Regional Medical Center of San Jose Reviews | Glassdoor

Regional Medical Center of San Jose Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Regional Medical Center of San Jose CEO Mike Johnson
Mike Johnson
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A very busy hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All the OT you can handle

    Cons

    The IRS takes your OT away

    Advice to Management

    Provide breaks

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2013-02-16
  2. "For-profit shows all the way through"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pro is my RN team/colleagues.

    Cons

    Con is mgmt and upper mgmt.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees/RNs, not just your HCAP scores/pts.

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2019-04-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose full-time

    Pros

    I love my team. We work together well and I feel supported.

    Cons

    We are overworked and understaffed. These units are very busy and we do not have enough resource nurses or CNAs to help out.

    Advice to Management

    Need better staffing please

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2018-08-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good hospital for learning, nurses are overworked, Hospital is understaffed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Regional Medical Center of San Jose full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees work hard and are great at what they do. It is a good facility for a new grad nurse to learn basic skills.

    Cons

    Do not work here if you are used to teaching facilities. It is a step down clinically. Management is intermittent, changes every six months, doesn’t listen to nurses who have seniority and years of experience. There is not much opportunity for educational advancement, unless you decide to go back to school. The workload is heavy, and is borderline unsafe. They need more staff but can’t keep them, there’s lots of travelers.

    Advice to Management

    Make management permanent, listen to your nurses.

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2018-06-01
  5. "Monitor Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Monitor Technician in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are nice and willing to help.

    Cons

    Some nurses will always blame you.

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2017-12-08
  6. "Physical Therapist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, PTO, good medical/dental/vision benefits. Allowed some paid time to take con ed courses. Has stroke courses for you can take for free.

    Cons

    Meditech computer program for documentation isn't user friendly. Can be challenging to meet productivity goals. No con ed course allowance.

    Advice to Management

    Change the documentation system. Relax off the productivity goals. Grant continuing education money to therapists.

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2017-06-02
  7. "Growing but HCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose part-time

    Pros

    Growing and expanding services. multidisciplinary

    Cons

    very focused on HCA goal. Profit

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2017-05-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "RN managent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Assistant Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Regional Medical Center of San Jose full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The only pro was the staff I worked with.

    Cons

    Overworked. Understaffed. Demand good patient satisfaction but due to patient load make it impossible. Upper management totally detached from patient level. Don't listen to suggestions from nursing staff. Nurses don't take breaks and clock out before finish charting because are not allowed overtime. Was there 40 years and continued to get worse after purchased by HCA.

    Advice to Management

    More interaction with staff. Expend necessary funding for education. Don't expect nurses to finish on their own work time. Increase nursing assistants in staffing.

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2017-01-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "CEO needs replacing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regional Medical Center of San Jose full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are like domestic violence victims, placed in horrible conditions time and time again, but stay because they are a team and believe in the small hospital serving a challenging health population.

    Cons

    CEO and the corporate leadership who scrap every dollar from the organization. The CEO is out of touch and surrounds himself with yes-man who are ineffective.

    Advice to Management

    New CEO, any leader there greater than 10yrs, change them. Pay nurses more and staff effectively.

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2016-10-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "RN II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN II 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Regional Medical Center of San Jose part-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Hard working people.

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with its employees. They don't want to hear about how understaffed we are. One CNA for 30 patients. Sometimes no charge no resource nurse. If there is no nurse to assist with paracentesis, they will ask the floor nurse to assist.....unsafe. Charting can be redundant. Charting process is long and hard to learn. Lowest paid nurses in the area.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay your staff more. Please use EPIC charting!

    Regional Medical Center of San Jose2016-07-13
Found 18 reviews