Cover image for Regis Corporation
Logo

Regis Corporation

Engaged Employer

Regis Corporation

Add a Review

Regis Corporation Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,150 of over 1K reviews
2.7
31% Recommend to a Friend
Regis Corporation CEO (Interim) Matthew Doctor
42% Approve of CEO

Found 1,147 of over 1K reviews

2.7
31%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Regis Corporation CEO (Interim) Matthew Doctor
Matthew Doctor
14 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I got a lot of experience and met many great people and stylists.(in 43 reviews)
  • "Hours are flexible with stylist schedules.(in 21 reviews)
  • "They do a lot of on going training with you that I love.(in 16 reviews)
  • "Great opportunity to show you learn and help your stylist growth and advancement in management(in 16 reviews)
  • "good coworkers(in 15 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Regis Corporation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    District Leader

    Jul 29, 2022 - District Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved traveling between salons and managing 13 salons. I enjoyed promoting and hosting events to campaign our brand. Interacting with newer stylists leading them on their journey to success

    Cons

    The company unfortunately closed down

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Opportunity -- Challenging Work

    Sep 2, 2022 - Paralegal in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The general atmosphere of the company is great, and they are extremely accommodating to work-life balance; The company is revitalizing itself, so being on the ground floor of that is exciting and allows you to expand your skillset and challenge yourself.

    Cons

    The workload can seem overwhelming, and the current technology is outdated -- making the workload that much more difficult (though, we're told this should be improving in the near future); The recent financial difficulties cannot be ignored, and it is reflected in the compensation. Taking advantage of the stock option would help offset this, but the stock-purchase plan (much like most of the current technology) is woefully outdated.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Regis Corporation team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It was okay

    Mar 2, 2022 - Designer in Bellingham, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our manager didn’t seem to be extremely micromanaged for a corporate business so we had a pretty great team in which we could all be ourselves! Our manager, April Wosser Long, was great at encouraging that! She was so positive and encouraging! A great stylist. Let us do our thing whenever possible and was supportive if we needed help. So grateful for her! So it’s a little hard to rate the company itself with that buffer. Prices weren’t super high or super low which is a necessary balance in a mall in a mostly middle class small city. The salon itself had a nice warm open floor plan, cool modern design, and good ventilation and air flow. And neutral bright light but without being too harsh. Relaxing yet energizing space.

    Cons

    Working minimum wage before tips. It’s like that at every single salon that pays hourly, but still not cool as a licensed professional in a slow location. Business was not great despite our best efforts. And we did not get shipments of product or retail on time. So we couldn’t sell as much as we were capable of! While being told by corporate to sell more! But turns out we were all on our way out, despite being explicitly told by corporate that we were not going to be shut down, despite the shutdown of other Regis salons around us, so that’s probably why. And we were given a literal day of notice before they shut down all three still Regis family salons in our mall.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Difficult work/life balance

    Aug 19, 2022 - Educator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, and senior leaders are supportive. The work is enjoyable and rewarding if it is something that ignites individual professional passion.

    Cons

    Leadership will not budge from requiring 50% mandatory travel. There could be times where a team member is traveled for three weeks consecutively within a given month, which is MORE than 50% travel. It also seems that leadership will make rules up as they go along, striking with surprises during situational instances that was never seen coming. This was a fabulous company to work for over a decade ago, sadly through leadership changes and sifting through multiple CEO visions in a short period of time it has caused massive deterioration.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Senior District Leader

    Oct 13, 2022 - Senior District Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Travel, fellow supervisors, creating teams, education to gain insight.

    Cons

    unstable; lack of leadership for upper leaders; several CEO and corporate restructures.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    awful

    Nov 21, 2022 - Hair Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Experience for beginning a career

    Cons

    Not flexible with scheduling, unfair environment

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Hair Salon

    Jul 25, 2022 - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Training and education were a focus here and I truly enjoyed that aspect of it.

    Cons

    It was very difficult to maintain happy employees. The pay I was able to offer starting stylists was not that great. After you complete an education, you are hoping to make more than minimum wage.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    They don't care

    Oct 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything is supplied, hourly pay, make your own hours, vacation pay

    Cons

    No raise ever, no severance pay , no bonuses, no appreciation for loyal hard workers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great for starting out

    Jul 23, 2022 - Hair Stylist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fair pay/commission plus commission on product sales. Classes with con ed hours also a plus. Great place to start building clientele and getting experience

    Cons

    I worked inside a mall so had to work mall hours including extended hours during the holidays

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Constantly Changing Business Org

    Aug 29, 2022 - Lease Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    OK pay, hybrid work model, sometimes you get free hair products

    Cons

    Constantly changing the business organization - constant fear of being laid off. Executives make a ton and associates get a fraction of a fraction of that. Leadership won't invest in non-customer-facing technology so have fun working with software from the '90s.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,147 Reviews
</>Embed

Regis Corporation Reviews FAQs

Regis Corporation has an overall rating of 2.7 out of 5, based on over 1,171 reviews left anonymously by employees. 31% of employees would recommend working at Regis Corporation to a friend and 20% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Regis Corporation employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Regis Corporation. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

31% of Regis Corporation employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Regis Corporation 2.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Regis Corporation to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Regis Corporation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Regis Corporation? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Regis Corporation Photos

+ Add Photo
Regis Corporation photo of: Welcome Felipe. our new CEO!
Regis Corporation photo of: Bringing GYS & Our Year of the Stylist to life in D225!!
Regis Corporation photo of: Regis Smart Style
Regis Corporation photo of: Regis Smart Style
Regis Corporation photo of: Color class training
Regis Corporation photo of: Color Seminar
Regis Corporation photo of: HR Popcorn Party celebrating birthdays and anniversaries
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Carlton Hair MasterCutsMia and Maxx hair Studio
Regis SalonSmartStyleStyle America
Supercuts, Inc.First choice haircuttersCost Cutters
Signature Style Salon

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Regis Corporation Job Seekers Also Viewed

Great Clips Logo
Great Clips

3.9

3,187 Reviews
Compare