KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Regis Corporation

Engaged Employer

Regis Corporation

Add a Review

Regis Corporation Employee Reviews about "stylist"

Updated Nov 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 84 of over 1,155 reviews

2.9
28%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Regis Corporation CEO (Interim) Matthew Doctor
Matthew Doctor
2 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I got a lot of experience and met many great people and stylists.(in 41 reviews)
  • "Great training and lots of perks if you work hard.(in 20 reviews)
  • "Hours are flexible with stylist schedules.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Great opportunity to show you learn and help your stylist growth and advancement in management(in 16 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedules, incentive contests, walk in clients because salons are in high traffic areas.(in 16 reviews)
Cons
  • "The pay is low.(in 80 reviews)
  • "Poor management and too much heirarchy(in 56 reviews)
  • "Upper management are horrible, and they can care less about replacing broken items in the salon.(in 46 reviews)
  • "They pretty much want you to live in the store and work constantly for little or no benefits.(in 36 reviews)
  • "Your DL will tell you that you can make commission by doing add ons and upselling product.(in 31 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Regis Corporation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "stylist"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    As SDL you spend your days coaching salon leaders to run salons as their own and to lead a successful team.

    Feb 1, 2016 - Senior District Leader in Hometown, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regis has made great strides in developing its leadership and successfully delivering the same message from CEO all the way to stylist. The goals as well as the culture of Regis is clear to every employee. I feel, and in turn try my best to make my team feel, valued in this company.

    Cons

    I do not have a company-level con to speak to, I feel the CEO and COO are actively seeking advise from every corner of the company and I see the change in a positive way all the way to salon level.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    This company is a joke! (Holiday Hair)

    Apr 23, 2016 - Hair Stylist in Williamsport, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can meet and retain great clientele. You don't have any responsibility or accountability. You can call off all the time because the manager doesn't care and none of your coworkers have to replace you.

    Cons

    The hourly pay is based off of the sales the stylist does per hour. So if it's slow, you make no money and it screws up your pay for days you do well. Management is a joke! They allow stylists to call off all the time with no repercussions. Stylists are hired right out of beauty school and allowed to 'practice'on clients who have no idea the stylist does not have a license. Horrible stylists should be let go but are kept to fill the position. Gives the salon a bad rep. Several hundreds were stolen from the cash register on a weekly, sometimes daily basis. No cameras were ever installed. Corporate finally sent some dude to scare the stylists a couple times. Money still being taken. What a joke!!!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee

    troubled

    Jan 3, 2011 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    they are located in high traffic area which makes regis a good place to build a clientelle..get it and get out!!!!!!I

    Cons

    regis theory, as told to me from from upper management is that everyone is replaceable..for the most part employees receive minimum wage plus tips..all salons and locations are different. for example, our salon does not get free lunch!!although offered health benefits are expensive. managers do not get paid higher commissions than stylist and are only paid 2% of sales. so even if advanced into a management position you better be in a really productive salon..they say they provide tools...not true so plan on bringing your own and if they get broke because someone had to borrow them..you get to replace them. yes we use wella color, however, the amount a manager can order is limited and not enough is allowed to get what you need to do your job well. you pay to go to school to get a professional license but the pay you receive will be equivalent to what a ged employee can earn.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    District Leader

    May 9, 2017 - District Sales Leader in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked here for 20 years . I have worked with great people and moved up from a stylist to a manager and a district manager . We care about stylists and want them to have long happy careers with us.

    Cons

    It takes some time to build a clientele so you need to be patient.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Senior district leader

    Jul 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A new vision! Regis has revamped! Brand new CEO who truly cares about the stylist and what they do to make the company go round. Wonderful leaders who truly care and truly inspire

    Cons

    I can't wait until the pay plans are redone and rolled out so that everyone gets what they work so hard for

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    New Day at Regis!!!!

    Feb 21, 2017 - Hair Stylist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love that our RD and SDL's truly care about us we see and hear from them all the time!!!! Our RD recognizes Bday and anniversary; she also sends thank you emails. The new leadership has inspired me to be the consultant and not just the stylist. I left and came back to Regis because of the leadership changes; people are talking and it's good things that they are saying!!!!

    Cons

    Need to look at pay, to be more competitive with the industry and help stylist be able to build their career with Regis.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Senior District Leader

    Jan 30, 2016 - Senior District Leader in Beaumont, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a stylist you can make your own paycheck and you have to opportunity to move up in the company. I have extremely enjoyed my eight years with the company.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Company that WANTS to do great

    Jun 26, 2015 - Senior District Leader 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to start your career as a hairstylist. Room for growth if you wish to work in the corporate world. Builds a strong foundation of business knowledge. Offers a guaranteed pay, benefits and paid vacation. Lots of people walk through the doors.

    Cons

    I think this is a great place for a stylist starting out since there are so many people who come in. As you grow your business it is very tough to continue to increase your pay through the years as you would in other places.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Stylist centric career company!

    Sep 4, 2016 - Regional Director in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regis truly cares about their teams and they are continually looking for ways to help their stylist have successful careers!

    Cons

    Regis is the largest employer of stylist, so there is always room to grow!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Abusive

    May 30, 2022 - Hair Stylist in Sudbury, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Coworkers and some clients made it bearable

    Cons

    Everything else!!! Their commission goals are impossible to reach. Labour board said it a legal pyramid scheme. Upper management doesn’t know squat when it comes to their service prices or being a stylist. They will aide and harass you til you are forced to quit

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 84 Reviews

Popular Careers with Regis Corporation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Regis Corporation? Share Your Experiences

or

Regis Corporation Photos

+ Add Photo
Regis Corporation photo of: Welcome Felipe. our new CEO!
Regis Corporation photo of: Bringing GYS & Our Year of the Stylist to life in D225!!
Regis Corporation photo of: Regis Smart Style
Regis Corporation photo of: Regis Smart Style
Regis Corporation photo of: Color class training
Regis Corporation photo of: Color Seminar
Regis Corporation photo of: HR Popcorn Party celebrating birthdays and anniversaries
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Carlton Hair MasterCutsMia and Maxx hair Studio
Regis SalonSmartStyleStyle America
Supercuts, Inc.First choice haircuttersCost Cutters
Signature Style Salon
See all affiliated companies