Register Tapes Unlimited Reviews | Glassdoor

Register Tapes Unlimited Reviews

Updated February 14, 2017
116 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Doug Endsley
57 Ratings

116 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Flexibility is nice that you can work from home on the phone or you can work out in the field (in 6 reviews)

  • You learn a tonne about a lot of different businesses/models and get to pick the brains of some really interesting business owners and learn from them (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • Sales reps are trained for a hard sell technique which offends business owners (in 8 reviews)

  • no benefits whatsoever, not a lot of support, all cold calling, punding the pavement (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Daunting work but not hard."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Register Tapes Unlimited full-time

    Pros

    Commission, relaxing schedule, easy environment, and good bosses.

    Cons

    Daunting, mind-numbing work, and saturated.

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Marketing Analyst

    We're happy to see that your experience with RTUI has been positive! If you'd like to give any more feedback on how we can improve, please feel free to email me at anna.ruby@rtui.com.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in West Hartford, CT
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in West Hartford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    1. You can get a lot of flexibility and make your own hours in theory however if you want to make a full time living at this then that flexibility is more of an illusion because you'd have to work 60+ hours a week anyway to possibly reach enough people to sell your ads. Plus if "making your own hours" in your mind means having the flexibility to work part-time evenings and weekends it might not work because you can only work when business owners are at their businesses.

    2. I got to meet a lot of great small business owners and learn about their business but I could have done that on my own too, even just as a consumer.

    Cons

    1. Ads are too expensive making it too hard to sell in some markets
    2. Limited support for sales reps
    3. Sales reps are trained for a hard sell technique which offends business owners

    Advice to Management

    1. Lower the prices of the ads. They are just way too high making them nearly impossible to sell to the small businesses we approach. Instead of pricing so high and only getting one advertiser on a tape, drop the price and sell out the ad at a lower margin. You'd still come out ahead.

    2. Reorganize the sales teams to add support. Don't have sales managers that are actively selling because their incentive is to sell in their own territory rather than support you.

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for leaving your feedback about RTUI. We apologize that the position has not worked out for you, and will be taking your concerns into consideration.


  3. "Freelance"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Columbus, OH

    I worked at Register Tapes Unlimited part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The ability to work your own hours, create your own business and work as much as you want

    Cons

    no benefits whatsoever, not a lot of support, all cold calling, punding the pavement

    Advice to Management

    rather than independent contractors please hire employees and provide some support to them

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Marketing Analyst

    I apologize that your experience with RTUI left you feeling unsupported. We understand that this is an area that needs improvement, and is something we are actively working on for 2017.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Register Tapes Unlimited full-time

    Pros

    Good Niche product for niche customers....best for entry level college graduates

    Cons

    Niche product for limited customer base....Not much training...most prospects not interested in product
    Short lease with company...tremendous turnover with sales
    One call close and most don't buy...

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Jan 2, 2017 – Recruiter

    We are sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We value any specific feedback you may have regarding your time with the company as we are dedicated to improving the chances of ... More


  6. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company with amazing growth opportunities

    Cons

    I really don't have any.

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Marketing Analyst

    We appreciate your review and are always open to further feedback. Please feel free to reach out to me at anna.ruby@rtui.com if you would like to discuss this further.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lover it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Memphis, TN
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Register Tapes Unlimited full-time

    Pros

    Rtui is great place to work. Big commission and freedom of no bosses in true sence. It is Your business and you will feel it. Work hard and you will get paid...

    Cons

    Long hours and you must be used to getting lots of no from your customers. But that is something you must expect from advertising salea. Good luck and have fun...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Making opportunity and keeping the commission high is great way to keep good people. Make sure to keep middle managers in line and you will have much more productive sales force.

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Marketing Analyst

    Thank you for your raving review of RTUI! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be taken into consideration as we continue to improve many aspects of our company.


  8. "The way I see it."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Register Tapes Unlimited full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    In my department I will say that this is the best job I have ever had. Flexible schedule and a great department head. We are allowed to do the job we were hired to do. If we don't, as with any job, life can get hard. The owners care very much for their employees. I have seen this first hand as well as with others that needed help personally or financially. I will stay as long as I am allowed.

    Cons

    Because this is a family owned operation, it can have a few clicks. Some folks probably should not have the job they do or be in positions that they are. However, that's how all business run I guess.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing they have not heard before.

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Marketing Analyst

    Your review and honest feedback are greatly appreciated. Please feel free to reach out to me at anna.ruby@rtui.com to discuss any of your feedback further.


  9. "Corporate Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Register Tapes Unlimited full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for. Big company but small company feel. Company goes above and beyond to help its employees and community needs. Relaxed and comfortable working environment.

    Cons

    I have no cons or complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Only suggestion would be increased pay similar to like positions.

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Marketing Analyst

    It is great to hear that our employees feel appreciated and supported. To give further feedback please feel free to reach out to me at anna.ruby@rtui.com.


  10. "AWESOME COMPANY!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Accounting Clerk in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    friendly work environment - great owners!

    Cons

    pay could be better, along with annual raises.

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Marketing Analyst

    Your response is greatly appreciated! If you would like to continue to give feedback please feel free to reach out to me at anna.ruby@rtui.com.


  11. "Casual environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Family and casual environment, fun department, and great department manager

    Cons

    Limited growth potential, slow processes, in need of a sales tracking system

    Advice to Management

    More training for sales managers on growing their teams effectively

    Register Tapes Unlimited Response

    Oct 11, 2016 – Marketing Analyst

    Your advice is greatly appreciated and will be taken into consideration as we move forward building a better CRM system for corporate and sales staff. To give any further feedback please reach out to ... More



Showing 116 of 132 reviews
Reset Filters