Redwood Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Redwood Credit Union Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Fantastic opportunity to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Lending Officer in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Redwood Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teamwork, support, salary, culture, growth

    Cons

    Long hours at times and weekends occasionally

    Redwood Credit Union2019-01-30
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Something is changing here..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Santa Rosa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Redwood Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Best of the best employees and co-workers here. Most non executive employees are hard workers and want to do the right thing. Very helpful, polite and servant hearted. Working conditions are beautiful, clean. Community presence is strong and RCU is a well respected financial institution in the North Bay.

    Cons

    The pay is very low - almost below market for most. I remember being turned down for trying to pay a new hire .10 cents more per hour. This CU was lauded for having the highest ROI in the nation out of all CU's - use that to pay your employees more. Efficiency ratio is applauded at about 50% which kills employees. The best ones are burnt out due to tons of manual, non-automated reporting and management by crisis.... Lots of money is poured back to the non-profit and Membership but employees are often overlooked, underpaid, and not valued by executives. There is an extreme focus on being "perfect" and never tarnishing the brand.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people more; value/recognize the ones that lead the organization and prove that they are top performers and truly care about the members and the CU. Automate, automate, automate (excel spreadsheets for reimbursements, paper shuffling for job openings that still need exec signatures, etc.) Offer flexibility for remote or shift work. Stop trying to be perfect to the outside and take care of and protect your... employees.

    Show More
    Redwood Credit Union2019-03-02
  3. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I worked at Redwood Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were many opportunities for advancement, raises and bonuses every 6 months dependent on performance review. Do your job and work hard and you’re golden. Opportunities for self promotion.

    Cons

    Busy! Hard work everyday and sometimes can get to be very overwhelming but it depends on what branch you work at.

    Redwood Credit Union2018-12-20
  4. "Talent Acquisition Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Redwood Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Amazing company culture, unparalleled in our local community. If you are looking for a company that genuinely cares about it work, members, our community and their employees - RCU is the place to look.

    Cons

    I am fairly new, so I have nothing to report with respect to cons yet, but I will say that nothing of paramount importance has jumped out at me as a stark negative attribute of the organization.

    Advice to Management

    Keep leading the way - and encourage the Heart!

    Redwood Credit Union2018-11-09
  5. "Proud to Work for this Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Redwood Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    I'm proud to work for an organization who deeply cares about the community and their employees. I feel valued, heard and appreciated for my contributions. I have supportive management, and have consistently worked with talented people who are kind. I'm grateful for the growth opportunities I've had over the past 7 years, and look forward to continuing to develop at Redwood Credit Union.

    Cons

    It would be great if there was a work from home option for back office staff. It would also be great if they offered part time positions for back office staff.

    Redwood Credit Union2018-08-03
  6. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Redwood Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    constant 40 hours every week

    Cons

    customer service can be stressful when handling members finances

    Redwood Credit Union2018-07-22
  7. "senior msr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Redwood Credit Union part-time

    Pros

    great pay good people good hours

    Cons

    none overall good company to work for

    Advice to Management

    hire more from within

    Redwood Credit Union2018-07-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Teller at San francisco Market St. Branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Redwood Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, close to Bart station

    Cons

    Dysfunctional branch manager, not knowledgeable of branch operations and procedures, go around the branch like a lunatic checking people's pockets to make sure nobody has a cell phone with them. Cell phones not allowed policy taken to a different level at Redwood Credit Union San Francisco branch, at the point that generates a hostile working environment and a violation of your privacy. Not a clue about managing,... or having some sort of respect for employees, lately focusing only on sales and not on the members, not too different than working for a big bank like Citibank or Wells Fargo.

    Show More
    Redwood Credit Union2018-04-15
  9. "Member Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Redwood Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong community presence. Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Low compensation. Very slow career advancement.

    Redwood Credit Union2017-10-05
  10. Helpful (3)

    "MUST ALWAYS PUT Member before Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Redwood Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with. Laid back

    Cons

    Even if the member is over the top screaming and angry you still have to be overly friendly to them instead of asking them to leave or else you can get written up. They want you to drink the Kool-Aid and become "one of them".

    Advice to Management

    Upper Management should focus on retaining high performing staff.

    Redwood Credit Union2017-04-27
Found 32 reviews