Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon Reviews | Glassdoor

Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 66 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon CEO Mark B. Ganz
Mark B. Ganz
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits including discounts with AT&T, Auto/Home insurance, and annual bonuses(in 7 reviews)

  • "Some good people who work there(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Then outsourced our health care to foreign countries(in 5 reviews)

  • "Management is greedy and very top heavy(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great mission great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Mission-driven (not for profit company), innovative, rewards hard workers fairly

    Cons

    Highly regulated environment, decision-making processes can be measured and a little slower than ideal

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2017-11-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Medical Claims Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Claims Specialist in Burlington, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great health benefits, incentives, flex hours, floating holiday

    Cons

    company tends to play favorites in their company and if they do not like you well then you are terminated

    Advice to Management

    My advise is stop bulling your employees and remember they are people too and everyone deserves a chance and should not be looked down upon if they are a bit slower or different.

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2018-12-18
  3. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time

    Pros

    Benefits start from day 1, good training program. Helpfully resource all around. Management really cares about you.

    Cons

    Hard to get days off, you need to request a year in advance. Scheduale not flexable

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2018-09-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time

    Pros

    Health insurance and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Training was not good.

    Advice to Management

    Better training

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2018-08-29
  5. "Customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon

    Pros

    Easy work. 4 ten hr days

    Cons

    Rough commute, low pay, boring

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2018-08-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with an identity problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    OK benefits and really great co-workers

    Cons

    Management turn over, and the selection of new managers that know nothing about the industry, creates problems

    Advice to Management

    Stop walking down the same road, people want their healthcare bills covered first and foremost, not fancy new internet tools.

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2018-05-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Portland, OR

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some divisions offer ability to work from home

    Cons

    Poor management. Way too many management changes and reorganizations.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers. Let employees know they count.

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2018-06-04
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Ok but not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food sometimes? Nice coworkers

    Cons

    Inflexible management. No career paths and limited training. Plenty of office politics to go around

    Advice to Management

    Shake things up, invest in your employees and do the right thing

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2017-03-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "aka Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oregon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A pay check, bonuses, and 401k, health insurance (but not fully funded)

    Cons

    After 28 years... observed the company going from a community based business to a game player. In the early days when the going got tough they started at top management to lay off the dead weight. Makes sense. Later they started at the bottom and piled work upon work on the employees. At one point I had two full time supervisor positions. Merge, merge, merge. Then outsourced our health care to foreign countries.... Wasted money and time on employee group therapy sessions, only to determine who to lay off and not get sued. Once a business becomes so big it loses touch with the people who matter. It's a perfect place to work for the contract mentality otherwise you will not win or be seen. I'm not bitter, or fired, or laid off. I retired. Just giving informed information to help you understand the environment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None because it would go unnoticed unless it agreed with what you are currently doing.

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2016-09-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "company that outsources jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Analyst in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They were a good company to work for.

    Cons

    They outsourced my job to India.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie to your employess.

    Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Oregon2016-08-09
Found 66 reviews