Regional Municipality of Waterloo Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Regional Municipality of Waterloo Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
92%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Regional Municipality of Waterloo CEO Ken Seiling
Ken Seiling
13 Ratings
  1. "Negative Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Business Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Salary and benefits package

    Cons

    No innovation Negative colleagues Leaders who can't lead or manage staff CAO who can't get a handle on the big picture Poor hiring strategies Wasted resources everywhere Long serving employees who contribute nothing to moving forward Senior leaders show no respect for their employees

    Advice to Management

    Show a little respect for your employees from time to time and weed out the us v them attitude that prevails across the entire org.

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2019-11-17
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, flexibility

    Cons

    Huge variablity between departments, I had to join a union

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2019-06-09
  3. "Negotiations for right of way property acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Property Agent in Kitchener, ON

    I have been working at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to learn and grow

    Cons

    I have my home base in a nearby town and must rent here

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2019-04-09
  4. "PA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - P A in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, benefits and salary

    Cons

    A lot of hoops to jump through

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2019-03-29
  5. "Research Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Great staff , great benefits. some flexibility.

    Cons

    next to impossible to get promoted

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2019-02-19
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Never have to take your work home with you.

    Cons

    Working in a union is not ideal.

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2018-11-10
  7. "Part time only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kitchener, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Regional Municipality of Waterloo part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get 12.5% in lieu of benefits, night shift premium, flexible hours.

    Cons

    Part time positions are not supported by the Union. Impossible to get a full time position.

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2018-10-16
  8. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance Great co-workers Management is pretty supportive - at least in community services

    Cons

    Peaks and troughs in workload can be bewildering at times Client stress

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2018-10-15
  9. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Municipality of Waterloo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Region of Waterloo is a very supportive employer. There are great opportunities for employee development and advancement. The benefits and salary are great. In my department, I work with a great team.

    Cons

    Sometimes is takes too long to get things done because of the layers of approval required in Regional Government.

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2018-09-06
  10. "Good employee, good management, highly recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Regional Municipality of Waterloo for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in Waste Management - very friendly and easy going management, nice workplace events and flexible schedules

    Cons

    - Little slow at times - sometimes had a lot of free time

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Regional Municipality of Waterloo2018-08-19
Found 28 reviews