Reed Business Information "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Reed Business Information Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Reed Business Information Chief Executive Officer Risk and  Business Analytics Mark Kelsey  (no image)
Mark Kelsey
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Preferable to be based in the London office rather than Sutton(in 10 reviews)

  • "Micromanagement & lack of knowledge in senior management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I worked there for over 10 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great hours, work life balance and management. Management always open to new ideas on how to improve processes. Collaborative environment, fostered development. Great communication from the top down.

    Cons

    Due to their size, change implementation could be a little slow.

    Reed Business Information2014-02-05
  2. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Database Administrator in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, you couldn't ask for nicer people to work with. Very open to new technologies and trying new things. I would go back there in a heartbeat.

    Cons

    Middle management can be a bit of an annoyance, but far from the worst I've dealt with. The company can be a bit lacking in direction at times, but then what company doesn't feel that way?

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2013-11-13
  3. "interesting but tasteless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Strategic Account Manager in Oak Brook, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reed Business Information

    Pros

    A great work/life balance. A laid back work enviornment.

    Cons

    Management team was conniving and selfish. Employees were kept in the dark.

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2010-12-09
  4. "Nice place to work with some notable drawbacks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Highlands Ranch, CO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Business Information

    Pros

    There are some great people working here. They are very good at letting you know how you are doing at the end of the year with your PDP. They do have a lot of vacation days, especially after the 2nd year. And the day before a holiday day or weekend, you get to take a half day which is a huge plus.

    Cons

    In our department there is not a lot of flexibility when it comes to work/life balance. They will not consider telecommuting even though it would be entirely possible. I feel that at times the senior leadership is "stuck" in their ways and won't consider how changes could be a positive move forward. For a company this size the health benefits are quite poor. You pay a lot for not great coverage compared to other companies I and my husband have worked for in the past.

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2008-11-20
  5. "Very good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sutton, East Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good work life balance Very relaxed atmosphere Good benefits A lot of opportunities to learn new things and progress in your career

    Cons

    Paying a bit less than a lot of other jobs in London

    Reed Business Information2020-02-20
  6. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England

    I have been working at Reed Business Information full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    Tech debt is a bit of a problem in some areas

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2019-12-02
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Was a great company until recent changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sutton, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are professional, competent and friendly. Work life balance is good in some departments. Very close to the Sutton train station. Ability to work from home. Good direct managers.

    Cons

    Restructuring leading to redundancies, constant changes not managed or communicated properly. Too much work leading to issues with work, life balance, although this has only been an issue more recently. Becoming more aligned with the parent company the RELX group has not worked out well for me.

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2018-11-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good overall company to work for but some sub companies can be dead ends compared to others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good holiday, pension, emphasis on work life balance, social consciousness and employee satisfaction is emphasized by parent company.

    Cons

    Progression is significantly better benchmarked, managed and achievable is some businesses compared to others within rbi. While generalist functions are standardised as supposedly movable between businesses, management in some businesses have less regard for their employees and can become dead ends. Specialist functions can be even more held back.

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2018-03-26
  9. "Good environment and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work Positive atmosphere Good work life balance

    Cons

    Salaries not as competitive as others

    Reed Business Information2017-09-23
  10. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Executive in Sutton, London, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Business Information full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance with fair benefits. Generally most people are friendly, overall it's a good working environment.

    Cons

    Salaries are low compared to other larger organisations. It can be difficult to progress. It can also be very difficult to make changes (depending on department).

    Continue reading
    Reed Business Information2017-05-17
Found 22 reviews