KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Relativity

Engaged Employer

Relativity

Add a Review

Relativity Software Engineer Advanced Reviews

Updated Jan 28, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 373 reviews

4.4
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Relativity CEO Mike Gamson
Mike Gamson
9 Ratings

What people are saying about Relativity

Join the conversation on

Big Law

1m

an 

Associate

Q about billing for the bowl: do y’all bill for back and forths with the relativity folks, for example, or for back and forths with outside legal services folks? Currently lead associate handling logistics on transcription services and it’s like herding cats. Technically what I’m doing isn’t “law related” but the services provided are helping our case. Same question but for overseeing our paralegal. Do you bill for managing them and making sure they stay on top of their work?

50

20 Comments

Join the conversation on

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Relativity and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunities for advancement as a developer

    Jan 28, 2022 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * fair salary * great WFH capability * opportunity for growth and recognition for advancement

    Cons

    * teams can be shuffled * priorities can be shuffled * inter-team knowledge is lacking

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to begin your career

    Nov 28, 2021 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My personal experience is that they provide a great learning environment. You were encouraged to learn and you're provided with great Senior and Lead Engineers who are willing to time with you to discuss and bounce ideas. I usually learned a lot through the "unofficial" discussions. The people here are also bright and friendly.

    Cons

    They are trying to be competitive with their pay, but the truth is that they pay the average amount in Chicago. Promotions and compensation are also a bit vague.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Best place to work

    Nov 1, 2021 - advanced performance engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive salary with a good work place. Easy to commute from suburbs.

    Cons

    Needs a clear direction in where the team projects are headed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good People, Terrible Management

    Jun 8, 2021 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The other engineers at the company are some of the best that I've worked with. Engaging, very smart, and fun to work with

    Cons

    Upper leadership doesn't have an issue with abusive management. A coworker and I were working on a project that was delayed (despite continually asking our manager for assistance), and our manager decided that the appropriate course of action was to pull us into a side room and shout at us for 15 minutes. I reported this to HR, nothing happened, and he was promoted to Director within 6 months. Management doesn't care about you as an individual, and they don't care how you're treated - they just care that Features Get Delivered. Stay far away.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    May 18, 2021 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work with challenging problems to work on!

    Cons

    No cons, great place to work!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Probably the best place I've worked

    Mar 5, 2021 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There were more pros before the pandemic. I loved all the CRGs, interest groups, facilities, freedom of WFH and new DTO policies. It'll probably return to something similar after we start going back to the office again.

    Cons

    Everything feels like my team's fault, sometimes. Sometimes feels like we're given impossible amounts of work

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    H1B employees beware. No inclusive behavior in the company

    Apr 17, 2020 - Software Engineer Advanced in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You would be meeting some technically sound individuals and there would be so much learning. - The founder of the company (Andrew) is really inspiring and you would find him here and there in the office.

    Cons

    - If you are on H1B, take caution as you would be on a higher risk in joining companies like Relativity as they are a traditional company with predominantly white individuals. - They strive for inclusive behavior company wide, but you will see some hiccups here and there if you are from a different nationality especially. - Manager has complete control over you. There is no proper process in even taking leaves and they have stopped tracking leaves in workday for some weird reason. - Earlier they use to encash any unused leaves at the year end. But they have stopped that to gain more financial capability. - Bottom line is the managers were given more power after the new CEO came in and there were no company wide policies implemented properly. If you have a bad manager, you would be mostly done with the company. A true international company doesn't work this way.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people and culture, but stressful on call. However, depends what team you're on.

    Dec 1, 2020 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    COVID response, WFH options, Benefits

    Cons

    On call, mediocre developer experience

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    OPT/H1b students stay away from Relativity

    Apr 7, 2020 - Software Engineer Advanced in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. No strong competitor in the market

    Cons

    1. One of the worst culture. People are very rude and prefer to hide information 2. Be ready to lick your manager's shoes or get kicked out for questioning any of manager's decision 3. They make people disappear. I have seen at least 15 people in my circle disappear without any reasoning. 4. They make you pass certification exam that has 0 value in market. Who does that ? If you fail, you loose the job. I have seen two team members (SM, Devops) loose the job due to this stupid certification. 5. I have worked at many big companies, this company is very dangerous for OPT/H1b students. They will kick you out for a minor reason. 6. Product runs on 100 year old technology. Amazon or Microsoft is going to kill field on e-discovery soon. Relativity won't survive 5 mins.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Relativity Response

    Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for voicing your feedback about your experience at Relativity. The RCA certification exam is a required prerequisite for many roles and is meant to challenge our employees to capture a deep understanding of the platform. Relativity has a high pass rate for the exam, and we continue to evolve and strengthen our resources to better support new hires and to increase the pass rate. We highly encourage that those who are RCA certified share with us the resources they feel would be most helpful when studying for the exam to improve the experience. At Relativity we seek talented individuals that add a diverse set of skills and experiences to our organization. We welcome and actively hire foreign nationals (FNs) across the organization if they are the best fit for the role. We do hire several employees each year that require H1-B visa sponsorship, and we work closely with H1-B applicants to help them navigate the process and ensure their background and experience align with the position before hiring. Once hired, we ensure that the employees receive adequate training and support in their position in order to successfully grow with the company, just as we do for all Relativity employees. Similar to the challenges that many other organizations face, unfortunately, we are unable to hire OPT candidates due to external legal constraints. We are aware that the visa application process in the U.S. is quite complicated and often confusing, especially as we are all navigating governmental changes amid this global pandemic. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. – Beth Clutterbuck, CHRO

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good culture, lagging tech

    Nov 18, 2020 - Advanced Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great to work with and there is a great, inclusive culture.

    Cons

    I didn't get the chance to work with modern technologies and the developer workflow is cumbersome.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

Popular Careers with Relativity Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Relativity? Share Your Experiences

or