Regency Beauty Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

Regency Beauty Institute Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Joe Gaylord
57 Ratings
  1. "Full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minnetonka, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I Gained a lot of knowledge in many areas. For the most part the heath insurance was great. Learned from many different managers

    Cons

    Did not have s good family work life balance. Upper management was awful to work for. Lost sight of why they were a school in the first place.

    Advice to Management

    It is sad that the company had to close its doors but looking back over decisions that were made by the CEO and upper management it makes a lot of sence. Listen to the people around you doing all the work next time.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-10-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute

    Pros

    Taught young professionals my passion

    Cons

    Closed down 79 school without any notice

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-10-04
  3. "Meh!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute

    Pros

    The employees are nice and genuine.

    Cons

    They don't really care about the staff. They put money first, students second, and staff last. It's a challenging campus. The campus manager is a bit young and it shows. The students complain because she's never around.

    Advice to Management

    Headquarters needs a complete clean out. Some of them are rude to students and employees. They seem like they are under a lot of stress.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-08-14
  4. "Lead Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Instructor in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute for more than a year

    Pros

    Great manager, excellent co-workers, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Students run the school, don't have respect for the teachers

    Advice to Management

    Take control back from the students. Yes, they should have a good time, but teachers shouldn't be reprimanded for making the students follow the rules!

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-07-20
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Campus Manager trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Training Campus Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked with some amazing leaders, educators & students

    Cons

    Drastic change in upper management- new team have no morals or concern for students or staff

    Advice to Management

    Look at who's leading your field team - from 2009-2014 enrollment & success rate has plummeted. Upper management is compiled of snakes - so sad. Hayes or joe do you not see the changes in the company? How do they keep their jobs? Do they know too much?

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-08-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers. Students who really want to achieve their dream.

    Cons

    Incompetent senior leadership, no 401K match, little transparency

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-07-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Manager in Lansing, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very poor decisions made by this company. Questionable leadership that gives zero support to campus staff. Area managers and HR compromise documents to ensure the blame falls on campus managers. Don't work here.

    Cons

    This company made me hate an industry I've spent my whole career in. I will never work at another school.

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying and hire supportive area managers that know how to grow leadership.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-07-22
  8. "Just teacher with no room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Luma is a great concept for some learners. Hours are nice especially since you probably will have to work at a salon to compensate for your compensation.

    Cons

    Students run the company. Teachers have no authority. If you don't suck up to upper management you will never move up in the company. I wish I had more characters....

    Advice to Management

    Don't pay to relocate a manager that already had a school fail instead try promoting within the school. Listen to your teachers not just managers.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-07-21
  9. "Positive corporate company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HQ Staff in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regency Beauty Institute full-time

    Pros

    Regency is different than other corporations. The decisions that are made are based on the students. So much goes on behind the scenes that most will never see or here about - Pros/cons, brainstorming, team work, praise and feedback between all "levels" of employees. Management does their best to hire quality staff both in the field and at HQ.

    Cons

    Like others, would love to have sick time vs. Just PTO.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Regency should not be put into the corporate "bucket". Being up and coming and progressive is important in an ever evolving industry.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-03-28
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Corporate Machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instructor in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    Predetermined curriculum for lazy or uneducated teachers. Nothing else really. The entire school is a scam from top to bottom.

    Cons

    Terrible pay for teachers. Extremely high turnover rate. Does not promote from within. Only cares about the almighty dollar. Could not care less about the students or teaching staff.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within, give teachers more flexibility, Pay better, and lower tuition!

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-03-12
Found 99 reviews