Regency Beauty Institute Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Teacher

Regency Beauty Institute Teacher Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Joe Gaylord
4 Ratings
  1. "Company Closure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, benefits, paid time off. Freedom to operate the classroom how it works for you and your group of students.

    Cons

    Stress associated with teaching adult student artists. Also, too much change too fast attributed to its downfall in September 2016.

    Advice to Management

    Also, too much change too fast attributed to its downfall in September 2016. So sad to have to say goodbye to my Regency family.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-11-16
  2. "Was great until..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for, great pay, great hours

    Cons

    They closed and left us stranded.

    Advice to Management

    No advice needed as this company does not exist anymore.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-10-19
  3. "My family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Duluth, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Regency Beauty Institute has been the best place I have ever worked in my entire life. Stephanie is my campus manager and Shelly is my co-teacher and I wouldn't have it any other way. I have been taught and I have learned so much from these two and I think it's the greatest place to work!

    Cons

    There are no cons to describe the student store my campus manager or Shelly, they have been nothing but nice and encouraging. They have taught me both so much I idolized both of them to the fullest!

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-09-29
  4. "Just teacher with no room to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Luma is a great concept for some learners. Hours are nice especially since you probably will have to work at a salon to compensate for your compensation.

    Cons

    Students run the company. Teachers have no authority. If you don't suck up to upper management you will never move up in the company. I wish I had more characters....

    Advice to Management

    Don't pay to relocate a manager that already had a school fail instead try promoting within the school. Listen to your teachers not just managers.

    Regency Beauty Institute2016-07-21
  5. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Arlington, TX
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time

    Pros

    Teaching students was amazing. Best part of the job

    Cons

    Toxic work enviroment. Took abuse from staff

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff regarding other staff

    Regency Beauty Institute2015-12-17
  6. "Homophobia and violence in the workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Arlington, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The basic electronic curriculum is good

    Cons

    Absolutely no unity. The school culture is unprofessional and violent. The managers tend to only care and encourage the teachers about moving up the corporate ladder by ignoring the problems, as oppose to fixing and teaching the students to be the best artists and salon applicants in the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Stop encouraging and promoting teachers who are not team players and only consumed with control and promotion. Cease allowing favoritism from managers to specific teachers. Give sensitivity seminars for teachers and managers that have obvious prejudices toward homosexuals and other federally protected classes.

    Regency Beauty Institute2015-11-26
  7. "lead teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Shreveport, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Theory taught with film book. Excellent benefits. PTO. Paid Holidays. Medical. Dental. Vision. Everything computerized. Students have access to their progress reports daily.

    Cons

    No vacation time. Just PTO. If you miss a day you have to use your PTO so it's impossible to accumulate enough PTO to have a vacation. Also not enough time off around the holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in vacation days. Not just PTO. Give more days off around holidays.

    Regency Beauty Institute2015-10-07
  8. "Could care less"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Regency Beauty Institute

    Pros

    Love the students. Could be a great company, it used to be. I'm not sure what changed

    Cons

    Inconsistent, always changing and expect you to know it, high turn over, zero respect for educators

    Advice to Management

    I have been a full time employee for 4 years. I am being cut down to part time through no fault of my own. Shows how much you value your employees.

    Regency Beauty Institute2015-10-23
  9. "The grass isn't greener on the other side!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regency Beauty Institute

    Pros

    Regency is a great company to work for, I'm reading all of these reviews & it's astonishing to me! Seriousally!!! No job is ever "perfect" pays great, most everyone is friendly and very understanding! Employees really need to learn to be positive!

    Cons

    Negativity in co workers! No place is ever perfect. Regency over all is a great company to work for, only wish that the higher- ups would make their appearance known more often :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your best!

    Regency Beauty Institute2015-07-30
  10. "Corporate for-profit school."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Regency Beauty Institute full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monday through Friday daytime schedule. Innovative curriculum. When you have students that are committed to learning, you can really make a difference.

    Cons

    Corporate mentality. No upward mobility unless you want to work 60+ hours per week. Some teachers do not pull their weight and get away with it.

    Advice to Management

    Make all your teachers accountable for enforcing the rules.

    Regency Beauty Institute2014-08-12
Found 10 reviews