Reed Exhibitions Reviews | Glassdoor

Reed Exhibitions Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Reed Exhibitions CEO Chet Burchett
Chet Burchett
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment to make friends in.

    Cons

    The pay isn't great and they will keep you a temp for as long as possible.

    Reed Exhibitions2018-02-08
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Sales. Great people but low pay and lack of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, fun travel, interesting and rewarding work. Great place for recent grads or for those in their second wind after having kids or to get off the road and have a more easy and comfortable sales job.

    Cons

    Flat structure, meaning there is no middle management. You have your directors and VPs, and then your sales reps. No opportunity for promotion and growth unless you stay at the company for years and years. Also the pay is below market. Average base and average to low commission.

    Advice to Management

    Hire smarter and more motivated people, invest in the good people by paying them more and rewarding their hard work, create a strong and realistic track for leadership or career growth.

    Reed Exhibitions2017-12-15
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great experience in the Sales Academy - recently promoted to a show team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I highly recommend the Sales Academy at Reed for anyone who is looking for some additional sales training while jumping into a corporate position. Not only were we properly trained in trade show etiquette and the respective industries that we serve, but we were taught how to present ourselves and effectively communicate. From what I've seen, as long as you work hard and show that you care, you will grow and have... a lasting, enjoyable career here. Reed is the definition of a "work hard, play hard" environment - you're never in the dark about what is expected of you, and you'll enjoy laughs and fun times outside of the office along the way :)

    Show More

    Cons

    No negative experiences thus far

    Reed Exhibitions2017-11-13
  4. Helpful (7)

    "It USED to be a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Director in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get great experience in the events, industry, you will travel to shows, great people.

    Cons

    Company culture has become hostile, company seems to be forcing out any legacy staff in exchange for younger labor. Most of the long term people who were positive personalities have left due to the cultural shift.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the people doing the work and appreciate them. The hostile work environment will only lead to more people leaving. Remember, this USED to be a great company to work for, now it's a negative environment.

    Reed Exhibitions2017-11-08

    Reed Exhibitions Response

    January 4, 2018Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for sharing your thought and concerns. If we may clarify, Reed Exhibitions places a high value on our long term employees for their level of commitment and expertise that has been developed through the years. We work to create a culture of diversity and do not discriminate ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and work environment. Commitment to staying as leader in the industry. Many volunteer opportunities for employees to help the community.

    Cons

    Top heavy senior management and few clear paths for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Provide clear, achieveable metrics for advancement within the company. You will have better employee morale and loyalty.

    Reed Exhibitions2017-10-18

    Reed Exhibitions Response

    October 24, 2017Director of Recruiting

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and praise. Our recognition as a leader in the event industry is due in large part to the success and hard work of our employees. We are committed to the growth and retention of our talent and have created programs that are open to all that would ...

    Show More
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging opportunities,, wonderufl people, paid well.

    Cons

    Micro managment by some in upper mamangment

    Reed Exhibitions2017-10-16
  7. "Reed Exhibitions is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best part of working at Reed are the employees! They are fun, smart and hardworking. Fast-paced environment, great travel opportunities, fun industry. Good work -family life balance. Excellent community involvement. Great benefits

    Cons

    None to share at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Please retain your long term employees as they are offer invaluable knowledge about the business and the industries they serve.

    Reed Exhibitions2017-08-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "RE Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cash Applications Manager in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    knowing that you're helping people who actually need the help

    Cons

    none that i can think of?

    Advice to Management

    continue this rewarding program

    Reed Exhibitions2017-07-12
  9. "Fast-paced work environment; casual company culture & great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norwalk, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Frequent travel & perks, laid-back company culture, opportunity for career growth/movement within the company, excellent benefits & 401(k) match, fast-paced work environment, exposure to different trade shows & industries, support from senior management, ongoing professional development training, focus on rewarding & recognizing employees

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be hard to juggle if you don't excel in fast-paced work environments, organizational re-structures happen often

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on reward & recognition of employees, communicate clearly & effectively with news or changes that affect the organization at any level

    Reed Exhibitions2017-06-23
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Disappointing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Norwalk, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reed Exhibitions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great job right out of college to get your feet wet - Travel opportunities - Introduction to different and interesting industries - Has the potential to be a great place to work!!!

    Cons

    - Don't value talent; literally told "everyone is replaceable" - Don't compensate fairly - Workload is unreasonable; have to work serious overtime to achieve daily expectations - Office politics and culture is toxic and impacts how peers/teams work together - Limited opportunities to grow professionally; minimal training - Poor middle management; Upper management detached from real issues that impact employees

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people and your people will take care of you. And I don't mean with the occasional free lunch and ice cream. Don't take on more shows that you are willing to staff and pay your people the industry standard. You'd be surprised how hard people will work when they think you actually care about them.

    Reed Exhibitions2017-06-23
Found 58 reviews