakers and company information.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-12-17
  6. "Pros and cons are heavy on both sides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Performance Coach in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked up the "corporate ladder" in pretty short time. Absolutely hated being on the phones so moving into management quickly was a plus Managers made good money on a more consistent basis than sales reps Benefits were great overall (subsidized meals, 401k, and health benefits) Definitely a fun work environment with fun people to work with

    Cons

    At first, managing was exciting as you were given a lot of autonomy to drive your team's performance. Over time, there were strict rules in place to how, when, and what you coached your agents on We received new commission plans every month and usually 1-2 weeks into the new month. Some months, the goals were simply unreachable. I had a middle-tier team with goals that surpassed the performance of top-tier teams Your team, schedule, and division in the business can change overnight and frequently. Agent's comp plans change monthly, and usually not for better which they pass their frustration along to their manager which we have absolutely no say in Office politics are very real here. I did not receive my promotion until I sucked up to the right people Like the sales reps, job security is an absolute illusion at this company. All it takes is one slip up for you to be let go or demoted back to the phones.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-12-07
  7. "Inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Red Ventures full-time

    Pros

    Lots of money. Great food court. Fun work environment

    Cons

    Reduced lunches but still weren’t bad

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-09-23
  8. "Red Ventures is one of a kind to say the least"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time

    Pros

    Best work environment i've experienced so far. Management were extremely helpful and well spoken. Great pay.

    Cons

    Incredibly demanding and stressful as a result. Many long exhausting hours.

    Red Ventures2018-05-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Sales Agent in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is the best part, I personally like working on commission because you pretty much can decide how much you want to earn and the hourly is already good too. After pay is work environment for sure, I love the open door culture and everyone is super chill. The benefits are really good too insurance, 401k, discounts on several places, paid time off and after a certain time you start getting shares.

    Cons

    It can be pretty stressful, going back to the commissions, sometimes it’s out of your control and it’s hard to not let it get to you.

    Continue reading
    Red Ventures2018-02-16
  10. "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Red Ventures for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, Easy going work environment

    Cons

    Unorganized, no proper communication after interview process

    Red Ventures2018-01-30
Found 53 reviews