Refinery Terminal Fire Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Refinery Terminal Fire Company Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
19%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Refinery Terminal Fire Company President/ Chief Executive Officer Lonnie K. Bartlett (no image)
Lonnie K. Bartlett
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and pay are great

    Cons

    None at the moment good hours

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2019-08-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Upscale Company with an Outdated Totalitarian Organizational Chart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Analyst in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay scale and operations are well versed and up to date. Most training on the operational side is paid for by the company.

    Cons

    Administration side is outdated with the exception of the IT department. IT is top notch, but not utilized as well as it could be. Communication lacks within the HR, Comptroller, Operations and IT departments as there are rarely meetings within the four. It is more closed door meetings about solutions to problems between two departments rather than open door meetings with all four departments to come up with solutions before the problems arise. The power for IT to automate many functionalities is there but is not wanted. There is favoritism and if you do what your told without giving advice (unless asked), you’re fine. EVERYTHING is still done with paper and much is wasted. This is another area in which IT could step in. I can compare the environment to walking on eggshells. When I was released, it was a huge weight off of my shoulders. They are VERY strict on time and clocking in and if you are one minute late, you must write a late memo to administration for record keeping. It was very intimidating to write those memos for just being one minute late. It could be from walking from the door to the time clock and be on a forth tardy of only one minute. If you are one minute late, you can be fired. Never alter your timesheet no matter how intimidating being one minute late is. Altering a timesheet for two minutes can get you fired no matter if the memos are intimidating.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2019-12-18
  3. "Earn your certifications while getting paid but almost still not worth the trouble"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Firefighter/EMT in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get paid through recruit school and reimbursed for all certifications once you pass Might be a good stepping stone but idk about career. Not a very high call volume could be a pro to some and usually only medical calls again pro to some comradery amongst the fire fighters snd drivers is usually pretty good snd even some captains but anything above that falls short

    Cons

    Terrible work environment from the company that starts at the top. They really only look out for their best interest not everyone's best interest and that's why you don't see a brotherhood like you would in most departments and such a high turnover rate either quitting or being let go for bs policies that not everyone will be kept up to the same standard depending on who you are. You can easily come to work for a 24hr shift and find out morning of you are now forced to stay 12 to 24 or more hours for coverage. They preach on learning but won't send you to get better training unless rtfc offers it in house. Be careful, watch your back and look out for yourself. And good luck.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2019-09-27
  4. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay that’s all nothing else and even the pay isn’t enough to put up with management

    Cons

    Management is lost and confused they need to realize that yeah the pay is great but the conditions are trash and don’t make up for the treatment. The only reason this company operates is if they have us the Firefighters!! Intimidation is not paramilitary... wake tf up. If you don’t have us YOU HAVE NOTHING

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2019-09-13
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Run away as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Refinery Terminal Fire Company

    Pros

    They have great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Management is deplorable. They only think about themselves and no appreciation for your good work. They give themselves huge bonuses annually but nothing to the rest of the employees.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2019-03-05

    Refinery Terminal Fire Company Response

    August 23, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for not making you feel that you were appreciated. We value all of our current and former employees. To further discuss your concerns please contact HR@rtfc.org. Thank you, RTFC.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Less then human."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay if you like to work overtime. Great health insurance if you don't have a family. Plenty of training.

    Cons

    Heath insurance for family is extremely high. Reprimands for little things that go wrong. No understanding from upper management. No compensation for being on call. Uniforms are hard to get, and often second-hand. Feeling of not being appreciated.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2018-06-14

    Refinery Terminal Fire Company Response

    August 23, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate all of your hard work and it does not go unnoticed. We apologize for not making you feel acknowledged. Safety is RTFC’s most important value and we would never want anyone to be harmed by little things that could be avoided. If you could please contact HR@rtfc.org. We would love to discuss ways we can improve your employment here at RTFC. Thank you, RTFC.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Cautionary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter/EMT in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing group of professional Captains and Firefighters. They hire with no prior experience and pay for certs. This job is good for getting your foot in the door. Get your paid education, experience, and once you’re fully vested, apply for an employer who values your commitment.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, this company is run by intimidation. It is the only real negative, but it’s enough to drive down morale. Especially when they decide to make an example of good employees to let you know that no one is safe. The most minor mistakes can result in severe punishments. It makes it hard to focus on your job because you’re always worried. HR is not approachable at all and gives the impression that they are there for the company and not the employee. The existing HR can’t be replaced because no one is willing to stick around and treat employees the way the company wants them to. The only Chief that had our back lasted about a year before being let go. Outside fire organizations and contract companies hear about all this and it makes it a little embarrassing.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2017-03-05

    Refinery Terminal Fire Company Response

    August 23, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! At RTFC we never want you to feel disrespected. RTFC is a para-military organization (similar to military structure) which is mentioned before agreeing to be hired. We do have a chain of command that we follow and if you ever need to discuss something you’re not happy with; Human Resources is always here. We also have a new HR professional, who would love to hear your concerns. Safety is our top priority and we always want to ensure that. You are always appreciated and we apologize for not making you feel that way. If you could please contact HR@rtfc.org. We would love to know more about how to improve. Thank you, RTFC.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Spiraling Down Quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are about the only thing this company has to offer and even that is paid by the client.

    Cons

    The worst leadership I have ever seen. The company is being run into the ground. Instead of looking for the good in its employees, the Senior Chief looks to punish his subordinates and is constantly pointing his finger at everyone except himself. Leadership starts at the top. RTFC will continue to lose its employees and clients until the leadership changes hands.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2017-04-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "This COULD be a 5 Star Company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Corpus Christi, TX
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits Package. Good Pay. Brotherhood among uniformed employees is great.

    Cons

    Disconnect between Administration and Uniformed Employees. Almost as if there are two different companies, and Firefighters are not treated respectfully, with exception to the benefits. Work schedule varies, required overtime/working on days off is a constant. Some employees want it all, and most enjoy a little bit of overtime, provided they can control when they work it. Unfortunately a lot of the overtime is last minute, and mandatory. Discipline to Recognition is off balance - Management does not always stand up for employees, or provide enough "Attaboys".

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2016-12-20

    Refinery Terminal Fire Company Response

    August 23, 2019Communications Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! Communication should always be open and transparent. We apologize that you did not feel respected and you are always welcome to discuss this with Human Resources. As a first responder, we are the first line of defense and are always on 24/7. Recently, we have restaffed to better serve our employees. We would love to hear further information about your concerns for further improvement. Please contact us at HR@rtfc.org. Thank you, RTFC.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Firefighter/EMT 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Refinery Terminal Fire Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good, but should be more than it is for the amount of work completed. We work for the refineries and do more than an operator but get paid less. Still better than any other fire department locally though.

    Cons

    Allot, the company cares more about making money then their employees. They will fire anyone for anything without a second thought. They say that they are the best and have the best equipment but in all reality the equipment is out of service more than it is in service. Things are reported as broke but left that way to save a dime. Things will continue to go downhill till someone is killed or badly hurt before they will open their eyes, and if it wasn't for the fine that they will receive due to the incident I highly doubt they would care.

    Continue reading
    Refinery Terminal Fire Company2016-05-23
Found 13 reviews