Redwood Logistics Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
61%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Redwood Logistics CEO Mark Yeager (no image)
Mark Yeager
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Redwood provided me with the opportunity and training to work in the ever expanding field of logistics(in 20 reviews)

  • "New upper management open to learning and have made positive changes(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Unfortunately the nature of the business leads to long hours and some stressful situations which can impact employee stamina in the long run(in 11 reviews)

  • "No cons for Redwood at this time(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Fast Paced Company That's on the Move

      Mar 24, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Strategically investing in employees and departments - Developing and marketing innovative tech products that are industry leading - Great culture that stays true to the core values - Continued philanthropic focus while having fun

      Cons

      - The tranpsortation industry is intense in the post-Covid environment and not for the faint

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You will compete with everyone, even with your own team.

      Nov 19, 2020 - Carrier Sales and Operations in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Really cool work environment. - Management are really supportive and are always there to support you in anything. You can ask as many questions as you want and you will always find an answer. - You will get a chance to meet really fun people.

      Cons

      - seniors carrier sales have better tools than you that help them cover there draw and make there commissions. Don’t expect that you will be able to book a good paying load based of your outgoing phone calls. All the money loads are posted to their direct phone number. You will always get the lift overs. You will know what exactly do I mean when the time comes. - It can be stressful, and you can get burned out easily. -Forget working 8 hours days or 40 hours week. If you decide to leave on time, your leader will look at you as you left early. You will always need to cover your teams loads before you go home. - After you get out of “ training pod” you will be pushed to hit you draw, working on a Saturday will be suggested, but on a pushy way. - Redwood is a private business. The list of names of who will get promoted to management is already written in the back books. Therefore, don’t be expect a career with any promotions.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Laid back atmosphere

      Mar 17, 2021 - Solutions Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      cool people cooperative team and supportive environment

      Cons

      culture in the knowledge services department could use some working on, but its still great

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Redwood Logistics Response

      Director, HR

      Thank you for your feedback! It's great to hear you have positive things to say about the team dynamic. We will continue to explore ways to improve culture for you and your peers to make your experience at Redwood more rewarding!

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Redwood lost its loving feeling

      Feb 9, 2021 - Information Technology in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Flexibility to work remotely * if you like constant change, you’ll get it here * Co-workers & team (we were all in it together ... the good and the bad). * the culture (prior to 2019)

      Cons

      * Leaders didn’t communicate which lead to lack of guidance. I like being autonomous and self-driven in my work but with lack of communication (1-on-1, department, written) I really felt on my own. * Too many leadership changes which didn’t make you feel invested in work and the above point didn’t help. * Lack of professional improvement. Last two years I was there, my requests were either completely ignored or denied. This was despite the fact leadership said they were going to invest in this. As were my employees’ s requests. * Lack of culture (2019 to present). I know there are teams that really have that but my department didn’t. Too many changing faces and lack of leadership driving it and it basically felt like you were just punching the faceless clock. * Project Management was a complete mess, driving off the PM’s to greener pastures elsewhere. * My last two years I put in an insane amount of hours to make sure I got the job done. Requests for help didn’t do much. I’d get this in return: “The business needs this done or ... (insert job on line, CI is watching this, etc)”; “It’ll slow down after this project”; “Prioritize!” “Oh, wait, change that priority! This is more important now.” With each project nothing changed. It was more of the same.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ok place to work

      Mar 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast growing and unique culture.

      Cons

      If you do not like open desk space, loud music, and booze, it is not for you.

      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Easy to get in hard to make it

      Feb 9, 2021 - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do a good job of investing in you. They put you in a good position to sell.

      Cons

      Long hours. If you are not getting to that next level where you are making a lot of money get out.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      High pressure

      Oct 16, 2020 - Business Development Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great managers, friendly people. You get out what you put in.

      Cons

      High pressure to perform. PE owned only adds to fire.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard, Hard Grind

      Nov 10, 2020 - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Can be lucrative if you put in the years, company culture is fun and the music is good. Leadership is strong and can be supportive if you reach out.

      Cons

      Misleading the time and effort that's required for success. Compared to other sales, the industry is very transactional. Put employees in uncomfortable situations. They'll give up on you easily, high turnover position

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      From File Clerk to Director

      Nov 27, 2019 - Director in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started working for Redwood back in 2010 as file clerk making an hourly wage. Within 3 months, I was on salary. They saw potential in me that I didn't see at the time. It wasn't long before I realized this 'job' could be a career. I started to develop this passion for the job that I hadn't had elsewhere before. I was doing and creating work that I could be proud of. I also get to work with people I like and feel the same way I do about the job. My boss has a level of integrity that I both admire and respect. I went from file clerk to Director of my department within years of being at Redwood. This is 100% because of the work I put into it. That's something I'm always going to be proud of.

      Cons

      I would like to see a 'Work From Home' option once in a while. A better retirement plan (contribution) **Pay** (I will never be complacent about the salary I get) Benefits (health insurance) could always get better.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Environment, Solid Growth Potential

      Jan 23, 2020 - Carrier Procurement Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My previous company was acquired by Redwood, and while those transitions typically can be difficult, it has been a very positive experience. The environment on the floor is electric, the people are great...... very easy to work with. I work on the procurement side, which can breed contempt from rep to rep due to the competitive nature of the job, but there is a real sense of team here. Everybody, more or less, is on the same page, which is refreshing. There are also multiple avenues in which an employee can grow in terms of career mobility. There's also a lot of different branches of the company......so if you find you're an employee that is struggling in whichever department you may be in, I've seen firsthand that Redwood doesn't just cut you loose, they'll look to find the best fit within the company. Overall, i have been very happy in my experiences here.

      Cons

      Any way you look at it, RW is a freight brokerage, if you've worked at one, and you just hate the line of work, that's not going to change.

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 99 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Redwood Logistics Job Seekers

    Carrier Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Operations Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    SCS Client Support Coordinator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Redwood Logistics? Share Your Experiences

    Redwood Logistics logo
    or